Surprise! Live Chat! (and Open Thread)

15 11 2008

 Come on over to the chat room in the Mudflats Forum!  We’ve scheduled an impromptu live chat so everyone in the “Night Kitchen” can connect in real time! 

We’ve got philosophical cocoa, political smores, and a roaring fire of discourse!

Directions:  Click the link in the sidebar that says Join the Conversation.  When you are in the Forum, click the link in the upper right-hand corner that says in tiny purple letters:  Live Chat now available 24/7 right here.

See you there!

(Or use this post as an open thread.)


Actions

Information

151 responses

15 11 2008
Chief Shikago

Uno!

15 11 2008
Northern Quilter AK

dos

15 11 2008
asiangrrl"Yes we DID"MN

and me! Come on guys, let’s go grab some virtual cocoa.

15 11 2008
15 11 2008
ira2

Quattro. I’d go for a nice mug of hot chocolate to sip while listening to y’all talk, but my computer doesn’t like chat.

15 11 2008
Newfoundland Dogs Rule

Well, that’s pretty cool. Unfortunately, it’s 3:17 am here and the youngest Newf (8 months old) and I have just shared a bowl of oatmeal. If I keep reading the on-line chat I will never get back to sleep.

On the other posting, people were telling about their mothers and grandmothers who didn’t want pictures of horror seen. Just have to let you know that my mom (76) is training our big guy (168 lbs of Newf) to be a therapy dog. His grandmother is one already. But Mom wants to train Franklin so she can take him to the Veterans Hospital.

Pretty cool, Huh!

I want to be like her when I grow up.

15 11 2008
Aussie Blue Sky

from HuffPost

“I contacted Monegan’s talented attorney in Anchorage, Jeffrey Feldman, of Feldman, Orlansky & Sanders, to ask him about the state of the case and what were the next legal steps in this matter.

“No one knows the answer to that question,” he declared. Since the Personnel Board made a finding of “no probable cause” and denied Monegan’s request for a hearing, there “is nothing currently pending before the Personnel Board.”

Feldman indicated that Monegan’s legal options are also limited. He “could file an action in court either challenging his dismissal, asserting defamation claims, or seeking a due process name-clearing hearing,” but as of now that’s uncertain.”

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/geoffrey-dunn/half-baked-in-alaska-pali_b_144132.html

15 11 2008
GJ in ID

Just came by to see what’s up tonight

15 11 2008
NY Dem

Couldn’t sleep here in NY either. An hour on the computer is like a glass of warm milk though, and when I return to bed it will be easy to get back to sleep.

I have the West coast feeds of the major networks with my DirecTV package, and spent most of Saturday flipping between college football games and the coverage of the fires.

Unbelievable horror – I just can’t imagine living in an area like that. Sure, the weather is great 99% of the time, but the overall risk is just too high.

Blessing to all MudFlatters anywhere near a fire, stay safe.

16 11 2008
Northern Quilter AK

Just tried the live chat. Wow, that moves fast. Internet crashed so am back here – which is more my speed anyway.

Ira2: your recipes sound fantastic!

16 11 2008
califpat

I posted this for asiangrrl in the last post but everybody had vacated the spot so here it is again.

Welcome back asiagrrl: Actually I am more of a lurker than a poster but your intellect is not lost on me. You dont take a side of a debate so that you can go along with the majority and be popular. You actually state your case whether on not it is popular among the posters and you stick to it. I have learned so much from you and am not surprised by your popularity. I missed you too. I was lurking during the Prop 8 dispute. I am so glad that you are back. You are truly an intellectual breath of fresh air.

16 11 2008
Zim in Oz

Chat is moving a little too fast for me. I’ll just stay here a while.

They are chatting about Presidential pardons.
Can anyone tell me if there is a limit to the amount of pardons allowed ?

16 11 2008
short-timer

Here’s a link that talks about presidential pardon limits:

http://www.heritage.org/research/legalissues/wm1543.cfm

It’s not very limited, but has to do with crimes against the US, not civil or state crimes.

16 11 2008
MizKay

catorce

16 11 2008
Jamie, Floridian in France

Hi! Who’s around?

16 11 2008
MizKay

Hey Jamie, I think we missed everyone.

16 11 2008
Jamie, Floridian in France

Zim, oh ZIm are you there?

16 11 2008
Zim in Oz

LOL, bon soir Jamie,
…I am here, surfing a bit. It is 11pm here in Melb, Aus.

16 11 2008
Aeroentropy

warf.. zzz mhmmdh.
Is it morning already?
if it says 2:56, what does that make it here, 6;56? I think so.
‘morning all!

16 11 2008
Jamie, Floridian in France

I’m back; I thought I was alone so watched the news.

16 11 2008
Jamie, Floridian in France

@ Aeroentropy :

remind me again where you are.

16 11 2008
Husky

Wow, air conditioning to heat in the space of a few hours. Highs in the 80’s yesterday, 60’s today.

NOW will Sarah leave Florida??

16 11 2008
Aeroentropy

Jamie-

I’m usually in Maine, but this weekend I’m in NH visiting elderly parents. Our family gets together for an early thanksgiving, so we can try out new recipes, travel when the roads and airlines aren’t crushed, and moreover, we can all go home and do it again with friends in a week or so.

I ate enough last night to feed a small african village. I could have stopped after the sourdough bread and camembert cheese. But no.

We did finish off with sweet potato and pecan pie though!

16 11 2008
Zim in Oz

Things are pretty quiet since the election.
I am suffering major withdrawl.

This bog has been fabulous.
Just 2 weeks ago none of us dared think that Obama would win….and now…?
We just seem to ‘hang’

I really do think that Obama needs a break….a holiday. He is looking exhausted.
We need him refreshed.

16 11 2008
MizKay

Dragon Lady (21:13:44) :

I close with this link that ties Palin, McCain, Prop 8, Bill Ayers, and Joe the Plumber into one. I had not heard this story; where was I?

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/charles-karel-bouley/explain-how-do-you-explai_b_144099.html
__________________________
I went back a post to catch up – I hadn’t heard of this story either. Too bad CKB got fired over it.

16 11 2008
Aeroentropy

Hey Zim –

I saw this: “This bog has been fabulous.
Just 2 weeks ago none of us dared think that Obama would win….and now…?
We just seem to ‘hang’”

and sat there trying to sort out the international meaning of bog. Then of course, I smiled when I figured it’s just your fingers doing what mine do all the time!

Seriously agreed though – on the withdrawal as well as this fabulous blog.
It’s funny watching the tone wander around without the previous focus. Not that there aren’t some real hotspots still…

16 11 2008
Aeroentropy

Or maybe you really did mean bog??

