Thank You to the Anchorage Daily News.

13 11 2008

I would just like to say, “Thank you Anchorage Daily News.” Not a surprised happy thank you, not a gushy appreciative thank you, but the kind of thank you that you say to the dentist that fixes a painfully absessed tooth. Or when your neighbors with the compulsively barking dog finally move. Or the kind of thank you you silently whisper to a sleeping infant who’s been screaming for the last hour and a half.

I say this kind of thank you to the Anchorage Daily News for removing the “Sarah and Me” online photo gallery that has been plastered on the front page for way way too long. Readers were encouraged to post photos of themselves or friends with the Governor. We were treated to an endless parade of people cheek to cheek with Sarah, and leaning into the camera with big toothy smiles. Here we are at the Governor’s picnic! Here we are at Fur Rondy! Here we are at the Miners and Trappers Ball! I couldn’t believe I ran into her at the hockey game! Wow!

So it was with great joy that I noticed that, despite the fact that I still see three images of Palin on the home page of the Daily News, our newspaper at least no longer looks like a fan-zine. I’m not exactly sure when they removed the gallery. It’s kind of like having a headache for a really long time, and then suddenly realizing it’s gone, but not quite knowing when it happened.

Whenever it was…..thank you Anchorage Daily News. Thank you.

Protesters in Alaska Stand for Love, and Oppose Prop 8.

13 11 2008

It’s been a few weeks since Anchorage had a good rally.

This Saturday, Lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender (LGBT) and straight citizens will take to the streets of Anchorage and Fairbanks to protest the passage of Proposition 8, California’s anti-same sex marriage amendment, and the lack of LGBT equal rights in Alaska.

Tens of thousands of LGBT people and their allies have taken to the streets to show outrage with the outcome of California’s Proposition 8. Prop 8 is a Constitutional Amendment to prohibit same-sex marriage, taking away a right that was granted before the vote. Same-sex marriage bans also passed in Arizona and Florida. The outcome of these propositions has angered the national gay community and their supporters.

To date, more than 250,000 individuals have pledged to take part in a nationwide event to descend upon the City Halls, State Capitols and the Nation’s Capitol to make their voices heard. Signs, posters and numerous websites have already been created and the word is spreading quickly throughout the nation.  Jointheimpact.wetpaint.com lists protest locations in all 50 States and the District of Columbia.

The message is simple and profound:  Equal Rights for All.

The organizers of this nationwide event stress that these will be peaceful demonstrations. “Let’s move as one full unit, on the same day, and let’s show the United States of America that the LGBT community are also United States citizens equal in mind, body and spirit and deserving of full equality under the law.”

The Protest / Movement is scheduled to take place across the nation  on Saturday, November 15th, 2008. Those interested in attending this historic event may find their local protest location by visiting: http://jointheimpact.wetpaint.com

ANCHORAGE
Saturday, Nov. 15, 2008; at 12 p.m. Noon
550 W 7th Ave. in front of the Atwood Building

FAIRBANKS
Saturday, Nov. 15, 2008; at 9:30 a.m.
800 Cushman Street, City Hall





Mark “Stomach of Iron” Begich Speaks.

13 11 2008

begich-kos

Mark Begich made a radio appearance on the Ed Schultz show today. He sounded pretty confident, but not cocky. He’s been through this before. When he was elected Mayor of Anchorage, he won by 18 votes. So his current lead of 814 seems like a landslide! His strong showing in districts with military bases, and out in rural Alaska speak volumes, coming from areas that have traditionally gone to Stevens.

He also discussed Sarah Palin’s potential plans for the future, including either throwing her hat in the ring if Stevens wins and is booted out by the Senate, running in 2010 for the Senate seat currently held by Lisa Murkowski, or running for President in 2012. He also used the word “debacle” when describing the McCain-Palin campaign, which made me smile.

Begich picked up on Palin’s recent quote, “I am not one to appoint myself or a member of my family to take the place of any [Senate] vacancy.” As you all know by now, she couldn’t do that anyway because it’s illegal…but it was a pretty obvious jab at Senator Lisa Murkowski, who was appointed to that position by her father Frank Murkowski when he left his Senate seat to become Governor of the state. He’s the one Palin trounced in the primary when she ran for the position. She may have Murkowski #2 in her cross hairs.

Begich also mentioned that his need to keep his operation going an extra week or two, means he is still welcome donations to the campaign. So, if you want to help him keep the staff he needs to make sure that this counting process goes smoothly, and keep everyone running full steam until the vote is finalized, you can throw him a little love at www.begich.com

Donations big or small would be most appreciated, I’m sure.





I am Jealous of a 7-Year Old.

13 11 2008

I came across this story on Crooks and Liars about a 7-year old political blogger named Stanislaw Gunkel.

His first blog post reads:

Welcome to Planet Stas’! This is my blog. And my favorite thing is Lego Aquaraiders. My blog is going to be on Aquaraiders, space and all my favorite things. I am five and a half years old and I’m in Kindergarten.

Apparently, one of his “favorite things” has turned out to be politics, and specifically Barack Obama. He’s been blogging from a kid’s perspective on why he wanted adults to vote for Obama. Here are a couple of my favorites:

You should vote for Barack Obama because McCain / Palin (and Bush) want to keep the war in Iraq going and I don’t think this is a good idea. Senator McCain has supported President Bush in the war in Iraq for the whole time. This shows that McCain would not be a good President because this would give us another Bush in the White House. Instead, vote for Barack Obama because he did not support the war and he will bring our troops home.

But here’s the best one. Remember when Sarah Palin made that snarky comment about bloggers wearing pajamas and blogging in their parents’ basement? Well, maybe she has good reason to fear them, because apparently even a seven-year-old can see through her like a pane of glass.

My mom told me that I shouldn’t base my election analysis on “feelings” (I like him/her) or “beliefs” (I share his/her beliefs) but on logical arguments. She asked me to create my own rational explanations for my support of Obama. Here is one of my arguments:

McCain and Palin are not be qualified to be President / Vice President of the U.S. The President’s job is to do good for the country and the world. To do good for the country, the President must make smart decisions on important situations.

Governor Palin believes the world is 6000 years old. This is absurd. This is not a rational belief. This is a mistake. Scientists, experiments and evidence have shown this to be completely false. Therefore, she is not rational. If she is not rational, she should not be allowed to be President or Vice President.

This kid is good…so good, in fact, that he got a letter from Barack Obama!

Senator Obama’s advice to me:

“Dear Stas, Thank you for your kind words and for your support. I am impressed with your interest in politics, especially at your young age. I encourage you to visit my website kids.barackobama.com to learn more about everything we’re doing to make your family’s future even brighter.

I leave you with three bits of advice that will make your life more fulfilling: Look out for other people, even when it does not directly benefit you; strive to make a difference everywhere you go; and get back up every time you are knocked down.

Thanks again for writing to me. Seeing young people like you who care about making things better inspires me and gives me great hope about the future of our country and our world. Sincerely, Barack Obama”

*ahem* Excuse me….President Elect Obama? Um, I know you’re really busy and all… (looking at the ground) but how about an anonymous Alaskan blogger? My favorite thing is politics too. I like it so much that I don’t even have time to play with my Lego Aquaraiders. I’m a little older than 7, and not quite as adorable as that kid….but….you know….if you have time, maybe you could drop a little note to Planet Mudflats?… (hopeful smile)

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine