President Elect Obama’s First Fireside Chat.

15 11 2008

Welcome to the 21st century.

In addition to regularly videotaping the radio address, officials at the transition office say the Obama White House will also conduct online Q&As and video interviews. The goal, officials say, is to put a face on government. In the following weeks, for example, senior members of the transition team, various policy experts and choices for the Cabinet, among others, will record videos for Change.gov.

[snip]

But online political observers say President-elect Obama’s innovative online fueled campaign will likely evolve into a new level of online communication between the public and the White House–the Internet-era version of President Franklin Roosevelt’s famous “fireside chats” between 1933 and 1944,

“The Obama team has written the playbook on how to use YouTube for political campaigns. Not only have they achieved impressive mass — uploading over 1800 videos that have been viewed over 110 million times total — but they’ve also used video to cultivate a sense of community amongst supporters,” said Steve Grove, head of news and politics at YouTube. “Obama told us in a YouTube interview last year that he plans to have ‘fireside chats’ on video, and we expect his administration will launch a White House YouTube channel very soon after taking office.”

Added Ellen Miller of the Sunlight Foundation, a D.C.-based nonprofit that advocates for government transparency: “We’re living, after all, in the Internet era. This is an individualized version of the ‘fireside chats.’ It’s not delivered between 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. but whenever anyone wants to see it. I don’t know if it necessarily creates transparency — it’s still a controlled, one-way message. But it creates the aura of a much more accessible presidency.”


Actions

Information

141 responses

15 11 2008
Scott Palin

Finally, a President (elect) who talks to us!

15 11 2008
nswfm CA

In normal Enlish!

15 11 2008
Scott Palin

Complete sentences!!

15 11 2008
nswfm CA

Hey Scott, I live between the Ventura and Channel Islands harbors. Where are you in SB?

15 11 2008
nswfm CA

English! fingers aren’t that good today!

15 11 2008
Shikago aka Chief Shikago

The Worlds Election of Obama, interesting perspective here…
http://thepowerpath.com/what-is-new/the-world-election-pt-1-2.html

15 11 2008
wahine in honolulu

LOVE HIM!

15 11 2008
MonaLisa (in CT)

Isn’t he awesome? But he looks so tired already… We should each send him daily doses of positive energy to get him through the next 8 years!

15 11 2008
Irishgirl Rosebud.

That made perfect sense.

15 11 2008
wahine in honolulu

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/27702300/

Our President, the Animal Lover! Great picture for animal people…

15 11 2008
Scott Palin

nswfm CA –

I live downtown Santa Barbara – by Castillo & Valerio St.

Are you thinking – Mudflatters Party??

There’s got to be more than two of us around here.

15 11 2008
Goalie in NM

I love listening to him. Confident and comforting.

15 11 2008
Seachele99

Messages directly from the White House and the Presidential administration unedited, and unfiltered by the media? What ever will we do without a pundit and their various analysts to tell us what we just viewed, and what they really meant? Good golly gosh, maybe independent critical thinking will become more popular. Thank God (and all those awesome voters) for an intelligent and modern president.

15 11 2008
Forty Watt

@ Seachele99 (12:30:18) :

Thank God (and all those awesome voters) for an intelligent and modern president.
_____________________________________

It’s heartening isn’t it. One of my fears, when our President-Elect won the nomination, was that the country had become so dumbed-down that there wouldn’t be enough people who really wanted an intelligent leader. (Guess that makes me an elitist). I have never been so glad to be utterly wrong.

15 11 2008
Marty (VA) Mudstock DC Inaugural Party.. reply to mudstockdc@hotmail.com

Dear Sarah.. Listen to our new president and learn baby learn. He speaks in intelligible sentences, puts words together into coherent threads of human conversation, and actually allows the person listening to hear a real message in his words. When finished, you know what he was talking about and what he plans on doing.

You’d be smart to learn how to do this, but unfortunately, you may not be able to grasp this concept. But you should try.

15 11 2008
nswfm CA

I am thinking Mudflatters in So Cal Party!

15 11 2008
Chief Shikago

OK lastly, for now, a special thank you too…
Bea (10:20:36) Thanks for the virtual hugs Bea.
Goalie in NM (10:27:45) I’m good a jumpin!
austintx (10:35:10) Promise, I won’t ask the lame-ass family
MWthatoneYesWeCan (10:47:56) Thanks for the special white candle.
braveny (10:48:37) : Thanks for the California hug.
More Light than Heat (10:52:11) : I have vented enough for a while, thanks for understanding.
Kate in Canada (10:52:44) : Creating the personal document. Great, doing that now. Thx.
monalisa65 (10:55:51) : Thankful for the friendship shown, love yer new pic.
Bear Woman (10:56:54) : Working at preserving myself!, Thank You.
SMR (10:59:11) : That where it’s at strength & patience. Thanks again, SMR
Denise MadLibFromMSgaAZca (11:12:40) :
MizKay (11:46:04) I thank you for the helping hand reaching back, I do feel it.
Scott Palin (11:48:39) : Love & Light to you too.
And to anyone else for the warm and kind thoughts.

Now, please excuse me, I have to disappear, little over exposure on that last thread.😳 I do feel so much love here it really is incredible. Thanks Again!

bbl Chief Chicago

15 11 2008
Mollys Mum

He does look tired, doesn’t he? And it’s not surprising–he has been campaigning hard for 22 months and has an enormous mountain ahead of him. I am saying prayers now for not only his safety but his good health. He is a pretty savvy guy, though–works out regularly, lives a moderate life. He’ll be as okay as anyone could be under this sort of pressure, I think.

