Ted Stevens Prosecution Witness Says He Lied. And Wait…There’s More!

21 11 2008

chart2

Three days after Mark Begich was declared the winner in Alaska’s Senate race of the century, and the day after Ted Stevens yielded the floor of the Senate for the last time, a chief witness for the prosecution in his recent trial came forward with some more than interesting statements.

David Anderson, a witness who testified against Ted Stevens has said in a letter to the Judge Emmett Sullivan that his claims on the stand that he never had an immunity deal with the prosecution were false.  Not only that, Anderson said that the prosecutors coached him and “instructed me on how to sugar coat (the immunity deal) and get it swept under the rug during the trial.”  He also claims that all members of his family and friends, including former State Senator Jerry Ward  would be immune from federal investigation as a result of his agreement.

Ward appears to have been the beneficiary of an illegal campaign contribution by private prison advocate Bill Weimar, who was sentenced to six months in prison this week on a guilty plea to making the payment. Ward has not been charged. The recipient of Weimar’s illegal $20,000 payment was identified in charging documents only as “Candidate A,” but the description matched Ward.

Today, defense attorneys filed the letter from Anderson, a welder who worked on the extensive renovations on the Stevens home that totalled almost $250,000, and which Stevens did not disclose on his Senate Disclosure Forms, leading to seven felony convictions, and his defeat in the general election.

There are only so many times you can say, “You can’t make this stuff up” in one post, so I’m going to save it for the end.  Because there’s more to come.  Really.

In addition to the above, Anderson goes on to talk about being coached, and “groomed” for the trial, and being reminded of the events that happened.  He was shown pictures of the home, paper records, and other materials that he states he had forgotten in the years since the work was done.

In the letter, he states:

Without the preparation from the prosecution and the reminders from them about my activities and the agreement I had with them about my family and myself I would not have given the same testimony.  Without a shadow of doubt I believe this trial would have gone much differently.

Wow.  A belated birthday present for Ted Stevens?  But wait, there’s more.

Possibly the most bizarre allegation in Anderson’s letter is the claim that Bill Allen, (chairman of the oil services company Veco, who was responsible for the home renovations that Stevens was found guilty of not declaring) and his son Mark Allen had taken out a contract on Anderson to have him murdered.  Anderson is Bill Allen’s nephew.  Think I’m ready to say “You can’t make this stuff up?” yet?  Nope.

Stevens’ attorneys demanded a hearing be held to look into the matter. In a court filing Friday, they said the Anderson letter, dated Nov. 15, was new evidence of government misconduct in the case. They’ve already said they planned to seek a new trial or to overturn Stevens’ conviction on Oct. 27 of lying on Senate disclosure forms.

Government prosecutors responded Friday that Anderson’s letter, “simply put,” is untrue. They said that defense lawyers had ample opportunity to question Anderson about the March affidavit when he was on the witness stand, but chose not to.

In the affidavit, the main subject of Anderson’s Nov. 15 letter, Anderson said he agreed to cooperate with the government on condition that prosecutor grant immunity to Ward and his wife Margaret, Ward’s three daughters and their husbands, Anderson’s mother and son, and several others who couldn’t be identified. Anderson lives with one of Ward’s daughters, Kirsten Deacon. She was once Bill Allen’s girlfriend and that fact is the cause of much of the friction between uncle and nephew, Anderson has said.

OK.  Now I’m ready.  You can’t make this stuff up.


Actions

Information

138 responses

21 11 2008
Chief

Where I come from this would be called “incest.”

21 11 2008
MonaLisa (in CT)

Wow… just… wow.

Somebody get Hollywood on the line! We got a Dynasty meets Northern Exposure, meets The Sopranos goin’ on over here!

21 11 2008
concernedcanadian

I am damn well confused! lol It’s all too much for this brain to consume. I think I’m going to have to read this several times and ask who some of the characters are, and their role. I wish now that I would have followed the trial a little bit closer.

21 11 2008
Bev

concernedcanadian …….

I am with you, confused as well….I need just the bare bones on this one, like….What does this mean to the verdict?????

21 11 2008
Aeroentropy

You cant make this stuff up — When are we going to see that on the bottom of the AK license Plate?!?

I couldn’t resist and I made a license plate frame that says just that. It’s available in the Mudflats Shop! 🙂 AKM

21 11 2008
nebraskanative

Seriously, there is something in the water up there in the upper 49th. Boil or buy your water AK people. I’m just sayin’

21 11 2008
girldujour

This makes my head spin as well. Anderson testified against Stevens and he testifies that he was never offered an immunity deal. First, before I go on, why does he need immunity?

21 11 2008
Bec -Yes We Did - in Illinois

Huh? I think I need this all diagrammed so I can figure it out. How about a chart, AKM!

Sounds like Anderson is in need of a visit from the guys with the little white jacket.

21 11 2008
Political Amazon

[[[Possibly the most bizarre allegation in Anderson’s letter is the claim that Bill Allen, (chairman of the oil services company Veco, who was responsible for the home renovations that Stevens was found guilty of not declaring) and his son Mark Allen had taken out a contract on Anderson to have him murdered. Anderson is Bill Allen’s nephew. Think I’m ready to say “You can’t make this stuff up?” yet? Nope…]]]

Wow. When you consider Sarah Palin’s unhinged vendetta against her brother-in-law due to a nasty divorce with Palin’s sister, which resulted in her getting investigated for an ethics investigation for abuse of her power as governor…

It now actually makes it reasonably plausible that prosecution witness Anderson’s claim that Anderson’s UNCLE, Bill Allen, and Allen’s son, Mark Allen (who would be Anderson’s cousin?–all of a sudden I’m singing a new verse of the old C&W standard, “And I’m My Own Grandpa”), that the 2 Allens hiring a hit man to take out Anderson.

And OF COURSE, it becomes even more reasonable to believe this because–true to the soap-opera-esque nature of Alaskan politics and rancid romantic break-ups–Anderson is now living with a woman who used to be his uncle (Bill Allen)’s girlfriend.

I hate to say it, by Alaska’s standards, maybe Sarah Palin isn’t too weird? Even in California, which is well-known for it’s residents’ odd behavior, this would be unusual behavior.

I think much of Alaska’s soap-opera politics would be alleviated if those involved simply got out more, and made acquaintances of people outside of their immediate family and their family’s beloveds. When one realizes that there is a whole world of possible romantic liasons beyond the scope of one’s immediate-family’s circle, the break-ups just don’t tend to be so extreme and result in such bizarre and obsessed vendettas.

