Bedtime in Alaska – Night Kitchen!

26 11 2008

Mudflats is on hiatus until Friday.  In the meantime,  as a little Thanksgiving gift, I give you Andy Borowitz of the Borowitz Report with a little bit of timely political satire… 

ALASKA GOVERNOR MARKS THANKSGIVING

In order to celebrate Thanksgiving, Alaska Governor Sarah Palin issued what she called “my list of thankfulnesses”

“The first thankfulness being that I’m thankful for this turkey, and also too for the metal funnel thingy that cut the turkey’s head clean off while it was flapping its wings trying to get out and all.  That was fun.

The next thankfulness being that I’m thankful that Levi is going to marry our Bristol, and I’m hoping also that we’ll know soon what his location is.

Another thankfulness too being that I’m thankful for Sen. Ted Stevens, because compared to what he did and all it doesn’t seem like a big deal if you tried to get some dumb old trooper fired.

My next thankfulness being I have thankfulness for our President-elect Barack Obama, and proudness, too, even though he probably is spending Thanksgiving palling around with Bill Ayres and Osama bin Laden and the Unabomber also.

A darned important thankfulness being I’m sure thankful that when the lawyers from the RNC came to take back all of that clothing they didn’t check under Piper’s bed.  Good job, Piper!

And my last thankfulness, which I saved for last because it is the most important thankfulness, would be the turkey again also.  I’m thankful that God created turkeys with so many tiny little bones in them and also too I hope Katie Couric chokes on one.”

Join the Thanksgiving Night Kitchen already in progress!

Ted Stevens…To Pardon or Not to Pardon.

26 11 2008

The Bush administration is coming to an end, and at the end of the road for any administration is….the pardons. This particular presidential tradition is one that I find particularly abhorrent, and overused. It’s like a signing statement, only for people. The law applies, except if I decide it doesn’t.

The pardons at the end of the Clinton administration had me fuming for weeks. I’m sure I’ll feel the same or worse after the Bush pardons. But that’s just me.

The Anchorage Daily News today speculated about the pardon that’s on all Alaskans’ minds as January 20th draws near – Senator Ted Stevens. There are rumored to be three sets of pardons, one happening this week.

During his farewell speech on the Senate floor last week, Stevens made it clear he intends to continue his appeal, saying he can “still see the day when I can remove the cloud that currently surrounds me.” And just last week his lawyers continued their attack on the conduct of prosecutors in the case, by asking for a hearing, now scheduled for Monday, to examine a claim by one of the witnesses against Stevens that he was lying on the stand about an immunity deal.

Stevens also told a pack of news media “no, no, no” when asked the day he lost the election whether he would seek a pardon, but his spokesman, Aaron Saunders, said he wasn’t saying “no” to the idea. The senator was simply declining to answer the question, Saunders said.

Hmmm….  Sounds like a little post-“no no no” clean up work from the spokesman.   Alaskan spokespeople are getting really good at starting sentences with, “What s/he  meant to say was….”

Later that day, when asked by the Daily News to clarify his remarks, Stevens didn’t rule out seeking a pardon: “That’s something that’s beyond me,” he said, waving his hands as though to push the question aside. “That’s beyond me.”

He also said after the conviction that he wouldn’t be “seeking” a pardon, but we’ll note that he didn’t say  that he wouldn’t accept a pardon.  It’s all a big game of words.

The entire article is worth a read, and includes commentary from Wev Shea, the U.S. Attorney for Alaska from 1990-1993.  After you read it, I invite you to take the pardon polls below:





Bedtime in Alaska – Night Kitchen is Open!

26 11 2008
Boy, I’m sure glad the election is over in Alaska, aren’t you??  Except for one thing.  It’s not over!!!  After the final ballots were counted in the Fairbanks House race between incumbent Republican Mike Kelly, and Democratic challenger Karl Kassell, our brave challenger trailed by – ONE VOTE!  I’m definitely glad I’m not a Fairbanks voter who sat this one out!  I’d never sleep again.
 
If a Democrat takes this seat, it would bring the number of House Democrats to 19.  There would be 21 Republicans which would mean the margin would be close enough for a likely majority coalition.  We’ve been slowly adding Democrats to the Legislature and this session we will have a 10-10 split in the Senate, and hopefully a 19D-21R margin in the House.   Baby steps!
 
Needless to say, a recount will be underway shortly in this unbelievable nail-biter, and funds are needed!  The recount will be done by volunteers but there are always related expenses to cover.  If you’d like to help a Democrat you’ve likely never met, but who is only one vote away from making a real difference in the State House, you can donate to the House Democratic Campaign Committee.  And when you click the link, you can see all their smiling faces.  Those are some of the folks you’re emailing for the Alaskans for Truth call to action!
 
******************************************
 
Also, if it’s true, in an incredibly elegant, and metaphorically spot-on piece of karma, Ann Coulter had an accident which has resulted in her jaw being wired shut for a period of time, which will undoubtedly seem all too short.  Details may be available by morning.
 
******************************************
 
And, in a piece of exciting news for me, Mudflats will be taking a day off on Thanksgiving!  I will be heading out of town, and far far away from internet service, cell phones, and electronic media of all kinds.  Spouse even said, “You’re not taking the laptop, ARE YOU?” (sheepish look from me)   What this means for me is a blissful unwinding, and decompression from what I can only describe as a political rollercoaster ride that’s lasted for almost two full months.  What this will mean for you is that I won’t be posting from Wednesday evening through Friday morning.  I may have a robo-thread (a thread set to post automatically while I’m gone) if I can swing it.  But remember there are always plenty of lively places to talk over on the Mudflats Forum and I’ll be sure to leave you an open Night Kitchen thread before I go.
 
And tonight’s Night Kitchen is open!
 
Good night all!