Palins Testify in Troopergate Probe II

24 10 2008

It’s a busy day for our would-be Vice President.

ST. LOUIS — Gov. Sarah Palin is testifying about a lingering personnel controversy that has distracted from her Republican vice presidential bid.

Alaska’s personnel board is investigating whether Palin acted improperly in the circumstances surrounding her firing of her public safety commissioner in July. The commissioner says he was dismissed for refusing to fire Palin’s former brother-in-law, a state trooper.

An Alaska legislative investigation concluded that the firing was lawful but said Palin acted unethically by trying to get her brother-in-law fired.

Palin and her husband, Todd, will give separate depositions today in Missouri. It’s her first testimony on the controversy. Her attorney, Thomas Van Flein, says she’s eager to tell her side of the story.

I wonder why, if she’s so eager to tell her side of the story, she didn’t testify for the Legislative investigation? Must have been that it was a Republican dominated, unanimous Democratic witch hunt. Nevertheless, Tim Petumenos winged his way to St. Louis to make an investigative house call to the Palins.

Before the deposition, Palin will attend a rally in southwestern Missouri.

Afterwards, Palin will drop the puck at the Blues game in St. Louis. Wasn’t she resoundingly booed for doing that in Philadelphia, even though she brought two of her daughters out on the ice as jeer-deflectors? (shakes head) Any bets?


Actions

Information

123 responses

24 10 2008
sauer kraut

The Flyers lost that game. And haven’t won since.

Instead of buying all those clothes, why didn the RNC fly her up to Alaska so that the taxpayers of the proud state don’t have to foot the bill for her petulant intransigence?

Or wasn’t her new RNC-bought silk thong being cooperative these past few days?

24 10 2008
TheraP

I think the whole explanation lies in where Sarah expects to be after this campaign. As long as she had a hope of being VP, she didn’t care about how Alaska viewed her. Now that she’s part of a clearly losing campaign, she has to face the music. And the music demands that she try and ‘splain herself.

Not lookin’ pretty, Sarah!

24 10 2008
Goalie Sanka Palin in NM

Wowie, I get home from the store and a new post!! Woo Hoo!!

24 10 2008
ira2

“Eager to tell her side of the story”… ya, I can see that. It should be interesting in a fantasy kind of – story.

24 10 2008
R

Alaska probably dosen’t want her back, they seem to be doing very well without her.

24 10 2008
ira2

TheraP (09:59:00) :

I think the whole explanation lies in where Sarah expects to be after this campaign. As long as she had a hope of being VP, she didn’t care about how Alaska viewed her. Now that she’s part of a clearly losing campaign, she has to face the music. And the music demands that she try and ’splain herself.

Not lookin’ pretty, Sarah!

Heh. Yeah. And “just lookin’ pretty” won’t work either when she gets back to where things ain’t lookin’ pretty for her. (Schadenfreude, it’s a terrible thing, but ohhhhhh so hard to resist when it comes to some people!!)

24 10 2008
SoCal Gal

This needs to be picked up by MSM…”Palin appointed friends and donors to key posts…”

Front page of the LA Times

http://www.latimes.com/news/politics/la-na-palinrecords24-2008oct24,0,6683728.story

24 10 2008
Sky Pape

Off topic, but does anyone find it ironic that Palin claims she’s a frugal shopper and then says her favorite store is a consignment shop called OUT OF THE CLOSET?

FromFaux News

24 10 2008
Carol(IL)

Totally off topic from the new post:

Has anyone else seen the segment of Obama on Ellen DeGeneres with him dancing? It’s so cute. I found it scanning through the Huffingtopn Post.

24 10 2008
Meat Notgay Hussein

Will the ‘curse of the Sarahbino’ come to St Louis?