And on a related note, could I offer my small opinion? Don’t wish a baby on Michelle, however romantic the notion might seem. She is facing enormously increased duties herself, as First Lady. A newborn is demanding enough on a young mother in the best of circumstances. Michelle is nearing her mid-forties, with two young children already, and we all know how committed she is to parenthood–there is no chance she would not do all she could for a new baby as well. Plus the fact that at her age there is an increased chance the baby might be a special needs one, and imagine how much more of her THAT would take (and she would, unlike SOME people, willingly give). So while the idea of a newborn in the White House is certainly appealing to us, I would not wish it on her in the least.

Sorry to be a wet blanket. I just think these two are remarkable people and deserve all the slack they will be able to eke out of the coming years.

15 11 2008
Chief Shikago

Correction of course…

Denise MadLibFromMSgaAZca (11:12:40) :I thank you for the helping hand reaching back, I do feel it.

MizKay (11:46:04) Your SC, love is much appreciated.

OK later…geez

15 11 2008
Seachele99

@ Forty Watt (12:44:41) :

So glad it is over. I was wearing myself out preparing for that big let down, that big defeat, that I thankfully did not have to experience. I too am glad I was wrong about that.

15 11 2008
MonaLisa (in CT)

@ Marty

I had a sudden image of SWWNBN watching his address, turning to the First Dud and saying, “WTF did he say?”

(*With apologies for my lack of fluent Palinish*)

15 11 2008
Nisperos

Thanks for posting this AK. Glad to come back and find this after getting some work done around here. Still, I could use a Saturday nap…

That health care for all can’t start soon enough. Besides the usual suspects – seniors, aging boomers, adults and children with chronic disabilities – I happen to know young people, both working, just had a baby, and the cost without insurance can be outrageous. The couple was told that without health insurance, a minimum of $140 to see someone at a local Urgent Care for a baby having a recurring rash and, the money had to be up front (income just over low income threshold). They have been winging it with the help of a local pharmacist’s suggestions and all the moms around here pitching in their home remedies and opinions…

15 11 2008
Renee

Great site!!!

15 11 2008
Northern Exposure

This is awesome, of course, but will be more effective when all (or at least much more) of America has broadband access and video access capability.

15 11 2008
Jamie, Floridian in France

Good night all! Sleep tight. Take care Chief Shikago.

15 11 2008
Scott Palin

Seachele 99 -“What ever will we do without a pundit and their various analysts to tell us what we just viewed”

Makes me think of the basketball games I watch where the commentators tell me what I just watched – and they get paid to do it!

It is nice to hear people speak – clear, concise and unfiltered.

15 11 2008
Anonymous

@ MonaLisa (in CT) (12:58:27)

I had a sudden image of SWWNBN watching his address, turning to the First Dud and saying, “WTF did he say?”
_______________

Too funny.😀

15 11 2008
Nisperos

Night Jamie! Dream with little angels. (My mom used to say this to me, but in Spanish)

15 11 2008
Deuce2 AL

Could JM or SP ever speak so intellectually or fluently as did our
President Elect? I dunt thunk so.
The following link is to a Time Magazine Cover Pic.
TheNewNew Deal
Interesting and a bit laughable. Barack Obama as FDR.
http://www.time.com/time/covers/0,16641,20081124,00.html

15 11 2008
Marty (VA) Mudstock DC Inaugural Party.. reply to mudstockdc@hotmail.com

Monalisa, i’ll translate..

My great spouse, your first dudeliness, watching the great big tv in our great big living room of course the ability achieved due to cable tv being connected to our home that you and your pals built made me confused about the stuff that that person i trashed for so long made a little speech and for one, i can’t really grasp what he said when he said what he said. I know what i know what i know, but geepers, say it ain’t so but what did he say? Sounded like some MSM gotcha media jerks who were telling Obama what to say, and i for one didn’t understand.

Todd.. : Duh, I dunno either.

15 11 2008
Jamie, Floridian in France

@ Nisperos (13:04:28) :

Night Jamie! Dream with little angels. (My mom used to say this to me, but in Spanish)

Bonne nuit! Fait de beaux rêves!

15 11 2008
West Virginian

I love that he says we need to look out for each other. I’ve heard him say this before and I think that’s great. I believe one of the problems with society today is that a lot of people are only looking out for themselves and ignore what is happening to others.

I’m so glad the American people elected Barack Obama. I feel as if this nation has a chance!

15 11 2008
Northern Exposure

Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me NPR Radio Quiz show while making a few jokes on Palin today.
“We’ll stop when she stops.”🙂

Democracy Now, Amy Goodwin, last night Friday (We only are allowed one day a week of Democracy now on our radio station in Cecily), featured educator and peace activist Bill Ayers and his bright articulate attorney spouse. Prior to the interview of Ayers, they re-played a lot of Palin’s fear-mongering clips from the campaign. I think Amy’s onto her. 😀

15 11 2008
Forty Watt

Sorry, I became anonymous again, MonaLisa.

@ Seachele99 (12:30:18) :

Messages directly from the White House and the Presidential administration unedited, and unfiltered by the media? What ever will we do without a pundit and their various analysts to tell us what we just viewed, and what they really meant?
___________________________

I imagine a few pundit noses will be put out of joint. This could be interesting.

15 11 2008
MonaLisa (in CT)

Maybe they can find work commenting on pro-wrestling.

15 11 2008
Marty (VA) Mudstock DC Inaugural Party.. reply to mudstockdc@hotmail.com

unedited and unfiltered? W will be having daily bouts of ‘Huh’?

15 11 2008
Pat, Washingonton state

That was great, and I’m so glad that he plans to do that often. I agree with all of you that it is so nice to hear someone speak to us as if we are intelligent thoughtful and concerned citizens – and that we are all part of the same country and have to be part of the solution for our problems.

I’ve thought of some of my older in-laws and wonder if they will finally be dragged into the 21st century with the rest of us and learn to use their computers for more than simple email (most of which consists of forwarding goofy emails).