21 11 2008
Political Amazon

I’m My Own Grandpa

Lyrics: Dwight Latham, Moe Jaffe
Music: Dwight Latham, Moe Jaffe

Oh, many, many years ago
When I was twenty-three
I was married to a widow
Who was pretty as can be
This widow had a grown-up daughter
Who had hair of red
My father fell in love with her
And soon the two were wed

This made my dad my son-in-law
And changed my very life
For my daughter was my mother
‘Cause she was my father’s wife
To complicate the matter
Though it really brought me joy
I soon became the father
Of a bouncing baby boy

This little baby then became
A brother-in-law to Dad
And so became my uncle
Though it made me very sad
For if he was my uncle
Then that also made him brother
Of the widow’s grown-up daughter
WHo of course is my step-mother

Chorus
I’m my own grandpa
I’m my own grandpa
It sounds funny I know
But it really is so
Oh, I’m my own grandpa

My father’s wife then had a son
Who kept them on the run
And he became my grandchild
For he was my daughter’s son
My wife is now my mother’s mother
And it makes me blue
Because although she is my wife
She’s my grandmother too

Now if my wife is my grandmother
Then I’m her grandchild
And every time I think of it
It nearly drives me wild
For now I have become
The strangest case you ever saw
As husband of my grandma
I am my own grandpa

[chorus]

21 11 2008
telesilla

We need to start casting the inevitable mini-series.

21 11 2008
Goalie in NM

Oh Lordy,

I don’t know where to start here…?? Uh, help…Uh, what?

No, no one could make this sh………..stuff up. Gag me. Really just…
gag me.

21 11 2008
5 Little Peppers

Oh my! It does sound like a mess…the song seems to fit!

21 11 2008
Terry T.

WTF!!!!!!!!!!!!

21 11 2008
kimosabe

Great Ceasars Ghost! How do you spell “M-I-S-T-R-I-A-L” ??

21 11 2008
wired differently

Have to concur with Political Amazon, if the gene pool were maybe just a wee bit deeper up there, much good could come from it.

And did I misread, or is Kirsten Deacon, the one living with Anderson, one of Ward’s married daughters? So she’s married to Mr. Deacon, but living with Mr. Anderson? Not passing judgment, mind you, just trying to figure out where to draw the arrows on my flow chart.

21 11 2008
Eyes Wide Open In Pgh, PA

Hmmmm. Animal killing Governor, Uncles with contracts on nephews,
…Maybe we in the lower 48 should start our own branches of the Alaska Independance Party?

21 11 2008
kimosabe

The judge had already torn these prosecutors a new one for withholding evidence. After this, he is going to throw them in jail for contempt. Crikey.

21 11 2008
Michigander

What the hey is goin’ on? I can not keep up with this but think I better try for the sake of our world o:

21 11 2008
nswfm CA

This is too crazy, even for Hollywood!

The Lower 48 seems to be rank amatures compared to this. We seem to waste our time on pro sports, etc. Alaska politics and corruption could be the new American Past time–forget baseball.

21 11 2008
grumpy in Illinois

I really dont get all of this. So Anderson worked on Stevens home. He was paid. As a supplier presumably being “hired” why does he need immunity??? Also why the change of heart and refute the testimony? Did he take the money knowing this was an illegal project. Need some help here!! Something really smells here.

21 11 2008
mhrt oregon

man this could turn into DAYS OF OUR LIVES…..it would be love around the world

21 11 2008
Lee

Oh, dear. The games that grown men play.
When will they ever learn.

I nominate the state of Alaska for the “You Can’t Make This Stuff Up State”.

21 11 2008
peter d

If this statement stands up. Ted may not need an appeal. Judge Emmett Sullivan may overturns the jury verdict.

David Anderson, a witness who testified against Ted Stevens has said in a letter to the Judge Emmett Sullivan that his claims on the stand that he never had an immunity deal with the prosecution were false. Not only that, Anderson said that the prosecutors coached him and ”instructed me on how to sugar coat (the immunity deal) and get it swept under the rug during the trial.

21 11 2008
womanwithsardinecan

I’m just plain confused. It’s not your fault, AKM. Just too much weird information all akimbo. Is there an English translation or a flow chart?

21 11 2008
Debbie aka Commando Coalfire Mudpuppy

wired differently (18:07:35) :

Have to concur with Political Amazon, if the gene pool were maybe just a wee bit deeper up there, much good could come from it
——————–
Seems they are so proud of their gene pool they don’t like to share it doesn’t it? I have been in aw of how these politicians from Alaska think they are entitled to take bribes, rip off the people of the state with things like trips to New York, and per diem for stying at home, then not only claim they have done nothing wrong but actually believe it to the marrow of their evil little finger bones. I do understand that in a state where the government is something to be hated and avoided at all costs there may not be many citizen watchdogs, but perhaps Alaskans, you could hire some or something, it would be much cheaper in the long run for you.

21 11 2008
CO Almost Native

Ok, I feel like I have taken one too many rides on a roller coaster…

nswfm CA (18:12:37) :
This is too crazy, even for Hollywood!

The Lower 48 seems to be rank amatures compared to this. We seem to waste our time on pro sports, etc. Alaska politics and corruption could be the new American Past time–forget baseball.

LOL!

Political Amazon (17:49:49) :
I can’t even touch your cleverness:)

I, too, need a diagram- possible conclusions might be:

(a) everything is true in the letter, the judge bootkicks the prosecuting attorneys to Siberia, where Palin keeps an eye on them from her window; Anderson receives a “thank you” from Uncle Ted under the table- and Stevens demands a do-over election.

(b) Everything in the letter is false, except the contract on Anderson, who enters the federal witness protection program, and hides in CA as a plumber, now named Joe.

(c) The judge goes ballistic, throws everyone (all attorneys, jurors, witnesses, relatives, friends, and innocent bystanders) in jail, and wipes his hands of the whole affair.

You’re right, AKM- you can’t make this stuff up.

21 11 2008
mhrt oregon

i had to go back and read that thing twice…..parts of about 4 times who is related and they want to kill Who……gosh the twist and turns

21 11 2008
concernedcanadian

This is freakin’ weirdo shit to the ultimate degree! If you read David Anderson’s letter, he has signed it at the bottom. It says…now get this!!!

“David Allen Anderson” !!!! His second name is ‘ALLEN”

My biggest question is why is David Anderson coming out with this now? It sounds like the prosecution has screwed him! This is what he said in his letter to the judge…

“There was a contract to have me murdered by Bill and Mark Allen. The govt. has given both of them immunity for crimes they have committed and they refuse to honor their agreement with me. I am scared for my life for that, but now that I have written this letter to you I am certain that I will never receive protection for me and my loved ones. They have left me hanging out there. ”

So, why did the prosecution set him up by coaching him what to say, and then alienate him and his family? hmmmm…..