16 11 2008
Zim in Oz

@Aeroentropy (03:23:20) :

Where abouts in Maine ? I visted Maine in Feb (a while ago)…it was beooootiful. Snow everywhere. I sat for ages watching snowflakes landing on the windows. They were just lovely. There was also a stream outside that had just ‘stopped’ and turned to ice. I think we were in Portland, Maine. (Institute of Advanced Imaging) (Kodak and Apple) Is it still there ? (DH is a pro Photographer)

16 11 2008
Aussie Blue Sky

Believing your own … um, propaganda

“The presidency of George W. Bush, you see, never actually happened. Right up until Nov. 3, every bad thing that happened in the United States was the fault of Bill Clinton. Starting Nov. 4, it’s all Obama’s fault.”

http://www.pottsmerc.com/articles/2008/11/16/opinion/srv0000004033861.txt

16 11 2008
Jamie, Floridian in France

Aeroentropy:

I love that idea of getting together early to try new recipes! Add anything great to the mudflats recipe forum! I put up my pie crust and pumpkin pie. I have to put up the Sweet potato pie recipe that was given to a friend by a woman from Harlem. I made it all the time when I lived in the States.

Several years ago, we saw big article about the French revival in Maine. That’s when we first thought about moving there and maybe opening an inn.

16 11 2008
Zim in Oz

@Aeroentropy (03:35:09) :
>>>Or maybe you really did mean bog??>>>

It is late here…I did mean blog….but bog also fits (muddy bog) 😆

16 11 2008
Jamie, Floridian in France

Hi Zim, finally…

16 11 2008
Aeroentropy

Zim –
Zim:
I don’t know of any IAI, or see anything on quick search, so I suspect it’s not there anymore. We’re about 45 min north of Portland, in a little town called Pownal (pop 1700 or so).

You’re in Ausralia, right? Out of the snow zone? You must be or you wouldn’t be speaking so poetically about the darned stuff. We got so much last year I finally had to hire someone with a tractor to move the snowbanks back off the driveway so there would be room for more. The snow does make for a good roll after the sauna though..

Jamie –

Plenty of French around here, but I doubt any French person would admit to recognizing it (said with great love, by the way — growing up in NH we studied french instead of Spanish, and took school trips to Montreal to practice!)

16 11 2008
Aeroentropy

Funny, having the tired-at-the-end-of-the-day people meeting up with the not-yet-enough-caffeine-in-the-morning folk!

16 11 2008
Husky

I know Pownal!
We used to live in central NH and ventured east all the time…My favorite phrase from a real Mainer: “number’n a gahwdrail”
translated “Number than a guardrail”

This phrase was simply slipped into a conversation between teachers about an unfortunately limited but sweet student by a native Mainer, and then adopted as a permanent part of my vocabulary.

16 11 2008
Zim in Oz

Nitey nite… I turned into a pumpkin about 5 minutes ago…gotta sleep.
Cya tomorrow.

Your watch US and Europe.

Mwah

16 11 2008
Aeroentropy

Husky –

You in Fla? I try to make it to St Augustine for a week or two in winter. It seems it’s far enough north not to be totally attractive to the winter onslaught, but what a lovely old city, and nice nice people.

16 11 2008
emjaygee

@ Miz Kay and Dragon Lady

I hadn’t heard that story either, but, because Karel is so popular in the SF area, I’m hoping he lands an even better job after this. What he said was only ‘bluer’ than anything ever said at a McCain/Palin rally (I mean the effing language). :o)

I don’t post often, but I read here everyday and have since Palin was put on the ticket at the end of August. I just registered with wordpress, so my name has gone from “emjay” to “emjaygee” as the first was already taken.

I live in the Monadnock Region of New Hampshire and have for 32 years. I love this place because of the intelligence here and the links and information provided that I would never find on my own. Thanks everyone.

16 11 2008
Aeroentropy

emjaygee (04:16:41) :

A fellow Newt!!

16 11 2008
Aeroentropy

emjaygee (04:16:41) :

A fellow newt! I grew up in Hanover

16 11 2008
Jamie, Floridian in France

@ Aeroentropy (03:58:02) :

Funny, having the tired-at-the-end-of-the-day people meeting up with the not-yet-enough-caffeine-in-the-morning folk!

That’s funny! Though now it is 2:20 in the afternoon in France. Had lunch, had pie and coffee….

@ Aeroentropy:

In the 1800’s, St. Augustine was THE vacation spot for the rich and famous…. Every time I mention it, my Fre,ch hubby laughs and says that it is all fake, a Disney-built fort, etc.. Though he can tell that I actually drank from the Fountain of Youth in St. Augustine when I was a kid…..

16 11 2008
womanwithsardinecan

I’ve never enjoyed the chat format, so you won’t find me over there.
We are having a heat wave in California. Not just LA. I’m way up on the north coast and it is supposed to be in the low 70’s here today. Yesterday was hot.
I haven’t checked the status of the Sylmar fire this morning, but yesterday it was raging completely out of control. It reminds me of the great wildfire in Oakland. Anybody remember the pictures from that?
It’s been a rough fire year. We breathed smoke up here all summer long from our thousands of fires that started in June. Then, just when our fire season ended up here, the LA fire season began.

16 11 2008
Aeroentropy

womanwithsardinecan (04:30:06) :

I feel for you and your fellow fire-zoners. I know we all have our own natural disaster risks, but I’ll take nasty winter blizzard weather over fire, flood, wind any day. I spent 5 days in January here in ’98 with no power (no heat, no light, no water) when the whole northeast got iced, and though there was some serious tragedy, our neighborhood was on a revolving potluck party. Not the same as drowning or burning.

16 11 2008
megacephalus

and belated greetings from Berlin, as a friend opened his ‘SLOW Imbiss’ last evening and we were doing frantic pre-opening ‘triage’ to last minute… and then sampling some of his great wine wares:

.http://www.berliner-kochkurs.de/

.http://www.berliner-kochkurs.de/kochkurs-berlin-uebersicht/kochkurs-berlin-november-2008/

SLOW is an interesting concept where by in an open room environment he brings together 2-3 really top chefs who cook before one’s eyes and table, and prepare a series of courses [Gänge] each with a particular wine [which of course Hans hopes to sell you]…

One of the best culinary events of my life was a ‘Truffle Evening’, which occurred at ‘SLOW’ the same time as last winter’s Wine and Food Fair in Berlin, so had super options in town… with from Italy: a Wine-maker/Vintner; a Truffle supplier; an organic Olive Oil producer … and an excellent Tenor [a cappela]… ayup… Tenor…

and if you’ve never been able to stick your nose into a large box of Truffles … ah… what can I say!