He does look tired – I hope that in this transition period he and his family are able to get the rest they all need and deserve.

Pat

15 11 2008
wahine in honolulu

My great spouse, your first dudeliness, watching the great big tv in our great big living room of course the ability achieved due to cable tv being connected to our home that you and your pals built made me confused about the stuff that that person i trashed for so long made a little speech and for one, i can’t really grasp what he said when he said what he said. I know what i know what i know, but geepers, say it ain’t so but what did he say? Sounded like some MSM gotcha media jerks who were telling Obama what to say, and i for one didn’t understand.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Marty, you got Scarah Speak down!

15 11 2008
Obama’s first Fireside Chat YouTube | folo

[…] chatted to America on the radio, but BHO will chat with us via YouTube, according to this preview at Mudflats. What, you thought this team would lay aside its best campaign technique just because […]

15 11 2008
UK Lady

Sigh!

You get Barack Obama – we got Tony Blair and now Gordon Brown 🙄 :mrgreen:

15 11 2008
katanalori

nswfm CA (12:52:29) :
I am thinking Mudflatters in So Cal Party!

San Fernando Valley here, let me know where and when! If not burnt to a crisp, I will attend! katanalori aka Lori aka baby4michelle – been here at mudflats for months, but joined wordpress today, so I guess it is katanalori from here on out.

15 11 2008
Bec -Yes We Did - in Illinois

As you watch all those upcoming Obama fireside chats – wouldn’t it be lovely to be snacking on something yummy from the Mudflats Recipe Collection? I just spent part of the day cleaning my kitchen so I’m ready to start cooking.

Please post your contributions to this growing thread on the Mudflats Forum. We are also enjoying the personal comments about your recipes.

Tired Mom – we need you to officially post that Sweet Potato Pecan Pie recipe. It was shared again yesterday by a sharp Mudflatter who had saved it. But the collection will be all the more special if each of you post your own best recipes. Thanks!

http://www.themudflats.net/forum/index.php/topic,3693.20.html

15 11 2008
Forty Watt

@ Shikago aka Chief Shikago (12:18:01) :

The Worlds Election of Obama, interesting perspective here…
http://thepowerpath.com/what-is-new/the-world-election-pt-1-2.html
___________________________________
Many thanks for the link. This is not something I probably would have found myself. It’s quite fascinating to enter a different cultural frame that expresses what I feel in a different way.

15 11 2008
Irishgirl Rosebud.

Forty Watt, did you change your name to Mona Lisa?

15 11 2008
Irishgirl Rosebud.

I obviously got that wrong. Take no notice.

15 11 2008
UK Lady

My Recipe:-

Take 1 Large Sarah Palin

Add: 1 Greta van Susteren
1 Matt Lauer
1 Wolf Blitzer
1 Larry King

Shake really hard

Stuff with nonsense

Leave to simmer for a week

Voila!! OVERCOOKED GOOSE!!

15 11 2008
Forty Watt

@ UK Lady (13:22:48) :

Sigh!
You get Barack Obama – we got Tony Blair and now Gordon Brown🙄:mrgreen:
___________________________________

As a Scot, I feel I should personally apologize. I’m sorry. 😦

15 11 2008
CO Almost Native

Hi mudpuppies; sorry I missed Chief Shikago, but I read all the good vibes you sent him, so I’ll save mine for another day.

AKM- thanks for the You Tube link; just another indication of the transformational changes in politics due to technology. And it was good to see Obama- yes, he looks tired, but it was good to see him in contrast to Bushie II.

Marty- LOL!

Nisperos-
Your comments on health care are poignant, and reminded me of one of the commentaries I read in Newsweek- the issue that had the reporters’ “How He Did It” series. Sharon Begley (science editor) talked about all the damage that the Bush administration/Republicans did in almost eight years. A long list, to be sure- but her main point: “The truly poisonous legacy of the past eight years is one that spread to much of society and will therefore be much harder to undo: the utter contempt with which those in power viewed inconvenient facts, empiricism, and science in general.” Greenhouses gases, stem cell research, climate change, sex education, energy security, health advisory boards that said low lead levels weren’t toxic to children… the list goes on and on.

I thought about asiangrrl’s comment days ago about what is left for us to do; all of us, mudpuppies and beyond, have a lot of work to do, undoing the past eight years.

Roll up your sleeves-

15 11 2008
Forty Watt

@ Irishgirl Rosebud

How can I ever change my name, when you bestowed it on me? I will cherish it for life.

BTW, it was you, wasn’t? You have changed your name, I think. It’s charming.

15 11 2008
Bec -Yes We Did - in Illinois

Yes UK Lady – the media needs to stick a fork in her – she’s DONE

Maybe you have a Christmas Goose recipe to add to the collection?!

15 11 2008
lettersfromeurope

OH WOW, thanks for the link – I saw something in passing on italian TV tonight. He does not waste time.

Some of your comments on health care really, really shock me. Living in Germany I really have it so good! No matter if I was a student, spouse or employee I always had affordable health care. Nobody here has to worry about the routine checkups and kids go for free from checkups to medicines.

We even preferred to stay on the “public” system in which we pay more than in the private, because we believe in our system of progressive contributions (of course it has flaws too – but to worry about regular checks for the kids – NO WAY).

15 11 2008
MinNJ Moose Roadster

He is dealing with a death in the family amid all this. I admire his courage in the face of that. He’s just so eloquent and caring…I love hearing him speak with such DEPTH and complex sentences! A JOY for all of us, and a refreshing change that I truly hope for. AMEN! Sarah is so diminuitive in comparison in every way, every possible way.

15 11 2008
More Light than Heat

I’m up for a SoCal Mudstock — I’m in Palmdale. Can’t get there from here right now due to the fires, but we’re safe and sound. The Sylmar fire has jumped the 5 and is also working its way up towards Santa Clarita — still on the east side of the 14.