21 11 2008
LetterMan

This is way too weird, even by Alaskan standards.

I keep waiting for “Law & Order” to do an episode about this whole circus, but after this thing today, I suspect they won’t touch this thing with a 10-foot pole simply because it’s so weird and convoluted, there’s no way a viewer would be able to make sense of it all.

21 11 2008
the problem child (a jerk, also)

The Stevens defence team is now speakin’ Palinese, hoping it will help, also.

21 11 2008
AZ Mom

i need a chart! can we get a chart? i can’t follow that crazy last paragraph.

21 11 2008
CO Almost Native

If you read AKM’s entertaining account and the one in adn, Anderson says he had a “gentleman’s agreement” with the feds for immunity for the 12 listed plus unknown others (the rest of the Alaskan population?) if he cooperated in the Fed’s investigation.

So, AKM-
Is the cooperation about this/Stevens’ case, or some other corruption?
And how stupid is Anderson not to get immunity in writing, if the feds ever offered it.

This testimony was worth immunity for 12?! Am I missing something?

21 11 2008
shaddomagg

I’m sorry, I’m lost. Could someone please do a flow chart?

21 11 2008
Whabs, Seattle, WA.

And she was faced with a choice.
Eat me.
or
Drink me.
Either way, it’s going to be a trip through the looking glass.

21 11 2008
mama4obama

originally being from NJ, where politics are weird and corrupt and all (The Sopranos being like a documentary, I swear, and the governors, well, some have been interesting), still, Alaska takes the cake!! No wonder SP acts the way she does, it is NORMAL in the 49th state, who are we lower 48-ers to judge?!

ps what is the ration of men-folk to women-folk in Alaska? I had always heard it was 5 – 1…

21 11 2008
Whabs, Seattle, WA.

I was always told by Alaskans you never lose your girlfriend, you just lose your turn.

21 11 2008
concernedcanadian

@CO almost Native,

I’m getting the feeling that Anderson is fearing for his life with this letter.

21 11 2008
Rob in Ca

Here in lower 48, we keep hearing that we just don’t ‘get it’ about Alaska and Alaska politics.

We have even been warned that everybody knows everybody, and is also pretty much related to everybody.

We heard, and we pretended we got it. Guess what, we really didn’t get it then

We get it now.

21 11 2008
CO Almost Native

concernedcanadian (19:04:13) :
@CO almost Native,

I’m getting the feeling that Anderson is fearing for his life with this letter.

I agree- the question is: is the fear valid, or is he living in the Twilight Zone?

21 11 2008
antiAnti

The judge handled the race-going juror fairly well, so I’m hoping for a similar resolution to this Anderson problem. The judge probably has a diagram.

21 11 2008
Scrimshaw aka Sack Panther Hussein

But thankfully, no matter how it may have factored in,
it really has no bearing on the results of the election.

21 11 2008
CO Almost Native

Good night, mud pups-

My head is spinning, and I must go lie down on the couch with a cold compress on my forehead and watch college hockey. With nachos. And extra jalapenos.

I’m sure I’ll be better in the morning:)

21 11 2008
Sue

Maybe it’s something in the drinking water up there.

21 11 2008
Dragon Lady

Am I the only one who thinks this smacks more of a witness who was paid to change his testimony?

I would – check his cell phone to see if he did make a phone call from the Federal Building, for what length of time, to whom. Interview that person for detailed description of that call. How much of this testimony did he “read over the phone”?

Check his bank accounts and phone calls he has placed and received on land lines, cell phones, work, etc. Ditto those of significant others.

In the movie version: He’s being paid to change his story to save Uncle Ted.

21 11 2008
pj

Hello friends,
I’m with Rob in CA…
I thought I kew what was true until I found out that true isn’t true…so now I have no idea what to claim as a true thought!!
Is the clutter due to my age or to Uncle Ted?
If you watched C-SPAN today you’d cry with the rest of them…
Alaska, you make my mind feel like the northern lights are wrapping my free will/concsience is being coveed in a blanket I have no desire to kick off!

21 11 2008
WakeUpAmerica

haha haha haha haha Thanks for the comic relief. I can go to bed now.

21 11 2008
bPoint

“It was so cold today, I was shaking like Sarah Palin taking a geography test.”
—David Letterman

21 11 2008
El from Saskatchewan

This really is weird. I believe the stories that seem to come daily are because they ARE about Alaska. Everything about Alaska politics goes national now. I believe the majority of Alaskans are intelligent, hard working people. I can imagine the embarrassment and the sadness of the citizens as they see their state ridiculed. Governor Palin has put the spotlight on your state.

I don’t believe that these issues are Alaska’s alone. Every government entity both in US and Canada has matters they sweep under the rug without discovery or if discovered,they spin and hope they will fade away.

I believe that all of this attention serves a purpose. It has taught us we should be aware of our governments. When we see injustice, we should stand up and be counted. We should make our views known. More people than ever have learned that their voice can make a difference. We must keep the people we have elected accountable.

“Most of the important things in the world have been accomplished by people who have kept on trying when there seemed to be no hope at all.”
…..Dale Carnegie

21 11 2008
Sue

Will Ted demand a “do over” election?

21 11 2008
MonaLisa (in CT)

Dragon Lady, I think you might be onto something! Maybe. Hard to tell, with out the appropriate flow-charts….

But you DO make sense!

21 11 2008
Sparkleball Lady

So Sarah Palin is normal? I mean, at least for AK?

21 11 2008
Canadian Neighbour

After reading AKM’s post and the other comments, I found the need to go find the smelling salts!! Anybody require a whiff? This whole thing certainly makes the head spin almost Linda Blair style!!!

I have to admit, when I read about this earlier today, the first thing that came to mind was Todd placing a call a la Troopergate style to Anderson!! Between Stevens and contractors and Palins and contractors and Palin and Stevens — what a tangled web they weave!!

21 11 2008
strangelet

Wow. The central legal claim in Anderson’s letter appears to be that he had an unwritten “gentlemen’s agreement” for immunity for a whole bunch of people, which the prosecutors are now refusing to honor; and that he falsely testified that there was no such agreement.