@ Aeroentropy (04:21:15) :

the funniest instance of the election cycle past was when Liz Stone’s mother, an OLD friend, drew my ‘phone in US [actually my financial keeper’s] to solicit for BHO! Small world, so I figured this was a ‘two-fer’ for a while…

@ Jamie, Floridian in France (04:23:15) :

So, Jamie… what can you cook up for S’holm? [

d.

16 11 2008
shoeho

Much too sleepy to do that chat thing, it goes way too fast for me.

Morning. Sunny here in SFL, but cold. Well, cold for us. About 65. My pampered kitties didn’t know if they wanted “out” (patio, screened/fenced only, they’d be gator bait) because it was too cold. Now, one of these little suckers is a MAINE COON. He should want to be out there in the snow, sleet, whatever. Nope, total wuss.

Going to go spend some quality time with the DH who has been away for a few days flying the touri where ever they want to head.

16 11 2008
Newfoundland Dogs Rule

Soooo, went over to Live Chat and no one was there, or everyone was taking a nap or getting more caffine.

Front came through last night, but though we were under a tornado watch, we have missed that bullet. Started at high temps today, but falling temps all day. Maybe we’ll get some snow showers.

I have family in CA, but they also seem to live just north of the fires.

Speaking of French. I did learn French with a southern accent. I’m not talking about an accent from southern France, I learned it from a wonderful flaky lady who loved French and everything French. Unfortunately, she had a heavy rural American southern accent.

I will not speak French in front of anyone!

BBL

16 11 2008
Jamie, Floridian in France

@ megacephalus (04:53:17)

Wow! Your food things sound great! About Stockholm – my 18 year old son wants to come! For some strange reason he has been on and on about visiting Scandanavia (Norway, actually) and Japan for the last few days. Weird – didn’t think he had it in him! But end of May he’s in school.

I am first working on organizing (Me? Organize?) a family vacation in Lisbon over x-mas holidays. My husband is stressed out from lack of vacation since last March (5 days in Basque Country) and he has been wanting to take me to Lisbon since he discovered it on a work trip about 6 or 7 years ago…. And it’s been way too long since we have vacationed “en famille”.

But I am waiting for Brit to get back home – think she mentioned Monday. But one question – why did you choose end of May?

But I am looking into it…

16 11 2008
Jamie, Floridian in France

@ Newfoundland Dogs Rule (05:08:14) :

I was on live chat early this morning and it was really hopping. Had lunch, came back and obviously everyone had gone to bed….

You must speak French – I love anybody that can make ME sound good!

16 11 2008
Jamie, Floridian in France

But, sorry, to tell the truth, Boston Terriers and Boxers rule! Didn’t anybody tell you that?

16 11 2008
pamela

Morning, Newfoundland – I think I did the same thing you did in Live Chat – so I came back here. Saw your earlier post – do you raise Newfs as therapy dogs? I’ve raised labs as guide dogs and have a lab and a golden now. Can’t quite imagine a house full of Newfs🙂

16 11 2008
Jamie, Floridian in France

Sorry, Newfoundland, your dogs are better at being working dogs, very true. Bostons and boxers just are kind and sweet and silly and look good.

16 11 2008
Newfoundland Dogs Rule

Don’t apoligise, all dogs rule. I mean what does dog spell backwards!

Pamela: we raise Newfoundlands for pets. Though some have become showdogs, therapy dogs, water rescue dogs and a carting dog. What we want are happy dogs with happy people. Congrats of the guide dog raising, that’s a lot of work. We have a website for our kennel that used to feature The Log. A weekly update on living with nine Newfoundlands in the house, usually with a litter of pups around. We’ve taken a break. Instead of the log, I’m putting up a Chapter a week of an unpublished novel of my dad’s (with Newfoundlands, of course) I’m writing a trio of chapter children’s books, with Newfoundlands, of course. And Mom is training some of the other dogs. Very busy though taking a break from puppies. Breeding, whelping and raising puppies takes a lot of work.

Jamie, hmm. I don’t think anyone would understand me. Though, when listening to people speaking French I can usually follow what’s being said.

16 11 2008
womanwithsardinecan

Aeroentropy,
It’s funny how we all have a different list of nature extremes that we are afraid of. I grew up in earthquake country here on the north coast of California. That and bad winter storms are our main nature stuff. I was here for the ’64 flood, but not affected by it. Tornadoes seem utterly terrifying to me. Hurricanes seem pretty iffy too. Floods I have mixed feelings about, having felt the brunt of one in Arizona but generally feeling like we allow heavy population of floodplains (I’m a geologist) to our detriment.
I used to think earthquakes were fun, but having rocked and rolled through one too many sizable earthquakes between 1992 and 1995, I finally had enough and moved to Arizona. Now I’m back and not really happy about it.
Blizzards and extreme cold are another one. I sat through a blizzard in Kodiak one winter, got to find out about cabin fever. Drove through a blizzard in Kansas once. Not cool. Got trapped by a heavy snowstorm while doing fieldwork near Flagstaff, AZ. Took me 3 days to get out, and I had to finally leave my vehicle and walk out. Spent 3 days in a small travel trailer in the woods in Arizona while my husband was trapped in Flagstaff by the same storm. I had to wade through thigh deep snow in the blowing wind and climb up a certain rock and stand in the blowing snow to get a phone call to my husband to tell him I was running out of food. Got trapped driving in a blizzard in New Mexico one night. Took us 2 1/2 hours to go 40 miles, with me clutching the wheel while my husband shifted.
I guess I don’t really like snow much anymore. lol.

16 11 2008
Susie in Jersey

Folks, an old lady in NJ needs some help. She purchased a Sansa Fuze yesterday and would like to put BHO’s election night speech on it.

How might that be accomplished?

I can be contacted at midland blue at gmail

Many, many TIA.

16 11 2008
Jamie, Floridian in France

@ Newfoundland Dogs Rule (05:38:03) :

Wow! I would love to read your stuff. Is anything on line?

I started a food-related blog a few months ago then stopped. I am in the process of restarting and am always excited to see what others are doing.

16 11 2008
SC Sista M Cluckhead

MizKay:
thanks for that link; I had never heard that story, either! And while the writer has both apologized and PAID for what he said, how hypocritical that all of the others mentioned have not.

and isn’t it amazing that, now that she’s not spewing hate, nobody seems too terribly interested in hearing anything that SP has to say?
Sure puts her “popularity” into perspective for me…

16 11 2008
Susie in Jersey

Should somebody be able to answer my question above and I don’t get back to you for a while, I’m soon to be off participating in one of the “rites of autumn” – counting migrating hawks.

The front that came through last night has brought good wind and cool temps so hawking should be good. I’m hoping for a Golden Eagle today and maybe a Goshawk or a Rough-Legged Hawk.

Will need to put on every piece of clothing that I own in order to stay warm but it’s worth the effort to watch these magnificent creatures.