Weather in SoCal this time of year is so odd… normally our wind comes off the ocean. Not so with the Santa Anas. Up here in the high desert, our temps are low 70s and minimal wind. Not so “down below” where the wind comes screaming down through the passes, sucking out the humidity and raising the temps.

My thoughts are with all who are in the path or even just nervously watching.

@ ocliberal
I was wondering if you were affected by the fire(s) in Yorba Linda, Corona, Anaheim Hills. Seems these fires are taking what didn’t burn last year (or was it the year before?)… Stay safe!

15 11 2008
MinNJ Moose Roadster

*hoped* for

15 11 2008
UK Lady

Forty Watt

It’s OK Forty, I already took it out on my stepfather, a Scot, lives in Pitulie with my mum, an Irish colleen.😆

15 11 2008
Thinking Woman

Just when it seems like the world is spinning out of control, I listened to the YouTube chat. Thank God this man will will lead our country.

15 11 2008
UK Lady

Bec -Yes We Did – in Illinois (13:36:44) :

It just so happens –

Take 1 Sarah Palin

Add Six more stupid interviews

Stuff with a dozen old chestnuts

Roast roundly

Carve thickly

Voila! CHRISTMAS GOOSE!!!

15 11 2008
Grammy in PA

Every time he speaks, I want to cry; such hope and vision after eight years of darkness and despair!

15 11 2008
Thinking Woman

Yes, Grammy, it makes me want to cry too. I am so accustomed to a state of total despair, that I need to slap myself to remember that now there is hope!

15 11 2008
irina

He is tired because he actually has a plan for what to do after being elected, a plan which he knew had to get its sea legs right away, I shudder to think what would be happening now in a McInsane transition as it doesn’t seem like that ticket had thought any farther than election night . . .

Have seen some really cute pics of Obama as a child and you know, in them he seems to be a child with a sunny but steady disposition who is sure of himself in many different situations . . . lots of people change dramatically on the path to adulthood but I can see the Obama of today in those pics, that same great unaffected grin . . . i am holding an image of him as a starchild in my mind when i think of all he’s gone through recently, he is resilient and will be fine and has lots of support from family and friends
(another thing lacking in the opposition ticket !)

15 11 2008
Judy in Chicago

He didn’t say anything new. How’s he gonna do it? What has he been doing?
What did he do at the white house? He could have “let us in”. He didn’t.
The lighting was awful, and that horrid paneling behind him looked like plastic. Bad execution. Don’t get me wrong, I love the guy. But I say it as I see it.

15 11 2008
Irishgirl Rosebud.

@Forty watt,
Never change your name. It is a classic.
I changed my name last night – but it is a bit like mutton and lamb. I am no rosebud.🙂

15 11 2008
Forty Watt

Re. The son of the Manse (not a compliment in Scotland), Gordon Brown.

I know it’s not PC to stereotype people, BUT….. There’s a hand-written notice on the wall of the Fish and Chip shop in Dunfermline which simultaneously sums up everything I love about the Scots (because it’s familiar) and everything that drives me insane.

It reads: This is not McDonalds. You can’t have it your way. You’ll take it my way or you’ll not get the damn thing at all.

15 11 2008
UK Lady

Judy in Chicago

It is not yet his house to invite anyone into.

All those people losing jobs and suffering and you are worried about lighting and panelling?

*Snort*

15 11 2008
Forty Watt

The remarks re. Gordon Brown were for UK Lady–sorry you upped and disappeared.

15 11 2008
UK Lady

Forty Watt

Love the chippie sign. Did you ever try the deep fried mars bars. Never could face them myself but always wondered what they tasted like.

15 11 2008
MinNJ Moose Roadster

Forty Watt
I love it! What is the insult in son of the manse? (curious, Dad was clergy)

15 11 2008
CO Almost Native

OT-
adn’s article about Wooten having to change his job due to threats:
http://www.adn.com/troopergate/story/589916.html

My favorite line is at the end, from Her Royal Highnesses’ office: we don’t know anything about it, we don’t like to micromanage.

(Your nose is growing, Pinocchio)

15 11 2008
Forty Watt

@ UK Lady (14:05:17) :

Did you ever try the deep fried mars bars.
———————————–
I can’t bring myself to. But the first time I saw them and expressed my horror, I was told–wait for it–“but, they’re an excellent source of fat”!!

It replaced my previous story. During the Carter years, I asked a check-out clerk why tinned sardines had doubled in price. I swear, she said, “Well they are packed in oil and there’s an oil embargo.”

15 11 2008
nswfm CA

More Light than Heat (13:39:03) :

I’m up for a SoCal Mudstock — I’m in Palmdale.
_____
We need to get organized to have a post-fire meet up! When the crazy wind settles down, we should pick a safe spot and celebrate what has been accomplished, thanks to akmuckraker being a citizen who pays attention!

Any suggestions on how to organize this would be helpful!

15 11 2008
nswfm CA

Forty Watt (14:12:19) :

It replaced my previous story. During the Carter years, I asked a check-out clerk why tinned sardines had doubled in price. I swear, she said, “Well they are packed in oil and there’s an oil embargo.”
_______

That is classic! LOL

15 11 2008
CO Almost Native

Judy in Chicago (13:52:28) :

He has had many committees pouring over all of Bushie’s exec. orders, figuring out which ones/how to undo them- stem cell, environmental, you name it. He is making his selections for appointments, so they can hit the ground running Jan.5. He is pushing for some changes to the rescue plan- but only so much he can do with still -Elect. He has two reps at the economic summit in DC this weekend, as there can only be one President at a time.

His talk was to reassure- the time will come, soon, when he tells us what each of us can do to move the country forward.