At the first level, it appears that one of two cases must be true: (1) there was such an agreement, therefore Anderson committed perjury and the prosecutors may well have committed misconduct by concealing the agreement; or (2) there was no such agreement, and that’s why the prosecutors aren’t “honoring” it. I presume the judge will first have to try to figure out which of these is the true case. If (2), you’d expect there to be no effect on the trial outcome. If (1), considering that the judge is already peeved at the prosecution, I wouldn’t be surprised to see a mistrial. It is, however, interesting to note that Anderson does not actually disclaim any of the content of his testimony.

At the second level, one has to ask: “why did Anderson now write this letter?” Especially since he appears to be admitting to perjury. Four possibilities occur to me. (1) He has discovered that his immunity deal doesn’t exist, and this matters for some reason. (2) He has discovered that he or one of his dozen closest family and friends needs an immunity deal for some reason, and he is trying to invent one. (3) He is a “sleeper”, who pretended to cooperate with the prosecution in order to provoke a mistrial if needed (possibly too much L&O). (4) He’s nuts.

Either possibility (1) or (2) begs the question: “Who needs immunity, and for what?” Most immunity deals are very tightly structured. You get immunized against prosecution for certain specific things, usually related to the case at hand.

Oy.

21 11 2008
SMR

Rogues in the Anchorage area unite! Anchorage Mudstock (it’s about time!):

http://www.themudflats.net/forum/index.php/topic,4298.0.html

21 11 2008
MWthatone...

El from Saskatchewan: “This really is weird. I believe the stories that seem to come daily are because they ARE about Alaska. Everything about Alaska politics goes national now. I believe the majority of Alaskans are intelligent, hard working people. I can imagine the embarrassment and the sadness of the citizens as they see their state ridiculed. Governor Palin has put the spotlight on your state.”

===
Thank you ….all Alaskans are NOT like Sarah or Ted. There are some pretty wondrous people of character, wisdom and integrity here (come and meet some!) as Alaska has always drawn adventurous spirited folks. I venture to say that there may be weird stuff in the water everywhere …….not sure about that, though.

21 11 2008
turns

This is above my ability to understand. To manny year out at sea……… We put the unstable folks on land for reason like this.

21 11 2008
PackyJ

If this were a Hollywood script, it would be rejected as being too contrived and unbelievable.

21 11 2008
Deuce2 AL "Renegade"

AKM: I have got to have one of those license plates. Although I don’t live in
Alaska, Alabama is very close in letters and position of same. I really don’t
think anyone in this state would notice the difference, that is, especially the ones that can read.

21 11 2008
asiangrrl"Yes we DID"MN

I am another clamoring for a flow chart. I have to admit that my brain locked up when I started reading how all these people were inter-related. Please. My brain, it hurts!

21 11 2008
Canadian Neighbour

FYI: Rachel Maddow is on Conan O’Brien tonight.

21 11 2008
califpat

Maybe it’s just me but I have the strangest feeling that Uncle Ted has some inside scoops on many of Sarah Palin’s “Gates”. You know “birds of a feather and all”.

21 11 2008
North_of_the_Range

I’ve been reading Frank Prewitt’s recent book, Last Bridge to Nowhere. It explains a lot of the intertwined pieces of the VECO-related corruption cases from the point of view of one of the FBI sources. Mainly he talks about the earlier cases that preceded the Stevens trial, but all these things link up. Haven’t finished it yet, but it’s been clarifying a lot of these events for me. Kind of like long chatty flow chart. I needed one, even living here and recognizing the cast of characters, and following these stories as they surfaced one by one.

This latest bizarre incident isn’t covered, of course, but now I can kind of see where a stunt like this fits into the whole strange story, if for nothing else than its now eerily familiar, jaw-dropping, you- can’t- make- this- stuff- up quality. By the way, this is not a plug for the book. I’ve just found it enlightening. Would be curious what others who’ve read it think.

21 11 2008
vena45

Whatever Alaskans are drinking up there be careful or else your state will end up like the movie “28 weeks later”. I know it sounds very scary but it’s true. Something is stirring in the water and it ain’t pretty.

21 11 2008
Martha Unalaska Yard Sign

“Possibly the most bizarre allegation in Anderson’s letter is the claim that Bill Allen, and his son Mark Allen had taken out a contract on Anderson to have him murdered.”

What drama! Sounds like Anderson has been reading Palinese crap about Wooten and thought he’d try it on for size. I never found any credence in Palin’s assertion that Wooten threatened her father – given the facts that she manipulated evidence, time frames and context to fit her needs LONG after the real stories had faded into oblivion. “You either believer me, or you don’t”. Well I don’t believe either of you!

I was in Seward for the first, and subsequent two years of the oil spill, when VECO was in full power and in fact had a local Anchorage paper in “the tank”, the Anchorage Times. There were lots of slimy deals, and icky handshakes going on – but contracts for murder? Not that Alaskans don’t still think sometimes we are still the wild west frontier, but ya know it’s a lot easier to push someone off a fishing or pleasure boat up here than to actually PAY someone (who might talk later) for murder. Sorry – I don’t swallow that one hook, line and sinker. More like Crook, Whine and Stinker.

21 11 2008
Ennealogic

All I can say is, my best advice is to be around people you want to be like.

That means, for me, I will not ever even also too seek out Sarah Palin, Ted Stevens, Mr. Veco, Mr. Anderson, John McCain, or any of their significant others to include, especially!, the Todd Dude and the Cindy Chick.

Let this be a lesson to ya! Don’t fail to make the boundaries clear between your personal/private life, and your public/political life. Don’t forget when you get into office that it is the PEOPLE you serve, not your own grubby greedy self.

Gah. Even after reading it three times, my eyes hurt and my brain feels frozen trying to make sense of it all. I will never again watch a serial drama like Falconcrest or Dallas and laugh because the scenarios are so plainly fictitious. And I thought West Virginia politicians were weird!

21 11 2008
mlaiuppa

Stevens still lost to Begich.

Will Stevens pardon a turkey now?

21 11 2008
kvass

I suppose there is a novel here — there always is. Or a courtroom drama with a shaft of sunlight across the face of the accuse. But hopefully it will send a clear warning to other elected officials to perhaps clean up their acts or tread very carefully in future.

21 11 2008
Marnie

Ok. I’m ready to trade my “Only in Texas” tee shirt for one that says Alaska.
But I’ll keep my Chigger Fest cap.