And BTW – MUTTS RULE! or so I would like to think. My Rhodie/Boxer mutt is dumb as a stump and terrified of his little Sheltie brother. Oh, well, I love him and he puts on an absolutely terrifying act to any strangers who come to the house – but it’s all an act.

16 11 2008
Jamie, Floridian in France

I just went to Huff Po and read the article. I must say I agree with him totally and he is right. He did indeed say what so many of us were saying and thinking, though not on air, about wanting Joe the Plumber dead – but it definitely was figurative – we wanted the whole silly concept of Joe the Damn Plumber dead cause it was a ridiculous sham and a way for McCain and Palin to talk and accuse without saying anything.

But McCain and Palin, and yes Bush, should be held accountable for inciting hate and hate crimes and racial violence, because that was meant, and they said it as part of a speech in order to incite fear and hate. Where the hell is responsibility in our country?

16 11 2008
Aeroentropy

womanwithsardinecan (05:52:25) :

When were you in ADQ? I spent most of the ’80’s there, still miss it dearly. Lots of good friends there still.

16 11 2008
Marty (VA) Mudstock DC Inaugural Party.. reply to mudstockdc@hotmail.com

morning mudpups.. who’s watching CNN??? A great attack on barbie.. ! yummm

16 11 2008
Aeroentropy

Marty (VA) Mudstock DC Inaugural Party.. reply to mudstockdc@hotmail.com (06:08:48) :
morning mudpups.. who’s watching CNN??? A great attack on barbie.. ! yummm

Barbie who.. ?
😉

16 11 2008
Marty (VA) Mudstock DC Inaugural Party.. reply to mudstockdc@hotmail.com

aero, you know.. that person who’s 15 minutes is over…:)

16 11 2008
Newfoundland Dogs Rule

Jamie here’s the link
http://www.riverbearnewfoundlands.com

Sort of disorganized right now, but you can still read the logs. I really need to take the logs and put them in monthly folders. I stopped doing that. Someday.

Susie: Yes, Mutts rule too! We started breeding Newfoundlands because Mom got a Newfoundland and lab mix. He was awesome. Breeding Newfoundlands is my parents’ retirement project.

I would also like to know where the responsibility is in our country. How are we to raise responsible children if they see our “leaders” getting away with everything!!!

I can’t wait to see what Obama will do with Cheney and Bush. They have some sort of law created way back when (sorry, Truman era, maybe) that might protect them. Bah, humbug.

16 11 2008
Marty (VA) Mudstock DC Inaugural Party.. reply to mudstockdc@hotmail.com

Say it ain’t so Joe…

A potential $7 mil to write a book??? God, how unfair is the world..? When the dumb get rich?

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/us_and_americas/us_elections/article5162538.ece

16 11 2008
twinkle toes

Jamie, Floridian in France (05:12:08) :

I am first working on organizing (Me? Organize?) a family vacation in Lisbon over x-mas holidays.

While in Portugal, you might want to checkout Cascais. We had an exchange student from Cascais several years ago. He kept telling us how wonderful his home town was. My sister, who is a travel agent sent some of her clients there and they loved it so much they called from Portugal to thank her for recommending it.

Also, how can I access the recipes?

16 11 2008
Rachel

“The Wild Wordsmith of Wasilla”

Anybody here (besides me) remember Dick Cavett? He wrote a terrific article for today’s NYT regarding Palin’s bludgeoning of the English language. One of my favorite lines from the piece:

“A cynic might wonder if Wasilla High School’s English and geography departments are draped in black.”

http://tinyurl.com/6dw7tk

16 11 2008
womanwithsardinecan

aero,

ADQ?

16 11 2008
rubby

A book by Palin? I can’t imagine a book coming out of someone so lacking in reflexivity. What on earth could she possibly have to say? “Plow through those doors”? Yeah, I know they use ghostwriters, but still.

16 11 2008
twinkle toes

Rachel (06:26:35) :

“The Wild Wordsmith of Wasilla”

Rachel, loved to post!

16 11 2008
Jamie, Floridian in France

@twinkle toes :

http://www.themudflats.net/forum/index.php/topic,3693.20.html

for the recipes.

Thanks for the tip re: Cascais – I wrote it down and will check into it.

@Marty (VA):

Geez! No fair! How does such a schmuck get a $7 million offer? And for what? Can he even write, or will Johnny Mc lend him his ghostwriter? How can WE get $7 million, too.

16 11 2008
Jamie, Floridian in France

Oh, Sarah has the deal? I thought it was Joe the Plummer (sic) – heard he had one too.

16 11 2008
twinkle toes

Thanks Jamie,

I manage to get down to St. Augustine every year for several days to visit friends. It is one of my favorite places, but the tourists have found it also.

16 11 2008
Jamie, Floridian in France

“(Sarah Palin) now finds herself in a position similar to Obama’s in 2004, when the then mostly unknown Chicago politician delivered a mesmerising speech to the Democratic convention, was elected to the Senate and swiftly wrote a bestselling book – The Audacity of Hope. This proved to be the springboard for his presidential launch.”

WTF!!!!??? How dare they compare Palin to Obama or compare their entry onto the national stage? Shameful!

16 11 2008
Hick Town in W PA

Jaime just remember who owns The Times of London. This is a case of consider the source.

16 11 2008
Hick Town in W PA

The remainders stacks will be huge.

16 11 2008
Polly

If Monegan’s legal options are almost nil…. We could start a campaign fund and have him run for Governor in two years, and win. That would send a clear message to the Palin Administration!

16 11 2008
Goalie in NM

Good morning mudpups!

Getting ready to go and have huevos at our favorite New Mexican restaurant – El Camino. We have gone there nearly every Sunday morning that we have been in town for the last thirty years…yup…I said 30!

It’s on old Route 66 (North 4th St., Albuquerque, NM) if you are ever in town and want the very best! Only open for breakfast and lunch Tues-Sunday.

DELICIOUS!

BBL!

16 11 2008
megacephalus

On “Chat”… no one there… boring… ‘real time’ as opposed the “The Night Kitchen” where we can relax around the table, put our feet up, doze off and/or return and then catch up. Thumbs down on CR. Personally I always thought CR was for those with ABSOLUTELY nothing to do😉 [… and I’ve been wondering about us, too…. ]

@ Jamie, Floridian in France (05:12:08) : drop me a note on e-mail and I’ll send a few thoughts… too long for here on NO for young son. d.

16 11 2008
Newfoundland Dogs Rule

Hey, just went over to the recipes of Mudflats. Drooled a lot. Downloaded those that were gluten free. Yup, members of our family have that problem. But, man some of these recipes will be tried out this holiday seasons.