15 11 2008
Scott

It feels so great to have a president (elect) that I admire and enjoy listening to. His job is going to be so incredibly difficult but there is nobody else I would feel better with than Obama. Except maybe Palin….. J/K!
Seriously, whenever Bush hit the microphone I had to turn down the volume or get a headache. Thanks Mudflats you have a fantastic blog here.

15 11 2008
CO Almost Native

Ok, anyone wanting a laugh:

Huffpo reports Joe the Plumber has signed a book deal, to be titled: Joe the Plumber- Fighting for the American Dream”.

“Everyone came at me to write a book. They had dollar signs in their eyes. ‘101 Things Joe the Plumber Knows’ or some stupid s— like that. Excuse me, I am sorry,” he said. “You know I will get behind something solid, but I won’t get behind fluff. I won’t cash in, and when people do read the book they will figure out that I didn’t cash in. At least I hope they figure that out.”

hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha……

15 11 2008
MWthatoneYesWeCan

Judy: He didn’t say anything new. How’s he gonna do it? What has he been doing?

============
I think he is staying in touch, and perhaps trying to reach out to those who couldn’t listen to him before whom (I hope) have opened their minds a bit to listen to the special man we elected. I remain ecstatic about blue America every time I think of it.

15 11 2008
UK Lady

CO Almost Native (14:21:10) :

Coming soon to a bargain bucket near you😆

15 11 2008
UK Lady

Forty Watt

Love the source of fat story! like you perhaps weren’t getting quite enough from the chips, deep fried fish in batter, white pudding and mushy peas😯

15 11 2008
Hick Town in W PA

Forty Watt (14:12:19) : When thinking of Scots egocentricity, it quickly translates to Redneck Appalachia. Our core settlement population is Scots or Scots-Irish.

15 11 2008
CO Almost Native

UK Lady (14:23:47) :

Next to the copies of SP’s autobiography:)

(clever title, anyone?)

15 11 2008
Goalie in NM

ATTN all Heather Muskrat Head Frozen-Death-Grin Wilson fans!!

She is officially closing her Washington DC office on Nov. 26th and her Albuquerque office on December 13th. Anyone living in her district that may need help working with a federal agency should contact Sen. Jeff Bingaman!

WOO HOO….

Don’t let that door hitcha in the butt, now….

Bu-bye!!

15 11 2008
Forty Watt

@ MinNJ Moose Roadster (14:07:22) :

What is the insult in son of the manse? (curious, Dad was clergy)
______________________________________

I’m not sure I can answer this well. It isn’t however any insult towards religion or clergy in general. Not at all.

I personally never heard the expression used in a derogatory way until it became attached to Gordon Brown, though it may have been. In relationship to GB it seems to refer to the fact many think he is dour, holier-than-thou, prissy–that sort of thing, which may have to do with the fact that historically Scottish Presbyterianism in SOME of its manifestations (I’m not impugning Presbies) was an austere Calvinistic religion.

15 11 2008
UK Lady

CO Almost Native (14:31:46) :

‘Tales of the Unelected’??

15 11 2008
Search the Web on Snap.com

Thanks AKM. You are wonderful.

Not much time to be here today. Wanted to comment on the great posts here.

Yes, love and prayers to President-Elect Obama for his family in their time of loss, and that they have the strength and protection of our thoughts and love–and strength to help us fulfill all of these huge tasks (the list just keeps getting longer) for the sake of our country and our tiny planet. Yes, AKM, the 21st century, it looks like we may move into it at long last!

I’m hoping that the beautiful Obama girls will get to pick their own puppy. I know allergies are a big thing to consider, but I just hope the “weight of the world” doesn’t keep them from picking their own puppy.

Tony Blair used youtube at the end of his term in office. I rather thought he at least cared about the future of the world, whether he was in politics or not–just my humble opinion. (And he is doing quite a bit now) Then we in Alaska have SWSNBLU (she who should not be looked upon)–who seems to be all about advancing herself and her own interests–otherwise she wouldn’t have done the foolish slash and burn things she did in the campaign. Now she turns around and trys to say how great she thinks our new President-Elect is. The only people she’s fooling are the people who eat the Limbaulini and those who still drink the Palinade.

15 11 2008
UK Lady

Goalie in NM (14:32:41) :

WoooHooo!! She was one of our muddpuppies real bugaboos!! Which one of us was it? He/she will be ecstatic.

15 11 2008
Forty Watt

@ Hick Town in W PA (14:29:16) :

Forty Watt (14:12:19) : When thinking of Scots egocentricity, it quickly translates to Redneck Appalachia. Our core settlement population is Scots or Scots-Irish.
________________________

Oh, I know! I’m sorry about that too. We’ve got so much to answer for.

On the plus side, there is the flush toilet, the bicycle, the telephone, and penicillin, not to mention Dolly the cloned sheep.

Naw, it’s not a fair swap.

15 11 2008
sammypunkrocker
15 11 2008
My name was changed

Someone just changed my posting name. It is not search the web, etc. I just e-mailed AKM–just so you all know –yikes!

15 11 2008
Irishgirl Rosebud.

Nite all. This is early for me.

15 11 2008
MinNJ Moose Roadster

Forty Watt
I was getting nervous! It’s always interesting to know what other country’s cultural expressions are, and I love learning was those expressions mean. I didn’t mean to put you on the spot, and thank you so much for your reply. Yes, Calvinism, so torturous. My family history is from the UK and nowhere else. My father did preach at Paisley Abbey in the ’60s, although he was Methodist. Thank you, again.

15 11 2008
My name was changed

I have to leave right now..hope you can help me/us watch our backs..someone is taking over our (or at least my) posting names. I’m sort of freaking out–am not good at this “techie” stuff. Just please keep an eye out mudpups..I guess the spam or whatever filter doesn’t catch everything!