21 11 2008
Chris Weigant: Friday Talking Points [56] — Turkeys Everywhere …

[…] Ted Stevens Prosecution Witness Says He Lied. And Wait…There’s … […]

21 11 2008
Jennifer

Okay, to everyone making the incest jokes, is it really that complicated to understand that Bill Allen and David Anderson being related does NOT make the fact they’ve both dated the same woman incest unliess she is ALSO related to them? As far as I could tell from this article, she’s not. And I don’t care how big the population base, whether it is several hundred thousand Alaska or 40 million in California, hearing a story where two related people have dated the same person is not uncommon. Skanky maybe, but not incest.

Yes this whole saga falls under the “you can’t make this stuff up” category” but come on, EVERY place in the world has its incredible political and social shenanigans. That’s what makes it so entertaining to be a human. It just so happens it is AK’s turn to be in the crazy spotlight. I’ll be the first to admit my home state attracts, shall we say ‘colorful characters,’ but I’m a little tired of the broad stereotypes posted here.

That being said, like everyone else I am fascinated with this unfolding soap opera. The detail that is missing here, and has been underreported by the local and national media, is why Bill Allen was so quick to cooperate with the feds in the first place? Could it be perhaps that at the time these federal investigations were going on, the Anchorage Police Dept was already investigating Mr. Allen for statutory rape? Those of you who are interested in going further down this rabbit hole should check out the article by Tony Hopflinger and Amanda Coyne from the Alaska Dispatch:

http://www.alaskadispatch.com/features/2-features/62-full-disclosure.html

I don’t know if we’ll ever be ready to say “you can’t make this stuff up!”

21 11 2008
GJ in ID

And it just keeps getting stranger and stranger. How do you keep track of all this strange stuff, AKM?

I know I swore off CNN earlier today, but just had to take a quick peek tonight and sure enough they are running another story of the Gov. It seems she now didn’t know what was going on in the background of the turkey in the hay shots. Right?????

22 11 2008
GJ in ID

Ok, it does help to have a dance card…., but can I have a day or two to study the steps

22 11 2008
KAMERUN SCOOP
22 11 2008
NY Dem

Didn’t David Anderson just ADMIT to committing perjury ?

22 11 2008
kittyonice

Dear Alaska Voice: if you are sick of reading our opinions, or our “BS” then I would suggest that YOU STOP READING THIS SITE (sorry I don’t mean to yell, the caps are just for emphasis). The opinions on this blog are not going to change, and if you have a different opinion from the ones expressed here by the blog’s author and her (?) readers, you are not getting anywhere or achieving anything by staging your dissefnt after, as you put it, being “really tired of hearing all the B.S.” from us. I don’t understand why you would read this site if you so obviously disagree with the viewpoints expressed herein, especially to the point of being “really tired” of reading them. Why spend your time and energy on a blog which is so far away from your politics in the first place? I just don’t understand.

22 11 2008
Frank LI,NY

nebraskanative (17:47:39) :

Seriously, there is something in the water up there in the upper 49th. Boil or buy your water AK people. I’m just sayin’
===============================

Haha As soon as i finished the post. That was exactly what came to my mind.

22 11 2008
nonni_g

good Lord what a convoluted mess!

22 11 2008
antiAnti

Ask and you shall receive! Morning has arrived with a diagram from AKM. And a very _good_ diagram too. So why am I still confused? Probably because I still can not see how I failed to be included in the sweeping immunity deal. Maybe only all of Alaska was part of the deal? Or maybe the feds drew the line at the first 100,000 people on Anderson’s list?

The tell-all book deals must be a booming business in Alaska right now.

22 11 2008
Miemaw from Texas

No wonder somebody has offered book deals.

No wonder they put Wooten in an office surrounded by other members of law enforcement.

AKM, how many of these people you reckon would fall under the heading of “some of Todd’s buddies” who maybe helped him build his house?

So, Uncle Ted is going to maybe clear his name, because somebody is going back to a federal judge in D.C., and admit to perjury?

And, Sarah is going on Oprah? And write a book? And pardon turkeys?

How bizarre is that?

Your large beautiful state is much like a small town, where everybody knows everybody, and everybody knows everybody’s business — including all the dirty laundry.

And, y’all have an Attorney General who just watches the train wrecks?

Kinda like we do.

22 11 2008
RedHank

Sen. Daniel Inouye, D Hawaii, new Chair of the Senate Appropriations Committee, his fellow Pork spending legend, predicted this…
http://falseflagrag.wordpress.com/2008/11/21/byrd-replaced-by-inouye/

22 11 2008
DarleenMB

huh.

and I thought Wyoming held the record for stuff like this.

I am SO confused.

so is he guilty or not? If anderson had immunity what was it “from” and is it now off the table?

22 11 2008
TheraP

Does Alaska really belong in Appalachia? Well…. the intertwined relationships and political incest and vendettas sure sound like it! Maybe the Appalachian folks just kept moving west and north… till there was nowhere else to go.

22 11 2008
Tess In TX

I had to read this several times to even get my mind around it. Hmmm… maybe I need more coffee? Why do I get the feeling this is going to get stranger before it gets sorted out? I mean, yeah. I think stranger things yet will come of this and I’ll enjoy following it all right here. I think I’m awake now after reading this blog entry. Whoa!

22 11 2008
katiebegood

kimosabe (18:02:44) :
Great Ceasars Ghost! How do you spell “M-I-S-T-R-I-A-L” ??

You can’t have a mistrial for a trial that is already over.

Also, I have the same question as several others. Why would Anderson need immunity. And why would the prosecutors give immunity to other people for the testimony of Anderson?

Sounds like the Stevens team got to Anderson and are trying to use this as a reason for a mistrial. Someone needs to investigate Anderson’s finances to see if he has come into a mysterious sum of money recently.

22 11 2008
katiebegood

Sounds like the Stevens team got to Anderson and are trying to use this as a reason for a mistrial

Shoot, I made the same mistake. I don’t mean mistrial, I mean that they are using it to try to get a retrial or the conviction overturned.

22 11 2008
katiebegood

NY Dem (01:43:13) :

Didn’t David Anderson just ADMIT to committing perjury ?

Not really. All he is saying is that he didn’t say he was granted immunity. Omitting something from your testimony isn’t perjury.

I seriously doubt that Stevens was found guilty on this one person’s testimony. I’m betting if Anderson had never testified the outcome would be the same. But, if the defending attorneys can convince a judge that the lack of this information tainted the verdict, Stevens will probably get a new trial.

22 11 2008
Shutterbuggery

Starting to look like North West Virginia to me.

22 11 2008
flatlander

All of this proves that truth is stranger than fiction.

22 11 2008
Scrimshaw aka Sack Panther Hussein

I’ve been looking for a new blog entry from Juror #11, and here it is – dated yesterday: http://juror11.blogspot.com/

“It Will Never Go Away!” What’s Eleven’s conclusion?