24 10 2008
portland oregon native

Kathleen Parker, conservative columnist writes today that John was besotted by Sarah and while there was nothing untoward in the relationship she makes him feel verile and less impotent as she extols his virtues on the campaign trail.
You can read all about John McCain’s narcissism in the Washington Post.
Also it seems the story of McCain campaign worker who was allegedly robbed and assaulted by a pro Obama supporter is falling apart; starting with the fact that the ATM camera does not show her at the location of the incident at the time she alleges the assault happened. And that “B” ‘carved’ on her cheek….it is backwards and not really carved, just lightly scratched.

24 10 2008
Goalie Sanka Palin in NM

I’d love to be a fly on the wall at that deposition…I have to say that after all of her spouting off to the press about how she didn’t do anything improper when the legislative report was released (uh, how about that abuse of power thingy??) that I am quite curious as to how she performs under OATH!!

24 10 2008
Crust Scramble - SouthGA
24 10 2008
disenchanted tore

I wouldn’t wish that puck dropping on anyone! The Flyers have been cursed! Serves Ed Snider right but the Flyboys? No, they don’t deserve that bad karma.

Isn’t St. Louis the city where 100,000+ supporters gathered for Obama?

I’m glad that the duo is being deposed separately. Bet they stories don’t match.

AKM- do we have any muddies with a connection with the Alaskan airports? By what means do the Palins jet in and out of Alaska nowadays?

24 10 2008
Eyes Wide Open in Pittsburgh

My wife and I just got to shake hands with Hillary Clinton in Pittsburgh. Huge indoor croud at Pittsburgh’s new convention center. standing room only. Barack Obama is conig to Pittsburgh Monday. Palin was also here early this morning. Politicians everywhere.

24 10 2008
Jamie, Floridian in France

Ooh! Only ten in front of me? Gotta get in my name before I leave for the train station.

24 10 2008
Eyes Wide Open in Pittsburgh

McCain was also here last week.

24 10 2008
Grammy aka Commando Coalfire Palin

AKM

Wasn’t Tim Petumenos the special prosecutor in the Hohman bribery case back in the early 80’s??

24 10 2008
Forty Watt Hussein

I voted for children present and audible booing, but I hope beyond hope she won’t put Piper through this again, just as I hope that IF (not holding my breath) she donates the losing VP wardrobe to charity Piper gets to keep her new dresses.

After all that child has been put through, the Piper should be paid.

24 10 2008
BigPete

*******MINNIE THE MOOCHER*******

Palin, now pushing back on Spending Spree Gate. “We’re not like THAT….we are really really frugal!” But you are frugal (‘characterized by economy in the use of resources’). Judging by the house built ‘with a little help from your friends’ and everything we know, so far, you ARE obsessed with NOT spending.
The problem is Sarah, that you are also obsessed with spending as much as you can of other peoples’ money.

The moochers shall inherit the earth? I think not.

24 10 2008
Goalie Sanka Palin in NM

I predict Missouri goes Obama/Biden!

With those huge crowds he drew and the fact that those Missou folks LOVE the Blues! The BOO’s should be huge for Scarah!

Yup, that’s my prediction – you heard it here!!

24 10 2008
trig

Maybe even worse than the $150k worth of clothes is the $36,000 paid so far to her makeup person with TAXPAYER money. That’s right, the makeup person is the highest paid staff member on McCain’s publicly funded campaign.
http://thecaucus.blogs.nytimes.com/2008/10/24/pains-makeup-stylist-fetches-highest-salary-in-2-week-period/

24 10 2008
Bobg

I feel sorry for Levi. He made a big mistake and the whole world knows it and comments on it. He trapped forever and I’m sure that this teenager wishes that the world would leave him alone. With limited skills and immediate family responsibilities his future looks troubled. That is, unless McAged wins and Levi’s future mother-in-law makes him Secretary of State. Oh wait, that job was promised to First Dude. I asked this before; has any of the lower 48 offered Levi political asylum?

24 10 2008
shell from Ohio

off topic but have you seen the article and pics of Obama with his grandparents….i think I have a political crush…..😉

“I want to give her a kiss and a hug,” the Democratic presidential candidate told Robin Roberts in an exclusive interview for “Good Morning America” before heading for Hawaii to see his 85-year-old grandmother, Madelyn Dunham, the woman who largely raised him.