15 11 2008
Goalie in NM

@ UK Lady,

I’m thinkin’ Marty was the big NON-Fan of HMHF-D-GWilson!!…Can’t tell you how cleansing it felt to read that in my morning paper.

15 11 2008
Goalie in NM

@My name was changed…

Tell us more. Spooked here. Are you sure? Were your cookies cleaned maybe?

Just askin’..

15 11 2008
Buddy That One

Book title ( HOT AIR FROM THE FRIGID NORTH) by sarah and the dude

15 11 2008
Hick Town in W PA

Forty Watt (14:43:06) :

@ Hick Town in W PA (14:29:16) :

Forty Watt (14:12:19) : When thinking of Scots egocentricity, it quickly translates to Redneck Appalachia. Our core settlement population is Scots or Scots-Irish.
________________________

Oh, I know! I’m sorry about that too. We’ve got so much to answer for.

On the plus side, there is the flush toilet, the bicycle, the telephone, and penicillin, not to mention Dolly the cloned sheep.

Naw, it’s not a fair swap.
*******************************
Since I am one, what could I say? I have both types: the dour, everything is forbidden Calvinist and the singing, imbibing, semi-belicose.

Don’t forget pragmatism. What else could there be with such a crazy culture.

15 11 2008
MinNJ Moose Roadster

Forty Watt
Please! Some of the laws in Scotland translated into our Constitution. (Saw that on PBS and now will be googling for a while, but be proud. We are, and I am.)

15 11 2008
CO Almost Native

UK Lady (14:35:32) :
CO Almost Native (14:31:46) :

‘Tales of the Unelected’??

Hmmm…”Tales of the Not-Quite Elected- or How I Survived the Lower 48 in Nothing but a $150,000 Wardrobe”

I’m open to improvements-her picture alone won’t put this book on the NYT Best Seller List…

15 11 2008
My name was changed

@Goalie in NM

Thanks goalie–I try not to “make” extra cookies–but I don’t know much about those things. My spouse usually handles the tech stuff. I can’t imagine AKM would do such a thing. I did e-mail he/or she. I usually post uder “End the End times”. Not that I need to keep the name forever, but I didn’t change the name for my longer post above. It just replaced it with that Search the Web on snap.com. I don’t really want AKM to think I was attempting some selling here or something. It wasn’t me. But I can’t stay on here much longer. Stuff piling up… : ) . Thanks for answering..it is kind of spooky.

15 11 2008
MonaLisa (in CT)

@CO Almost Native (14:31:46) & UK Lady (14:23:47) :

Next to the copies of SP’s autobiography:)

(clever title, anyone?)

…. My guess is it’d be a pop-up book😉

15 11 2008
UK Lady

CO Almost Native (14:56:50) :

Ok, you weren’t keen on ‘Tales of the Unelected’

how about

‘Four Drubbings and a f’off from All’

15 11 2008
CO Almost Native

Buddy That One (14:53:11) :
Book title ( HOT AIR FROM THE FRIGID NORTH) by sarah and the dude

MonaLisa (in CT) (14:58:25) :
@CO Almost Native (14:31:46) & UK Lady (14:23:47) :

Next to the copies of SP’s autobiography:)

(clever title, anyone?)

…. My guess is it’d be a pop-up book

You two win! The three of us can be their book agents, and split the profits made from the Freepers buying out the first and second-runs. First Dude and Dudette will never know- bwa ha ha ha!

15 11 2008
Road Runner

Yippeee!!! A President who speaks English.

15 11 2008
CO Almost Native

UK Lady (15:04:05) :

We’ll work the “Four Drubbings” into the subtitle…there will be enough profits for all of us:)

15 11 2008
More Light than Heat

nswfm CA (14:12:38) :
Re: SoCal Mudstock meet-up… I’ll start a thread on the Forum. No need to clutter up the blog.

15 11 2008
teri

Wow! I think I will post that on my webpage every week! I showed this to my son, he was impressed and will put it on his myspace.

@ Chief Shikago, hang in there! you are in my thoughts today. It would be nice to email you.

I have watched and there are things that actually made me lose sleep. All the interviews on Palin, happened so fast. But, it made me think. She stated that she isnt one to appoint her own family, and it didnt dawn on me till a day later… maybe she didnt “APPOINT” anyone in her family, but she did ALLOW HER HUSBAND TO WORK FROM HER OFFICE…No, she will just break our laws. hmmm, then we know alot of her interviews were just a recap of NOTHING. but, I had to remember this is what the lawyers from the Civil rights office pointed out.

ON a more positive note, It is good to know Begich ahead and it will be a long ways to Tuesday.

The president elect Obama, sure looks tired, but i was watching alot of victory songs on youtube. Their family sure is lovely!

15 11 2008
UK Lady

or

‘Vanity Unfair’

15 11 2008
SMR

@HickTown & Forty Watt —

Just came back from 4 years in Scotland and loved every minute of it. Would live there forever if I could…

@EVERYONE

Just received a great email from Mudflats, go check it out for some holiday fun, as one of the things is limited to the first 100!

15 11 2008
Windy City, aka Alien Ears

Re Barack looking tired–so many unrealistic expectations on him. Wrote a comment to my local public radio station (of which I AM a member!) where he was being criticized for appointments from previous admins., as if this indicates no change. My thinking was that he was doing this to reassure those who are concerned about his level of experience. These are smart people and they want a new direction too it would seem to me. I don’t think I am naive, but I do think we need to support them as others have been saying. It seems to me that Emmaneul was chosen to communicate that O will not be without defenses.

15 11 2008
More Light than Heat

Ok, it’s under Action & Events. Look for the “Post-Fires SoCal Mudstock Meet-up” thread. If you’re interested, speak up there. We’ll need to see where all ppl would be coming from and pick someplace fairly central to us all.