“…So, in my humble opinion, I don’t think his testimony really matters. The facts are still there: the work was done (whether by Dave Anderson or by someone else), Salmmy knew that the work was done, the work wasn’t paid for, Salmmy knew it wasn’t paid for, and Salmmy didn’t put it on his forms. Ergo, Salmmy is still guilty.”

22 11 2008
halcrow

@ flatlander (09:13:45) :

Or that fiction is a stranger to truth.

22 11 2008
crystalwolf a.k.a. caligrl

Canadian Neighbour (19:54:11) :

After reading AKM’s post and the other comments, I found the need to go find the smelling salts!! Anybody require a whiff? This whole thing certainly makes the head spin almost Linda Blair style!!!

I have to admit, when I read about this earlier today, the first thing that came to mind was Todd placing a call a la Troopergate style to Anderson!! Between Stevens and contractors and Palins and contractors and Palin and Stevens — what a tangled web they weave!!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I thought the same thing when I read this….remember “housegate”?

22 11 2008
ED

@Dragon Lady When I First read this, I had the same thought. Sounds like someone got to Anderson, after the trial, and had him write that letter.

22 11 2008
AlaskaVoice

So, you scrub those comments that don’t meet your politics? You must be the Obama boy.

No, I scrub the ones that are rude, and use name calling instead of civil discourse. Please read the FAQ. AKM

22 11 2008
UK Lady

Read Jennifers link at 22.51 plus the two commens at the end. Drugs, sex, statutory rape! good grief and gruesome, it can get worse.

22 11 2008
crystalwolf a.k.a. caligrl

AlaskaVoice (10:02:14) :

So, you scrub those comments that don’t meet your politics? You must be the Obama boy.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Now be a good boy and crawl back under the “governor’s” skirts…I mean go back and crawl under the rock from where you came….no snow trolls or any other wanted here….You must be one of the “Pajama bloggers” that sarah talks about…Gack!

22 11 2008
AlaskaVoice

You guys aren’t getting the point. Among other things, the prosecution submit documents in trial which indicated that both Anderson and “Rocky” were working on Steven’s house when, in fact, they were both in Portland for seven weeks working an another project. The prosecution knew these documents to be false.

This doesn’t go against the grain with anyone?

22 11 2008
AlaskaVoice

Actually, I’m female. Those who don’t look at issues from all sides before coming to a conclusion are ignorant!

I wrote a comment last night which put a little light on some of the matters above and you scrubbed them. You’re worse than the Anchorage Daily News and its going under.

22 11 2008
UK Lady

So, AlaskaVoice, what documents did the defence submit to prove this?

22 11 2008
crystalwolf a.k.a. caligrl

AV
here is a papgraph from Juror’s 11 blog:
Now, what did he actually testify that could be affected by this and therefore call for a mistrial? He testified about the work he did personally and the time he spent at the chalet doing that work. Well, the time sheets were already thrown out as evidence so the only thing that is left is the work he did personally. This would be most of the metal work done. The Steel steps, the steel railing, the steel deck, the steel balcony, and the steel safety ladder that he attached to the house. And there is hard evidence that this work was done. Photographic evidence even. And there were some emails back and forth about the steel deck and such. So, in my humble opinion, I don’t think his testimony really matters. The facts are still there: the work was done (whether by Dave Anderson or by someone else), Salmmy knew that the work was done, the work wasn’t paid for, Salmmy knew it wasn’t paid for, and Salmmy didn’t put it on his forms. Ergo, Salmmy is still guilty.
http://juror11.blogspot.com
AP article http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20081121/ap_on_go_co/stevens_trial;_ylt=AgZrPiHRvPtOTZ7YO6B7nPas0NUE
So yes I really would like to see where YOUR documents come from, syaing he was in Portland…?

22 11 2008
AlaskaVoice

According to the newspaper during the trial, the prosecution submitted documents summarizing hours worked on various projects. It showed Rocky working on the Senator’s house when he was actually working on another project in Portland. The prosecution submitted this as evidence. The defense then found out that Rocky had testified in the grand jury hearing that he couldn’t have worked those hours because he was in Portland at the time. The defense is never allowed in the grand jury hearings so it didn’t know about this until after the document was submitted. According to documents attached above, this also happened with Anderson.

22 11 2008
AlaskaVoice

Just for the heck of it – I’ll send the same comment I sent last night which was scrubbed:

We’ve spent hundreds of thousands of dollars in investigations and they found nothing.

Early in her administration, e-mails went out to all of her department heads saying that the day of big earmarks were over for Alaska. Despite that, her Commissioner of Public Safety (Monegan) went over her head in an attempt to land earmarks for a new crime lab. He refused her additional security when needed for large crowds. Her only security detail is a 70-year-old man. He fought her over wage increases for the Troopers, and failed to fill vacancies within the department. You need a job? I believe we have 40 or 50 Trooper jobs available.

The union has been running the department for years and it truly was time to “go in another direction” and get someone in who could run the department.

For instance, did you know that Wooten (the former brother-in-law who tasered his stepson, drove a marked vehicle while drinking a beer, threatened to kill Palin’s father, started a fight in bar and then drove away under the influence . . . the list goes on) was made the poster boy for the Alaska State Troopers? Yep, he’s on posters all over the State and in television commercials. Apparently these decisions were made by the union. But all of this was ok with Monegan.

For those of you who know nothing of Alaska, the capital is almost as close to Seattle as it is to Anchorage, where most of the state’s residents live. The only way to get there is by plane or boat (cruise ship). It is far more efficient to have the Governor run her office out of Anchorage when the legislature is out of session and it’s a whole lot cheaper to pay her $60.00 per diem than to keep the Governor’s Mansion running. Besides, while it’s not been reported, I believe the mansion is under renovation. We’re not talking style changes, but plumbing problems and such.

Obama and friends sent 30 lawyers up here to dirty the waters through cronies like Senator Hollis French. Yeah, the same Senator French who is in the back pockets of Wooten’s union and the same Senator French who ran the investigation against the Governor.

As for Stevens, I didn’t vote for him (in fact, I didn’t vote in that race at all) because I believed him guilty. I’m having second thoughts and feeling a little guilty.

Don’t be afraid of the truth.

As a courtesy to you, I have removed the portions of your post that caused it to be “scrubbed.” I have left the Obama 30 lawyers comment although it is patently false. I welcome dissenting opinioin, but if you can’t keep civil and on-topic I’ll remove the comments.

Palin dismissed her own security detail.