“And then we’re going to find out what chores I can do, because I’m sure there’s been some stuff that’s been left undone,” he said.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/10/24/obama-arrives-in-hawaii_n_137536.html

24 10 2008
Jamie, Floridian in France

ttp://www.startribune.com/politics/32973804.html

“Former Republican Gov. Arne Carlson endorsed Democratic presidential nominee Barack Obama on Thursday, saying Obama represented the best hope for an America facing an economic crisis …”

spurred by Bachmann remarks.

—–
There is this Republican former Gov too – and from Minn!

24 10 2008
SoCal Gal

Off Topic:
Carol(IL) (10:09:20) :
Totally off topic from the new post:
Has anyone else seen the segment of Obama on Ellen DeGeneres with him dancing? It’s so cute. I found it scanning through the Huffingtopn Post.

And more dancing / a cute video…Obama and McCain / Palin break dancing…very funny.

http://www.break.com/index/unbelievable-mccain-vs-obama-dance-off.html

24 10 2008
Tessa

Question – does anyone else wonder what they’re going to do after the election? Assuming of course, that Obama wins – otherwise I will be trying to figure out how to move somewhere where there is no Palin ever! But back to the main topic – there was a good column by Eugene Robinson in the WashPo today talking about it. How so many of us are consumed by the election and spend hours on-line searching for news, polls, etc. and then the rest of the time watching TV – Olbermann, Maddow. Even at work I spend my breaks, catching up on what I missed while working – checking this site 3 or 4 times during the day……. Just wondering??

24 10 2008
JohnW

OT, but at least not too far away from St. Louis!🙂

The local paper on Omaha is reporting that nearly 30,000 Democrats have been registered since January in district #2, so the chance of us getting our 1 electoral vote to Obama is growing!

24 10 2008
bassblue

Must we all rememeber, the money she spends on makeup is money donated by the public during tax time. I used to donate but it sounded counterproductive to give to my candidate and his/her opponent.

24 10 2008
Blue Idaho

I feel sorry for Palin’s children. When they booed (sp?) them at the last game I couldn’t stop thinking about how it affected the 7 year old. I have a daughter this age. She is pretty sensitive. Palin is a crappy mom.

24 10 2008
More Light Than Heat

The irony of the consignment shop name is delicious on several levels. I love it!

I figure the only reason SP can deny she spent $150K on clothes is that someone else was signing the receipts…. even if it wasn’t precisely $150K. Given the Seattle P-I slide show, I can understand why McCain said she needed new clothes…. Ugh! I don’t begrudge the idea that she needed to look vice-presidential and that her previous look needed a make-over, but if they were going to tout her as “every woman,” they could have done better at Macy’s. I’m not sure who actually chose the clothes, but between the stiletto heels, the red leather jacket, and the tight, short skirts, I can’t help but wonder what profession they were going for. Let alone whether that profession is consistent with her religious views….

24 10 2008
CaliKid

Hey… Question here..

Who paid for Levi Johnstons ticket to the Rethug Convention

24 10 2008
paul canning

vlad and friend boris presents ‘Song for Sarah’ for mrs. Palin

“I want to fly into your airspase!”
“I want to rear my little head!”

24 10 2008
Forty Watt Hussein

@ Bobg (10:19:03) :

I feel sorry for Levi. He made a big mistake and the whole world knows it and comments on it. He trapped forever…..

**********************************

I feel badly for both of them. Tough enough under any circumstances but who knew your girl-friend’s mum would be tapped for VP. Has to be the script from hell.

@ shell from Ohio (10:19:52) :
“And then we’re going to find out what chores I can do, because I’m sure there’s been some stuff that’s been left undone,” he said.

************************************************************
Now there’s a well-brought up young man. Democratic Family Values anyone?!