15 11 2008
austintx

Chief – you are most welcome!! …….eliminate as many negatives as possible…….the family is part of the problem-not the solution……..F!!??CK them…….

15 11 2008
Forty Watt

@ Hick Town in W PA (14:54:06)

Don’t forget pragmatism. What else could there be with such a crazy culture.
________________________________
That’s the saving grace. We are blessed with a gene for pragmatism and gardening.

@MinNJ Moose Roadster (14:56:01) :

Please! Some of the laws in Scotland translated into our Constitution. (Saw that on PBS and now will be googling for a while, but be proud. We are, and I am.)
_______________________________
Oh yes, the Scottish Enlightenment; David Hume, Adam Smith et al.; a rejection of authority which could not be justified by reason; a belief in the ability of humans to change society for the better guided only by reason. Not too shabby. On top of that, by 1750, Scotland had an estimated 75% level of literacy.

And Appalachia went for Mccain/Palin.

15 11 2008
CRFlats

Judy, I agree, it wasn’t Obama’s best. I’ll give him a by on this one. No doubt he needs some time off, he does seem to be still campaigning. I want Change! Not the same old paneling, lighting, flag draped rooms, sitting making promises. Hopefully, he will get his base team in place and get some real rest over the holidays. I look forward to what his brilliant mind will cook up, and I believe we will see new directions in all sectors. Including better communication from our President Obama.

15 11 2008
UK Lady

Windy City – take a look at this great video of Rham Emmanuel, not sure if it was taken on the sly, but it shows a great sense of humour – he takes the p*ss at Stephen Colbert, Hillary C and others

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/11/15/rahm-emanuel-roasts-steph_n_144081.html

He should be a fun one to watch.

15 11 2008
the problem child (a jerk, also)

SMR (15:11:20) :

Just received a great email from Mudflats, go check it out for some holiday fun, as one of the things is limited to the first 100!
———
So sad the Mudswap is limited to the US. And I decided not to cheat.😦 But I guess it isn’t fair to ask people to pay international postage rates. Terrific idea, though.

15 11 2008
braveny

nswfm CA (14:12:38) :

@More Light than Heat (13:39:03) :

I’m up for a SoCal Mudstock — I’m in Palmdale.
_____
We need to get organized to have a post-fire meet up! When the crazy wind settles down, we should pick a safe spot and celebrate what has been accomplished, thanks to akmuckraker being a citizen who pays attention!

Any suggestions on how to organize this would be helpful!
___________

I am in too.. San Fernando Valley. Maybe some others that have organized a meet can help us out. 🙂

15 11 2008
antsy

Wow, I’ve been busy all day and this was the first chance I had to see my president’s first youtube message. I am still pinching myself — can we really be so fortunate to finally have a great leader? Thanks for posting this AK and for the headline — “Welcome to the 21st Century.”

Hey Shikago — I am sending good wishes to you and hope better days are close. You are a great writer. Your posts are always so thoughtful and upbeat, that it is sad to hear how you and your wife suffer. Try to make your own space and don’t blame yourself for your feelings.

15 11 2008
Marty (VA) Mudstock DC Inaugural Party.. reply to mudstockdc@hotmail.com

OH MY GOD.. MY LIFE IS OFFICIALLY NOT WORTH LIVING!!!

I read earlier that my one and only, the true love of my life, the woman of my dreams, the queen to my king of hearts, the woman who makes my heart go pitter-patter, the essence of my life, Heather Muskrat Love Wilson is going away.. NOOOOOOOOOO SAY ITS NOT SO..

There is nothing left for me here.. I must go away and never return.. sigh..

15 11 2008
UK Lady

***** NEW THREAD******

15 11 2008
Marty (VA) Mudstock DC Inaugural Party.. reply to mudstockdc@hotmail.com

oh crap, someone took over my id.. hmmph.. hahaahhahahaha

15 11 2008
15 11 2008
CRFlats

Ok, at first I was disappointed by the “first chat”: flag, flag pin, leather chair, wood panelling, campaign sounding bites. Then, I guessed maybe he was reaching out to the guys who didn’t vote for him. They are used to these symbols. They are reassured by them (poor simple souls as they may be).

So, he gets a by on this one. But I’m hoping after he gets his base staff in place, and he can rest up a bit, we get the REAL CHANGE we voted for. He is brilliant, and I am ever hopeful he gets the chance to really make the differences in our lives and that of the world, we are sorely in need of.

15 11 2008
Windy City, aka Alien Ears

UK Lady–Thanks for the connection. I will take a look. Humor that is not mean-spirited has returned to the White House. Love Barack and Michelle’s gentle, loving ribbing.

15 11 2008
Chief Shikago

austintx (15:16:26) : Thx u r right about that!

15 11 2008
HamletsMill

I am so happy to see this video!

The man has my full and whole hearted support.

The economic crisis is now the First Issue on Day One on 01/20/09 with lots of fact finding and planning now every single day. This man is inheriting a catastrophe beyond words from the worst U.S. Government Administration in 232 years of our history. We have all lived through this sheer brain dead hell. Never. Never. Never. Elect deranged ideologues to power anywhere on Earth. Never! This was the lesson of Hitler too. The Neocon and Theocon “free market” sociopathic gambler dunces have taken us to the abyss.

But 63 Million Americans came through just in the nick of time.

On 01/20/09 it will take this immense level of shared effort to get our country back from these idiots that have destroyed us including the mega scum of Wall Street where ever they end up now.

The only good thing out of this is the very real possibility that the Republican Party is completely finished in this version in the nation. Totally destroyed with their hopes now in an absolutely looney deranged Joker face lipstick smeared “Hockey Mom”. Now the Democrats have to find a backbone, stop being shameless corporate whores too, learn modesty, purity, and virtue again and get to work. We deserve a better government than we have gotten from EITHER corporatist/lobbiest party in my lifetime. Judgment Day has now come upon our nation. God bless President Elect Barack Obama as he tries to guide us out of this hell into a future of sanity for our children and grandchildren most of all.