Wooten’s issues were addressed and concluded by the Department before Monegan arrived.

If we are going to have a capitol move, it needs to be voted on by the people. So far we have voted to leave the capitol where it is. This is not a decision for the governor to make.

Obama did not send lawyers up here. McCain, however, did. Ed O’Callaghan was a high powered terrorism lawyer from NYC who came to Alaska, advised the Dept. of Law, held press conferences, and is now being investigated by the NY Bar Association for practicing law in Alaska without having passed the Alaska Bar exam.

Senator French did not run the investigation. Stephen Branchflower did, and he was chosen by a bi-partisan group. Hollis French who oversaw the hiring of Branchflower was also chosen for this position by a bi-partisan Legislature.

All this has been discussed in previous posts. Let’s try to stay on topic.

AKM

22 11 2008
AlaskaVoice

crystalwolf a.k.a. caligrl. These are not “my documents.” It was the testimony of Rocky and Anderson. They said they weren’t there. All I’m saying is we should be very concerned when the prosecution submits documents it knows to be false. Think of it. Someone had to sit down and falsify these records – but why would they unless they were trying to stick it to Stevens. Have you seen the photos of his house? It’s not much. For the $160,000 he put in to it, plus the $200,000 or so Allen says his company put in to it, they could have built something really nice.

I should think we would all want our trials to be fair. I believed Stevens to be guilty – but now I’m wondering.

22 11 2008
akmuckraker

Yes, AlaskaVoice, I think we are all concerned about seeing that everyone gets a fair trial. The details of this will undoubtedly become clear as we proceed. The appeals process marches on.

22 11 2008
UK Lady

I would like to point out AlaskaVoice, that you don’t seem to have too much problem blackening Trooper Wooten’s name without benefit of a fair hearing.

As for the dramatic sounding ‘tasering his stepson’, have you not read the full details? Look them up for youself, I suggest a different source from the one you are currently employing.

22 11 2008
concernedcanadian

A snippit from the Adn today….

In the filing Friday, government prosecutors challenged Anderson’s motives for sending the letter and changing his story.

“The government has now obtained substantial additional evidence, including both documents and video surveillance, that prove the falsity of Mr. Anderson’s allegations and that further explicitly prove Mr. Anderson’s collusion with an interested party in the preparation and transmission of Mr. Anderson’s letter,” prosecutors wrote. They said they would describe the additional evidence in a supplemental filing Monday.

Anderson wouldn’t say what prompted him to write the letter or how it was drafted and sent.

The letter filed with the court Friday bore a fax header showing it was sent Nov. 16 from the Fed-Ex Kinkos at the corner of Northern Lights Boulevard and Lake Otis Parkway in Anchorage — more than a three-hour round-trip drive from Anderson’s home.

A manager at that Kinkos who identified himself only as Jeff said the FBI had been there and spoke to a female employee about the letter. The manager wouldn’t identify the woman and said she has since left Alaska. Asked whether the FBI had also viewed or obtained surveillance video from the store, the manager said, “I don’t believe I should be talking to you about this” and referred questions to a Fed-Ex security official in Washington state, who wasn’t in his office an didn’t return a message left on his mobile phone.

22 11 2008
AlaskaVoice

UK Lady – Trooper Wooten admitted it. My information comes from a letter to Wooten from his supervisor who personally investigated the claims. Got a problem with that? Would you really want this guy pulling you over?

22 11 2008
AlaskaVoice

Thank you akmuckraker – that all I want to hear.

You’re welcome. AKM

22 11 2008
UK Lady

Sigh – Yes AlaskaVoice – we ALL know the incident with the taser happened, but we all also know that it was years ago, 6 I believe. His wife was there at the time. She didn’t leave him or remove the child from the home. The taser was at it’s lowest training setting with the actual ‘charge’, turned off. There was a buffer between the skin and the taser. The child begged for the taser to be used, and thought it was funny. The incident was only brought up years later, after the couple split up and divorce proceeding turned inevitably nasty.

Not a hangiing offence in any court.

22 11 2008
UK Lady

Concerned Canadian

Very interesting inf, thanks. Look forward to hearing what that’t all about on Monday.

22 11 2008
AlaskaVoice

No, you’re wrong. The child cried, but submitted to the incident because Wooten told him that he and his mother were a bunch of “pussies.”

Do you really think that this, together with the other 12 incidences he was suspended for are ok? If you don’t believe me google: Colonel Grimes Alaska Troopers Wooten. I think this will bring up Grimes’ letter.

22 11 2008
UK Lady

So AlaskaVoice – what you are saying is that the wife, after her husband cruelly abused her son, stayed with him for another four years or so, and presumably left the child with him, alone, on many occasions. Gosh, that sounds like neglect to me.

22 11 2008
Wasilla women

My daughter attends school with a friend of the tazed boy and this whole story has had
a horrible impact on him!!! he said it was taken out of context and it is the most regrettable decision of his life. he believes it has been very destructive to his family! HE BLAMES HIMSELF!!
Three years before sp became gov. court records show sp and hubby were order to stop disparaging this man!!! This has already been handled in FAMILY COURT.. Leave it alone for the sake of the children!!

22 11 2008
AlaskaVoice

Judge Suddock would agree that Wooten is a bad cop – I know him well.

22 11 2008
Wasilla women

You just dont get it do you!! SHAME! SHAME!

22 11 2008
UK Lady

AlaskaVoice – I notice you still didn’t answer me about the mothers neglect.

22 11 2008
UK Lady

Note to AKM – is AlaskaVoice allowed to speak for Judge Suddock?, Would he mind? I would bet he would.

22 11 2008
UK Lady

AlaskaVoice – Still no answer to my post at 13.14 then?!!

22 11 2008
Wasilla women

ak has no respect for the alaska judicial system or anyone else apparently. SHAME! SHAME!

22 11 2008
UK Lady

Wasilla Women, if you meant AlaskaVoice, then I wholeheartedly agree with you.

22 11 2008
akmuckraker

I think what I’ve taken away from all this is that:
a) Mike Wooten is no angel. He made some really bad decisions, and has admitted them. Some of them were so bad that he received disciplinary action for them. It was taken through the system, and he was punished. Many people would say he wasn’t punished enough, but he was punished through the proper channels nonetheless.

b)Walt Monegan took his position after this matter was closed. If he had fired Wooten for what he had done years before Monegan ever got there, and after the process had been dealt with officially, he would have been breaking the law.

I don’t think this argument is about Wooten, or whether what he did was wrong. It was about a sitting governor pressuring a commissioner to break the law to settle a personal score for her.