Pickens is on now. At least, he’s saying that yes, gas is cheap now, but that doesn’t mean it’s going to stay that way.

I hear that OPEC is trying to reduce oil production. Great! That means the price of gas will rise again, and we’ll have more reasons to get energy independent.

16 11 2008
Cynthia, TX

When Palin comes on I have to mute the TV I just can’t stand all the pluff and circumstance she spits out!

16 11 2008
SMG - MN

@Polly (07:01:38) :

If Monegan’s legal options are almost nil…. We could start a campaign fund and have him run for Governor in two years, and win. That would send a clear message to the Palin Administration!

She’s getting away with it. Again. This is why I have to disagree with those who are happy that Palin is seemingly disappearing from the frontlines. There is too much that she has yet to answer for. She continued her slanderous attacks on Obama (Blitzer interview) even post-election. She is vile.

I know that AKM and others are still working tirelessly to see that justice is served. We have a huge coalition here on the flats. Surely there is something that we can do. Please tell me that I’m not alone!!

16 11 2008
President Sarah Palin

Live chat?
What is it? I will ask my campaigning team about that. Oh I just love those hightech things soooooooooooooo much!

16 11 2008
Yellowhill

hopefully our president elect will be in office for two terms, during this time maybe Sarah will take a fishing boat trip somewhere across the Bering Sea, I wish her no hurt or injury, just to mind her own business and do what she should do, staying home and raising her kids

16 11 2008
Marty (VA) Mudstock DC Inaugural Party.. reply to mudstockdc@hotmail.com

Hi kids.. i was watching Wolf (Please Don’t Shoot Me) Blitzers rerun of Barbies interview.

When asked if the bailout package should be used to help US Automakers, here’s her response (sort of)… see if you see any answers..

Right now a big issue, should the U.S. government, the federal government bail out the Detroit — the big three automakers?

PALIN: Oh, that is the discussion of the day. And there is going to come a point here where absolutely the federal government must play an appropriate role in shoring up some of these industries that are hurting and will ultimately hurt our entire economy and the world’s economy if there aren’t some better decisions being made.

But we also have to start shifting some debate here in our country and start talking about personal responsibility and responsibility of management in some of these corporations and companies so that from henceforth it’s not assumed that the federal government is going to be bailing out everybody who is going to soon line up, Wolf, for more taxpayer assistance.

And I’m talking about personal responsibility too in terms of homeowners and in terms of folks who maybe have extended their own credit. Sure, predatory lenders are to blame in all of this also, but we have got to make sure, for instance, we’re not talked into buying a $300,000 house, because really we know we can only afford a $100,000 house.

And we’ve got to start living those lessons that we try to teach our children in terms of not living beyond our means and extending our own personal credit to the point of not being able to pay our monthly bills and then expecting government to grow and be the answer.

BLITZER: So, sorry, I’m still waiting for the answer, should the government bail out the big three automakers?

PALIN: Well, that — it’s in debate right now and I’m listening closely to the debate and there is a lot of information that even you and I certainly aren’t privy to, to understand all of the ramifications if federal government were going to step in and bail out.

But we do know that the auto industry is that important that certainly it needs to be considered. But, you know, I’m not going to ignore the debate again that I think needs to lead to the personal responsibility, the management decisions that have been made in some of these companies and corporations that have also led us to where we are.

BLITZER: So I hear you saying you need more information right now.

PALIN: Yes, I do. Yes.

—–

So, she talks about a lotta stuff, including housing, but has no clue about the auto industry. Here’s the question Wolfie never asked..

Barbie, you said ‘it’s the question of the day’, so you’re admiting being aware of it, yet have taken no initiative on your part to even do the most basic research to have even a simple answer about this topic. Why is this? Too busy sitting around drinking champagne and getting a tan before going back to Alaska to play Govenor? How can anyone take you seriously when you have so little intellectual curiousity to have an intelligent answer on a topic ‘of the day’ that you knew about?

Just mindboggling, although i think they are figuring out she breathes and blinks just like a human, but if they did a EEG, they’d find it’s basically a flat line..

16 11 2008
GiGi

I have never been able to keep up in a chat room, my brain doesn’t work that fast..
Whats the latest news up there about the Recount..here in Mn. we start next Wed.
on the Franken Coleman recount..hoping and praying Al can pull it out..

16 11 2008
Grammy in PA

SMG

I agree, Monegan for Governor in 2010!!

16 11 2008
Marty (VA) Mudstock DC Inaugural Party.. reply to mudstockdc@hotmail.com

I think Les Gara has a better path to becoming Gov.. Monegan may not be the right guy for that.. But, with Gara as Gov, Walt would get his old job back, which is what he’s best suited for, to be an advocate for police officers in Alaska..!

Gara would be a great Gov..!

16 11 2008
More Light than Heat

@ Goalie
Mmmmmmm, huevos! We used to love the breakfast burritos at King David across from the ABC Bakery. But the Lebanese couple who owned it retired, and it wasn’t long for the world after that.

Think our fave NM restaurant was Casa Benavides — also on N. 4th. Never tried El Camino. Sigh. El Pinto was too gringo, Sadie’s was too hot for me (and never the same once they moved from the bowling alley).

Where in ABQ do you live? We were just west of Tramway between Arroyo del Oso and Academy. Lived there 1990-97 and loved it there. Wouldn’t mind going back as I have a son in Rio Rancho.

16 11 2008
BahstinBoyo aka Wrangler Tractor Palin

emjaygee…

Monadnock region you say! Went to camp in that region as a kid. Mt Monadnock was a favorite day trip once or twice a two-week camp session. We were on either NorthPack or SouthPack, (the ORIGINAL Twin Peaks!) can’t recall which one. It was a boys camp run by Holy Cross. GREAT memories! Went to Silver Lake a lot as well. Stunning area, absolutely gorgeous ANY time of year! I envy you! I would MUCH rather be there that here in always-too-damn-hot FL! I WILL return back north one day, and I’ll head for that area to see it once more! We could see the mountain from the camp! Sorry… I’m ranting on so, just nice to be reminded of the area!

16 11 2008
Marty (VA) Mudstock DC Inaugural Party.. reply to mudstockdc@hotmail.com

Moby, I have a snack for you… Swim around Alaska, and watch for a stupid skinny woman and give her a try. Might give you a little indigestion, and she’ll talk your ears off, but maybe she’d be like an alaskan sourball. consider her our treat to you..

Love, Ishmael

16 11 2008
BahstinBoyo aka Wrangler Tractor Palin

As far as Monegan or Gara are concerned, I would see Gara there as well. Hell, he could ALWAYS run like Saracuda did… ‘ANYBODY BUT PALIN’… sound familiar? Marty has an excellent point… put Monegan back where he would do the most good for the people and State of Alaska.