The new President of the United States is soon going to start to get back on the front page and be the lead of every new program with no distractions from the outgoing doofus for a human being and we are all going to start to feel better as intelligence kicks in.

God Bless all the beloved Mudpuppies here who came through on Election Day. I absolutely love every one of you!

15 11 2008
lock pepper in honolulu

UK Lady are you playing a joke on us? I can’t find a new thread.

By the way, I’m going back to Lock Pepper…just too attached to it!

15 11 2008
MonaLisa (in CT)

Huh… I was just about to post to the newest thread when it just… disappeared! AKM!!!! AKM!!!!

15 11 2008
Goalie in NM

@ Marty,

Never fear dear…you still have Goalie in NM….

15 11 2008
MonaLisa (in CT)

It was about Monegan… I SAW it! I really-really SAW it! 😳

15 11 2008
Goalie in NM

Guys….go to home on the link at the top…indeed a new thread is up!!

15 11 2008
SMR

@the problem child —

I know, that bit sucks. I’ve got a stack of a dozen packages that need to be mailed — 5 of them are to the UK. I wouldn’t have minded paying the extra postage, so I will exchange gifts with you in spirit, okay?

I am spiritually sending you one of those wooden moose that poo candy.

15 11 2008
shilo442

Love Our President OB more each time I see him. He is going to be so great for our nation.

15 11 2008
InJuneau aka Wrangler Tractor That One Hussein

@the problem child (a jerk, also) (15:27:04) :

You PM me your real name and address over in the Forum, and I’ll be a double Mudswap Buddy and send a set of whatever to you too. I have relatives in Canada, so I’m up to sending internationally in order to include all mudpuppies!

15 11 2008
InJuneau

Oy, I hadn’t updated my name on this computer!

@Marty (15:36:03) :

Oh no, whatever shall you do?!?😉 We won’t have the muskrat to abuse anymore…

15 11 2008
InJuneau

@Chief Shikago (15:48:09) :

Welcome back this evening. I was catching up this afternoon and was too late to send you love and hugs for your earlier post. Please know that we all are sending you love and care and prayers of whatever kind. Remember that if you don’t take care of yourself, you can’t take care of anyone else. Please get whatever help you need, and please reach out to us here if you need to do so.

By way of example, I think my MIL nearly lost her marriage by trying to take on all the care of her mother with Alzheimers and her father with diabetes and other stuff and ignoring the needs of my FIL and herself. They’ve come through it, after the passing of both her parents, but it was not easy.

15 11 2008
YukonBushGrma

The online weekly address is SUCH a good thing ……

But alas, we here in the boonies who have **dial-up** internet can only see/hear it in 1-second fits-and-starts. It takes way too long, and most of us just can’t wait — no matter how much we want to.

My message is: Give us RURAL BROADBAND INTERNET, as good as the rest of the world has! Net Neutrality too!

Barack Obama did promise it. Now we need to hold him to it. (P.S. – I voted for him, and contributed – big-time!)

16 11 2008
avahome

Thanks AKM for posting the video.

I live in rural TX and we had to switch from dial-up which was our only option available to a satellite company $59 a month for high speed internet.

It is rediculous that we cannot all have accessability to high speed internet at a reasonable cost………

16 11 2008
NIck P

this is beautiful.. wasn’t too difficult now was it!!! love obama http://www.spinwhip.com/obama🙂

16 11 2008
President Elect Obama’s First Fireside Chat. « Nuclear and Indigenous Items of Interest

[…] President Elect Obama’s First Fireside Chat. […]

16 11 2008
Judy in Chicago

UK Lady

I was talking about telling us a thought or a comment about the experience. That’s called “letting us in” . (as into his head) I don’t give a hoot about the goings on of the white house.

I am one of those out of a job.

Don’t be so quick as to SNORT at someones viewpoint. This IS a discussion.

As for the lighting, and set decoration: I am (was) an art director. It’s part of building an image, and if he’s going to sit in a poorly designed setting, it will look like someone’s basement. That’s NOT presidential. Just my view

16 11 2008
Judy in Chicago

UK Lady

I was talking about telling us a thought or a comment about the experience. That’s called “letting us in” . (as into his head) I don’t give a hoot about the goings on of the white house.

I am one of those out of a job.

Don’t be so quick as to SNORT at someones viewpoint. This IS a discussion.

As for the lighting, and set decoration: I am (was) an art director. It’s part of building an image, and if he’s going to sit in a poorly designed setting, it will look like someone’s basement. That’s NOT presidential. Just my view

16 11 2008
Judy in Chicago

Uk Lady

I wan’t talking about White House info. I was referring perhaps just a personal comment about his experience there. The phrase “let us in” refers to a persons ability to reveal something to someone else. I know it’s not his house. duh

I am an out of work art director.

The cheap “set” the video was shot in did not reflect( in my opinion,) a classy presidential surrounding. Visuals are very important in establishing image. Open any magazine, look at tv. It’s rude to SNORT.

16 11 2008
Phillies Phan

Wow…it’s him, isn’t it, LOL! We elected the president that we wanted!

What a great, fresh idea to compliment the weekly radio address on YouTube.

I know all of us “MudFlatters” are computer savvy, but I’m still amazed at how composed, cool, intelligent and presidential he looks.

About 300 posts ago, someone mentioned that he looked tired, and he really looks like he needs a nap. Well, in the transition period, there’s not much time for sleep; Clinton really screwed up his “honeymoon time”.

There’s not much “honeymoon time” for him these days, and I’ll be honest; I want Obama ready on “Day One”.

Remember, right after Reagan was inaugurated, he went back to the Oval Office and signed legislation.