22 11 2008
Wasilla women

people with such arrogance make all us Alaskans look bad, but believe me when I say very few I know would ever agree with her views or attitude.

22 11 2008
Wasilla women

The Gov welcomed the investigation at first, And asked we the people of Alaska to hold her accountable.. and NOW if you wont honesty and ethics get a court order and get in line?? What the??? Boy I miss Jay Hammond!

22 11 2008
UK Lady

Wasilla Women – I am sure there are far more good people like yourself in Alaska than there are people who’s minds are closed and who brook no opinions that don’t agree with their own.

22 11 2008
Wasilla women

Thanks UK, you sound cool! Hope all is well in your part of this world..

22 11 2008
Don Smith

I don’t know if anyone will even see this or not, it is buried so far down you need to pump sun shine into here but here goes:

It is great.

DS

22 11 2008
UK Lady

Don, have seen this before, but it never gets old. So funny. SP always reminds me of that old saying ‘the lights are on, but no one’s home’. Bet Mc would have loved to do that for real. Double bet he still would.

22 11 2008
UK Lady

Wasilla Women, you are welcome. Actually it is freezing in my little part of this world right now. Apparently we are getting a snap of weather right in from the North Pole, can SP see this from her window, also?

22 11 2008
Wasilla women

oh how I miss the good old days before the prevalent corruption of big oil infected my state officials, It saddens me so…. but there once was a day, it wasn’t that way, believe it or not. signing off for now.. best of wishes and god bless!

22 11 2008
Wasilla women

So can I.. LOL!

22 11 2008
Quetzalcoatl

How’s it going there in Twin Peaks, eh? Jeebus.

David Anderson, letter to the Judge Emmett Sullivan that his claims on the stand that he never had an immunity deal with the prosecution were false.

1] Bearing false witness = perjury?

2] How does he know there was a contract issued by Bill & Mark Allen on his life?
2a] Did he notify the police of this threat in a formal complaint?

3] Allen’s lawyer drafted a 10-page “Settlement Agreement and Release of All Claims.” Allen and Anderson vowed to neither speak to one another ever again nor discuss their VECO work with any federal, state or local government authorities, including the Internal Revenue Service, Alaska Public Offices Commission and the Federal Election Commission, according to an unsigned draft of the settlement dated Oct. 21, 2005. For signing the document, Anderson says, he was paid $30,000 by Allen’s law office. Allen’s alleged threats toward Anderson and the $30,000 payout are detailed in a sealed FBI affidavit filed in federal court, according to a lawyer who has seen it.—article Alaska Dispatch
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
30K? sounds like a low ball payoff for threats against one’s life, no?

Mr. Anderson has something on Bill Allen and crew. If you read the links in AKM’s post, there’s the disturbing story of Bambi Tyree and an underage prostitution ring and drugs…
Seems to me that Mr. Anderson could have at least sued for unlawful dismissal by his then employer, Bill Allen, who fired him when Allen’s gf, Ms. Deacon, left him for Mr. Anderson. It was about that time that Allen bulldozed his home and told him to get out of Alaska…

Seems Mr. Anderson’s mistake is not hiring a lawyer. A long time ago.

Some claim it’s in the water, what about those long periods of no sunlight? Talk about cabin fever. Jeebus.

As for Family Court — that hurts Wooten’s kid more than tasering and That’s why he blames himself… in my experience.

22 11 2008
Wasilla women

the kid was just messing around (wooten wasn’t being a rational adult)and it turned into this…I Cant help but feel sorry for the kid… I hope he doesn’t hurt himself out of some sort of guilt..

22 11 2008
marksmyword

I don’t understand this. If you’ve possibly broken the law, and prosecutors want to talk to you, you take an attorney to the interview with you. Even if you’re not an attorney, if you watch enough cop shows, you should know this…

Thanks for the flow chart, also.

22 11 2008
AlaskaVoice

Have any of you ever been married to an abusive man? It can be very difficult to pull out.

I have read both reports on Palin in full and gone through the court file on the divorce. I don’t come in to this without some knowledge.

Judge Suddock told Molly Wooten not to disparage her ex in front of the children – just as any judge should do. He had, however, no authority over Wooten with respect to the prior claims.

Another thing most people don’t understand – Wooten filed an appeal of the disciplinary action – his suspension was reduced under Monegan’s watch from 10 to 5 days.

Why all the nasty stuff? I don’t judge you because you have a different opinion. I’m out of here.

22 11 2008
Sauerkraut aka Sarah Palin Turkey Noise

AlaskaVoice – you agree and then disagree with various people. It would be helpful if you’d stick to one position and defend that. There are portions to your ever-changing positions with which many who comment on this blog agree. Some of us might even disagree with parts of what regular commenters right. But it’s difficult to agree or disagree when your own positions are not settled within your own rightings.

I’ll agree with an earlier AKM position: Wooten was, and probably still isn’t, an angel. imho, he’s not particularly fit to be a trooper in any state.

22 11 2008
Sauerkraut aka Sarah Palin Turkey Noise

not “right” or rightings,” but “write” and “writings.”

23 11 2008
Wasilla women

My mother spent 20 years in alaska fighting for victims of abuse and sexual assault
working for alaska children services, director of abused womens aid in crisis. claire house and stand together against rape.. as achild I would volunteer for her after school.
there are org here to asst those in need. So I witnessed first hand the horribly high rate of abuse in this state since I was like 11.. this was resolved in family court and has been over by law for several years.. these folks have remarried and moved on..
that means end of story…

23 11 2008
AZ Mom

Thanks for the CHART, AKM! MAN! I had NO idea political corruption could be make for such a wacky flow chart. You must have needed a stiff drink after that. Good job.

All of this Wooten business has me saying one thing down here in the lower 48: If he were such a scoundrel, why hasn’t he surfaced with all the Palin dirt when there is a large audience for it? He hasn’t. Instead he doesn’t say a word and keeps to his work (being reassigned, etc). I get abusive relationships. Been in one and a witness to one as a child. I’m not saying he’s a good fella getting a bad rap. I’m just saying sometimes the abuse comes from those playing Lady McBeth. He’s quiet. And if I were Palin, I’d worry that he was a little TOO quiet right now. He’s got a blockbuster counter punch to any book she’s ready to publish. Maybe not great dirt, but enough to keep the Enquiring minds in the super markets fed. It’s like Palin’s old historical icon said, walk softly and carry a big stick. That’s “stick”, Palin. Not “schtick”.

And I realize that this thread might be long closed. So I’ll cast it into the quiet void….