Goalie… My Mom lived on the mountain there in ABQ… got to visit there and SF as well. Took a Sunday morning drive heading west and ended up in Gallup at a local old restaurant on 66 by the tracks… best juevos rancheros I’ve EVER had! Not sure if it was the verde or the home-made thick flour tortillas… EITHER way, NM is beautiful… and the food is the best!

16 11 2008
biglake

Marty – thanks for the blow by blow Blitzer-Barbie encounter!
We haven’t had TV all day and our internet up-link is always ‘iffy’ – but I couldn’t have enjoyed it more if I’d seen The Situation Room in person!!

16 11 2008
More Light than Heat

To all SoCal Muddies…
Come on over to the Forum. We’re trying to put a SoCal Mudstock together. Interest list here…
http://www.themudflats.net/forum/index.php/topic,3713.0.html

16 11 2008
Deep Blue in VA

There’s a post in the forum about doing an online book club. The first book will be “Three Cups of Tea”, which I coincidentally just read for my local book club.

It’s a fantastic book – non-fiction about an American mountain climber who builds schools in Pakistan and Afghanistan.

If you’re interested, check out the forum thread: http://www.themudflats.net/forum/index.php/topic,3722.0.html

16 11 2008
Jamie, Floridian in France

@Marty –

I watched the Blitzer interview and actually her answer to the automaker bailout was the clearest, most precise answer she gave to any question asked! But you would think that she would have learned her lesson after her first disastrous interview (how long ago was that?) that maybe she needed to actually FOLLOW what was going on in politics and national and world affairs. But, hey, when you can get by on your good looks and dynamite personality, why bother?

@ megacephalus (07:28:19) :

Yeah, I know, no young uns. Will send an e-mail tomorrow as I am short on time here.

@ Deep Blue in VA (08:25:10) :

Good idea for book club. Will do…

16 11 2008
Goalie in NM

@ More Light than Heat,

El Patio on Harvard in the University area is yummo too! I am in agreement on El Pinto…Sadies is better now, but still hot. Did you ever try the Range in Bernalillo? That’s pretty good as well.

We live on the Rio Grande about a mile north of 1-40 on the West Bluff. Love it. We have about 3 acres that includes Bosque land to the center flow line of the Rio Grande. We almost lost our house in the Bosque fire in June ’03…very lucky. Neighbors to the north and south of us both caught on fire. The Bosque is slowing coming back, but beavers are stealing all of the little cottonwood poles that are trying to grow! We’ll get a good little grove stand started and then whoosh…..all gone!

The cranes are migrating now…we have a little patch that they love to hang out on and we get some great photo’s.

Will you ever return to fair NM to live? I have some favorite North American haunts around our Country…but cannot see myself living anywhere else. NM is so unique with it’s great weather, sunny blue skies and diverse cultures and beautiful landscapes.

16 11 2008
Deep Blue in VA

Jamie – I can’t take credit for the book club idea, I just wanted to alert folks to it…

16 11 2008
Twinky Winky Pony Palin
16 11 2008
Aeroentropy

Twinky Winky Pony Palin (09:00:06) :
Ahem:

http://blondesense.blogspot.com/2008/11/fine-art-of-play.html
_______

Wow. I’m speechless. I never would have thought this possible, in that it takes unusual behavior on Both parts. Neat.

16 11 2008
UK Lady

Twinky

That is so adorable.

16 11 2008
halcrow

The wages of spin is wealth…supposedly $7 million.

November 16, 2008

Sarah Palin’s failure set to reap her $7m book dealTony Allen-Mills in New York

…”She failed to save John McCain from presidential election doom, but Sarah Palin, the Republican senator’s controversial running mate, may yet emerge as the saviour of the American publishing industry. Literary agents are queueing up to sign her to a book deal that could earn her up to $7m…”

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/us_and_americas/us_elections/article5162538.ece

16 11 2008
Twinky Winky Pony Palin

Cute, much?

16 11 2008
cat

Hola Paisanos de NM!

@ More Light than Heat
@ Goalie in NM

I am a silent “lurcher” and love this blog, it has been my saving grace this election season! I am also a former New Mexican, grew up there, most of my family is still there, and I miss it dearly, but get home as often as possible.

Sadies is the best, but my favorite is the Barrelas Coffee house in the south valley. Great Carne adovada, I am getting hungry!

16 11 2008
264 Crayons

Soooo….what happened to Joe Scarborough for dropping the F*** bomb on TV last week? Did they fire the cameraman & the censor?

http://cajunboyinthecity.blogspot.com/2008/11/joe-scarborough-drops-f-bomb-on-air.html

16 11 2008
halcrow

Looks like the wages of spin is wealth…supposedly $7 million.

November 16, 2008
Sarah Palin’s failure set to reap her $7m book deal
Tony Allen-Mills in New York

…”She failed to save John McCain from presidential election doom, but Sarah Palin, the Republican senator’s controversial running mate, may yet emerge as the saviour of the American publishing industry. Literary agents are queueing up to sign her to a book deal that could earn her up to $7m…”

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/us_and_americas/us_elections/article5162538.ece

16 11 2008
halcrow

The wages of spin is wealth…supposedly $7 million.

November 16, 2008

Sarah Palin’s failure set to reap her $7m book deal

Tony Allen-Mills in New York
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/us_and_americas/us_elections/article5162538.ece

16 11 2008
UK Lady
16 11 2008
Eyes Wide Open in Pgh, PA

Rachel (06:26:35) : “The Wild Wordsmith of Wasilla” Anybody here (besides me) remember Dick Cavett? He wrote a terrific article for today’s NYT regarding Palin’s bludgeoning of the English language.
http://tinyurl.com/6dw7tk
**********************************

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS LINK! It was such a delicious read. I immediately forwarded a copy to my son at Cornell, who will be graduating in a few months with a degree in Linguistics. Cavett’s piece was chewest, tastiest writing I have consumed in very a long time. Yum.😯

16 11 2008
Eyes Wide Open in Pgh, PA

Sorry I kept vanishing from the live feed last night. I kept getting knocked off as unrecognized, etc. I finally gave up. -eyes:shock:

16 11 2008
twinkle toes

Hi folks, this is OT but my son is in Philly for the day. Unable to check into the hostel until 4:30 and wondering what to do. Has already visited the Liberty Bell and run up the stairs at the museum like Rocky. I haven’t been there for 25 years and don’t know what to suggest. Any ideas? Thanks!

16 11 2008
nswfm CA

Who in the hell would pay $7 mill for an account of/by Palin?

Read the news, that’s all you need to know about her and her screwed up Wasilla Hillbilly family. There’s nothing on the policy front with her so it’s all gonna be about her.

ME, ME, ME, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, ME, ME, ME, word salad, blizzard of words.

