I Want My Corrupt Bastard Fix!

12 05 2008

Remember when we had Comet Hyakutake that one winter? Then the next winter we had Comet Hale-Bopp? We loved our comets up here in dark sky country. We got used to them. They became a fixture in our winter sky. Then came the winter of 1997….no comet. I was miffed. I had gotten used to this celestial event, and even after only two consecutive comets, I began to expect it.

That’s how I feel about the Corrupt Bastards Club. They were dropping like clockwork for a while. Bill Allen, Rick Smith, Tom Anderson, Pete Kott, Vic Kohring. We got used to it. It was our indictment-du-jour! Sure we all would have preferred an honest government to start with, but gosh…watching this house of cards tumble has been downright entertaining. And then, a twist – Jim Clark! Hmm….a little surprising. We weren’t quite expecting that one. It’s no Comet Hale-Bopp, but we’ll take what we can get.

So when is the next indictment coming…and who will it be? Who will the FBI ‘vote off’ the political island and into the pokey? The Nenana Ice Classic is over, so who’s ready to bet? We need a Corrupt Bastards Classic. My money’s on Ben Stevens. I’m probably being conservative (how ironic!) and voting on the favorite, but maybe I’ll be surprised.

And, yes, I feel sorry for their families. I don’t have a heart of stone. But there’s something about watching karma play itself out, especially in this dark era of political corruption, that just feels good. Things are unfolding as they should. All is well with the universe. It’s like a salve for my aching progressive brain.

So come on FBI…don’t make me beg! It’s a long time til Hale-Bopp comes back.


Actions

Information

One response

12 05 2008
Politics in America » I Want My Corrupt Bastard Fix!

[…] Pakistan Views wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt Remember when we had Comet Hyakutake that one winter?  Then the next winter we had Comet Hale-Bopp?  We loved our comets up here in dark sky country.  We got used to them.  They became a fixture in our winter sky.  Then came the winter of 1997….no comet.  I was miffed.  I had gotten used to this celestial event, and even after only two consecutive comets, I began to expect it. That’s how I feel about the Corrupt Bastards Club.  They were dropping like clockwork for a while.  Bill Allen, R […]