Bedtime in Alaska – Night Kitchen is Open!

26 11 2008
Boy, I’m sure glad the election is over in Alaska, aren’t you??  Except for one thing.  It’s not over!!!  After the final ballots were counted in the Fairbanks House race between incumbent Republican Mike Kelly, and Democratic challenger Karl Kassell, our brave challenger trailed by – ONE VOTE!  I’m definitely glad I’m not a Fairbanks voter who sat this one out!  I’d never sleep again.
 
If a Democrat takes this seat, it would bring the number of House Democrats to 19.  There would be 21 Republicans which would mean the margin would be close enough for a likely majority coalition.  We’ve been slowly adding Democrats to the Legislature and this session we will have a 10-10 split in the Senate, and hopefully a 19D-21R margin in the House.   Baby steps!
 
Needless to say, a recount will be underway shortly in this unbelievable nail-biter, and funds are needed!  The recount will be done by volunteers but there are always related expenses to cover.  If you’d like to help a Democrat you’ve likely never met, but who is only one vote away from making a real difference in the State House, you can donate to the House Democratic Campaign Committee.  And when you click the link, you can see all their smiling faces.  Those are some of the folks you’re emailing for the Alaskans for Truth call to action!
 
******************************************
 
Also, if it’s true, in an incredibly elegant, and metaphorically spot-on piece of karma, Ann Coulter had an accident which has resulted in her jaw being wired shut for a period of time, which will undoubtedly seem all too short.  Details may be available by morning.
 
******************************************
 
And, in a piece of exciting news for me, Mudflats will be taking a day off on Thanksgiving!  I will be heading out of town, and far far away from internet service, cell phones, and electronic media of all kinds.  Spouse even said, “You’re not taking the laptop, ARE YOU?” (sheepish look from me)   What this means for me is a blissful unwinding, and decompression from what I can only describe as a political rollercoaster ride that’s lasted for almost two full months.  What this will mean for you is that I won’t be posting from Wednesday evening through Friday morning.  I may have a robo-thread (a thread set to post automatically while I’m gone) if I can swing it.  But remember there are always plenty of lively places to talk over on the Mudflats Forum and I’ll be sure to leave you an open Night Kitchen thread before I go.
 
And tonight’s Night Kitchen is open!
 
Good night all!

Actions

Information