On a happier note, the polar bear and dogs photos almost made me cry, they were so cute. And I’m a cat person.

16 11 2008
nswfm CA

I lived in NYC during the Guiliani years and complained to my mom on the phone the whole time. She and my dad were there from 9/1-9/17/01 (supposed to leave on 9/12, but that was impossible). Rudy rose to the occasion on 9/11 for the most part, and mom said he seemed ok, why didn’t I like him? I said this is an unusual circumstance, not the regular Rudy.

It was telling that his kids supported Obama and not THEIR OWN DAD in the presidential race. He’s another nut job. He recommended a crook to run Homeland Security, the list of stupidity on Rudy’s part is huge. He should go to AK and pal around with Caribou Barbie in the woods. Maybe challenge each other to a duel.

16 11 2008
Eyes Wide Open in Pgh, PA

😯 On “Saturday Night Live,” Jason Sudeikis, playing Joe Biden, mocked the vice president-elect’s tendency to make gaffes and strained to emphasize that he’d be just as entertaining as Sarah Palin.

“You don’t think I can give a train-wreck interview with Katie Couric? Just name the time and the place and Joe Biden will bring the train!”

WATCH IT NOW:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/11/16/biden-mocked-on-snl-how-h_n_144148.html

16 11 2008
SMR

@twinkletoes —

I’m not from Philly and have never been there, but since you’re looking for a quick fix, try this link: http://www.lonelyplanet.com/usa/pennsylvania/philadelphia

I’ve always found the Lonely Planet guides to be the best guides out there, but not sure how the online info is, if they truncate it to get people to buy the guide or what…

16 11 2008
Goalie in NM

@cat,

COOL! Another New Mexican! My husband is a native and graduated from Highland High. Glad to hear that you get back as often as you can. Not much changes around here really…growing like everywhere else; but most of the really good haunts are still around. It is absoulutely stunning here today with the aqua blue skies and the golden cottonwoods along the Bosque. Barrelas CH is still a local gathering place!

Nice to meet you cat!

16 11 2008
Eyes Wide Open in Pgh, PA

At the World Economic Forum’s 24th India Economic Summit in New Delhi, India, former Secretary of State Henry Kissinger said of reports that President-elect Obama is considering Sen. Hillary Clinton, D-NY, as Secretary of State,

“I believe it would be an outstanding appointment. If it is true, it shows a number of things, including great courage on the part of the President-Elect. To appoint a very strong personality into a prominent cabinet position requires a great deal of courage.”

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/11/13/hillary-clinton-secretary_n_143735.html -eyes wide open😯

16 11 2008
SMR

I sure hope there isn’t any sane intelligent person who will contemplate buying any book about Bible Spice. What’s to know? What could possibly be interesting about her? I don’t find her interesting at all. Not even in the train-wreck sense. Now that the election is over I’m done with her.

If her “base” supporters buy it so what, they’re nutters anyway, but God willing the rest of the sane world will boycott the damned thing. It’s insulting, really, that the publishing companies think that there enough stupid people out there to read this book to make it worth $7million for her.

Why oh why do stupid evil people get ahead?

And about Walt Monegan, well, I think he has a few options, one of them is going to court for defamation, and I hope that he takes it. I think his attorney is far too intelligent & professional to telegraph his intentions. My limited knowledge of legal issues makes me wonder if it would not be WORSE for the state & Bible Spice if HE takes it to court than if the legislature follows up on it when they reconvene in January. Public court & the open access to records, the access to ongoing proceedings, would make this a very very ugly thing for Bible Spice. So, if you’re Monegan’s attorney, I would think you would play your cards close to your chest until you find out if the legislature will follow up in January.

That’s my opinion, so I am resting & preserving my strength, ready to go into battle in January if it appears that our legislators are a bunch of pansies ready to let the Gov walk all over citizens of Alaska.

16 11 2008
Deep Blue in VA

twinkle toes:

I did a day trip to Philly a few months ago to see the Star Wars exhibit with my sons. It was at the Franklin Institute (a science museum) right in the middle of everything.

The Star Wars exhibit is now gone, but the museum seemed really cool. It might be a little pricey to get in, but would be good way to kill a couple hours on a chilly day!

http://www2.fi.edu/

16 11 2008
emjaygee

@ BahstinBoyo
Nice to learn someone is familiar with the area. It is beautiful here. Believe it or not, I have never climbed Mt. Monadnock (some say the most climbed peak in North America), but my adult children have always done it. My eldest son climbs it whenever he’s up here for a visit from Boston. Silver Lake in Harrisville? Harrisville is such a beautiful old town full of brick buildings.

@ UK Lady
I have disliked Giuliani ever since his snarky ridicule of Barack Obama as a community organizer.

@ Twinky
Those pictures were wonderful. Of course, I had to check my “source” for truth – snopes. It’s true – (and they have a few more pics) http://www.snopes.com/photos/animals/polardog.asp

16 11 2008
Road Runner
16 11 2008
Eyes Wide Open in Pgh, PA
16 11 2008
264 Crayons

The Biden SNL skit gave me quite a few chuckles. For whatever reason his gaffes didn’t bother me near as much as SPs….I remember Feaux News claiming the sexism was “Deep” (funny word choice there) a few days after she made her debut. At least Joe handled himself with dignity and respect – she got to spin the blatant sexism and use it to her advantage. Blah – talk about a bad taste left in your mouth!

16 11 2008
Suchanut

Knock, knock….anyone home?

16 11 2008
16 11 2008
Eyes Wide Open in Pgh, PA
16 11 2008
Eyes Wide Open in Pgh, PA

Suchanut (10:17:16) : Knock, knock….anyone home?

Who’s there? -eyes😯

16 11 2008
Newfoundland Dogs Rule

Well, that was weird, I posted on the new post and a few minutes later the entire post disappeared. AKM’s post not mine. It was about Stevens maybe wanting to lose. Anyone seen it lately?

16 11 2008
UK Lady

This is a great column by Frank Rich in todays NYT. Entitled ‘The Moose Stops Here’. I think you can all see where this is going.

http://www.nytimes.com/2008/11/16/opinion/16rich.html?_r=1&ref=todayspaper&oref=slogin

16 11 2008
Eyes Wide Open in Pgh, PA

Newfoundland Dogs Rule (10:30:50) : Well, that was weird, I posted on the new post and a few minutes later the entire post disappeared. AKM’s post not mine. It was about Stevens maybe wanting to lose. Anyone seen it lately?

Your post is in the doghouse. It will return. I am experiencing the same “Now you see it, now you don’t” phenomena -eyes😯

16 11 2008
SMR

Love this one at Andrew Sullivan’s blog — Bible Spice drives a guy away from the Repub party & he one ups that by joining the DC protest! Yay him!!!!!!

http://andrewsullivan.theatlantic.com/the_daily_dish/2008/11/the-view-fro-60.html

16 11 2008
Newfoundland Dogs Rule

Now it’s back. Thanks eyes

16 11 2008
Bec -Yes We Did - in Illinois

I’ve never seen a thread crash on Mudflats before – but it just seemed to happen with the one about whether Stevens really wants Begich to win. It has disappeared after about 10-15 comments!

16 11 2008
Deep Blue in VA

Newfoundland:

I thought it was just me! I saw the post, read the comments, and then when I hit Home, the new post disappeared.

This site has been screwy for me all day. Comments disappear, then re-appear.

Anyone else having problems?

16 11 2008
Road Runner

GUYS AND GALS!!

Here are the official prayers to make sure Palin oh-12 doesn’t run again

http://www.236.com/news/2008/11/12/scared_of_palin_in_2012_tell_i_10206.php

16 11 2008
Eyes Wide Open in Pgh, PA

“To see what is in front of one’s nose needs a constant struggle” -George Orwell
😯

16 11 2008
UK Lady

Same for me. New post just up and went.

16 11 2008
Bec -Yes We Did - in Illinois

It is back up for me now.

16 11 2008
Eyes Wide Open in Pgh, PA

Well, got to log off now and be productive around the house for a while. My wife is putting me to work power washing our parrot cages.

Power washing is the only way of getting all of the palins washed off of the bottom screen of each parrot cage.

I trust “Newfoundland Dogs Rule” has similar problems scrubbing palins off of the kennel floor.

Eyes😯

16 11 2008
Road Runner

GUYS AND GALS!!!

Want to know how Bush got to Crawford, TX?

Check out the movie.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/brad-listi/icrawfordi-filmmaker-davi_b_134315.html

16 11 2008
UK Lady

Has anyone heard from Ocliberal today? on live chat or email? Have been fretting since yesterday about the fires.

16 11 2008
SMR

There are some strange things happening with my posts here. Not sure if this will post. ANYWAY — Lock Pepper Honolulu are you here???????

16 11 2008
More Light than Heat

@ Goalie,
Not sure we’ll return to live. My guy (very soon to be DH) has a daughter in Aspen, and of our combined 4, she’s the most likely, perhaps only one to provide grandkids. So there’s a real pull to be close to her. Current plan is to retire to Fort Collins. But with #2 son in Rio Rancho, we’ll visit regularly. And ABQ isn’t out of the question. Depends largely on comparative living costs.

Yes, I’d forgotten about the Range. Excellent. Also enjoyed b-fasts at what I think is now “flying ….” something. Used to have the same name as an ice cream place in San Francisco, and when they expanded locations, they had to change the name. Orignal was down on Central, then they added one on Juan Tabo and there’s also one on Menaul (I think).

Your spot sounds positively wonderful! Unfortunately, I’m a mosquito magnet, so the Heights worked out much better for us. We have friends along the river across from Bernalillo — also a lovely spot, but again there’s the mosquito issue for me. I suppose if there aren’t a lot of ditches nearby the skeeters don’t tend to congregate.

16 11 2008
UK Lady

OK am going into my kitchen now to make myself a tinfoi hat. This is weird.

16 11 2008
Deep Blue in VA

I emailed AKM to alert him/her to the site problems. Sounds like it’s happening to all or most of us.

16 11 2008
snoskred

Hi all,

It is possible WordPress might act strangely over the coming weeks given that there is an upgrade on the way.

I don’t know what is causing the problems but it is possible that ya’all are just asking too much from a blog comment thread.

Blog comment areas were never designed to be used the way you guys are using them. That’s why we created the forums. That’s where discussions not related to the actual blog post should be going. I understand that some of you don’t want to do that, and that’s fine, but it means that the blog is seriously under strain at times. Especially when ya’all sit here refreshing the page to read any new comments.

Forums are designed to deal with that kind of thing – blogs are simply not designed to carry on the discussion in this way.. If you knew how bloated the back end of wordpress can get, you would understand how problems can happen. The blog now has almost 100,000 comments on less than 500 posts. And every time people post one word comments, you see just one word here, but it creates multiple entries in the database that you can’t see – the thing that *runs* the blog. There will come a point at which the database begins to act up due to the sheer size of it, and I think we’re probably there.

I’m not having any problems myself but I’ll keep an eye on things for the next couple of days.

Meanwhile, can you post what internet browser you are using (ie internet explorer and the version number, like IE6 or IE7 or Firefox 2 or 3, you can find the version by clicking on help and then about internet explorer or about mozilla firefox), so I can try to work out if it is browser related?

Also, could I encourage you to perhaps move discussions that aren’t relevant to the blog post itself over to the forums. We now have this random thoughts thread, where you can post whatever you like.

http://www.themudflats.net/forum/index.php/topic,3685.0.html

16 11 2008
Deep Blue in VA

Snoskred, thanks for that explanation.

To answer your question, the browser I’m using is Firefox 3.

I think it’s a tough sell asking people to post on the forums instead of in the comments section, mainly because people like the community aspect of all of us reading the same comments at the same time. There are so many threads on the forum that the “oneness” of it gets lost.

I’m not sure what the solution is. Too bad being so popular brings such problems!

16 11 2008
MWthatoneYesWeCan

There is a beauty in reading everyone’s thoughts and reactions. There have been several times I have been trying to scan through everyone’s comments and it takes HOURS……..so when there are conversations NOT meant for me, it would be a blessing to have them revert to instant messaging, the forum, emails……or another format…….with conclusions and questions still appearing here. I hope there is a way to minimize the entries without losing the friendly flavor…..

16 11 2008
264 Crayons

Earlier today I did click on real chat however there were only three people in the room and nobody talking.

Personally I just don’t like have to log in, hunt through forums (way too many) then clicking next page for the next set of comments. Guess I’m spoiled on the blog because the comments are one right after the other plus you know people are responding pretty much in real time.

I find it amusing to read all the entries whether they relate to the blog or not – guess I’m not a savvy purist:)

16 11 2008
cat

Hi Goalie in NM,

Thanks for the welcome, love this blog.

I am a native also, from a family of natives—we go back a looooong time there. I graduated from Del Norte. I currently live in a red part of Oregon, which is shifting blue!

We are also having a gorgeous day here in Central Oregon, which is similar to many parts of NM. Autumn is my favorite season.

16 11 2008
Windy City, aka Alien Ears

I registered on the blog forum but confused about where to say hello.

17 11 2008
sauerkraut aka Road Apples Palin

Can’t seem to get my registration to take. But chat flows make my eyes go screwey anyways and gives me migraines, so I’ll just keep reading the posts and commenting here.