24 10 2008
whichferret

So we have the “Hockey mom” who shops “coming out of the closet”, who is hell bent on ruining NHL hockey forever? Along with taking down the Republican National Party? How much more surreal can life get?

24 10 2008
bassblue

taxpayers?

24 10 2008
Goalie Sanka Palin in NM

Maybe Sarah will get ride out on the Zamboni…to drop her, uh…Puck

24 10 2008
whichferret

And as for what I am going to do after the election, besides hopefully keep learning about Alaska, hopefully get back to my life🙂

24 10 2008
kidsquid

You Know It’s Bad When the Russians are Mocking Palin on YouTube!!!

24 10 2008
whichferret

So is it wrong that I am wondering what will happen if the younger teenager daughter gets pregnant any time soon….will Sarah suddenly get to have young Zamboni, even though she said they would not have a sixth kid?

24 10 2008
whichferret

make that teenage daughter

24 10 2008
Blue Idaho

About before and after Palin. I think she looks like a sweat lady before the makeover. She reminds me of the ladies in small town Idaho. You know how we try to look fashonable but never get it 100%. Not that I would have ever agreed with any of her views.

24 10 2008
whichferret

and yeah it probably is wrong and bad…ok I will go to time out now

24 10 2008
Regi

whichferret (10:33:30) :

So is it wrong that I am wondering what will happen if the younger teenager daughter gets pregnant any time soon….will Sarah suddenly get to have young Zamboni, even though she said they would not have a sixth kid?

All I’m saying is after watching my 17 year old sister have a baby, this little sister wasn’t having one anytime soon.

24 10 2008
whichferret

Idaho
🙂 Have known many of those in Kansas too

24 10 2008
caligrl Hussein wolves eat Palin
24 10 2008
ED

@shell
Sweet slide show. Thanks for the link.

24 10 2008
sauer kraut

She claims to be frugal?

Just because a thong has less fabric than a full set of panties doesn’t mean yer frugal, missie. It just means ya paid more to not cover yer square yard.

She wouldn’t know frugal if it came flying from a plane and hit her in the brisket.

24 10 2008
sauer kraut

Goalie Sanka – Puck is gonna be her 7th kid.

24 10 2008
rf11 in FL

ira2 (10:00:05) :

“Eager to tell her side of the story”… ya, I can see that. It should be interesting in a fantasy kind of – story.

______________________________________________________________________

Through the looking glass.

24 10 2008
Bobg

I’ve got to stop watching this election; these people are trying to make me crazy. Joe the Plumber was on the Laura Ingraham show and he said that he’s going to make a run for Congress in 2010 against a long-time Democrat. It might not be too far-fetched though. If Caribou Barbi is qualified for VP than Joe the Plumber can surely be Congressman.

24 10 2008
kidsquid

@sauer kraut (10:42:11) :
She claims to be frugal?

Just because a thong has less fabric than a full set of panties doesn’t mean yer frugal, missie. It just means ya paid more to not cover yer square yard.

She wouldn’t know frugal if it came flying from a plane and hit her in the brisket.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I think SP is frugal in a Ted Stevens kind of way. The house, the clothes, the lawyers, ya’ know what I mean?

24 10 2008
whichferret

Regi

That is good. I also know that in some families once a pattern has been started it is hard to stop it. And Bristol did not actually start this one completely. Sarah and Todd had a shotgun wedding first. They were older, but shotgun none the less. And if you see that someone else will take the responsibility for you, then maybe you will not be so careful.

Not that you specifically would do that, I mean people in general….I have a teenage son who is the biggest follower there EVER was. And trust me I worry about him all the time and whether he is going to end up like Levi. Without the money probably of course. And he will probably figure that his dad and I will want to raise the baby or something silly like that.

trust me I have been a teen and I have a teen, I know a little about their minds. Although, maybe not enough…and certainly no one knows enough about Scarah’s brain

24 10 2008
sauer kraut

Tessa – once this election is over, I am going to try to get a life. Or go back to the one I once had.

24 10 2008
Shikago aka Chief Hussein Shikago

OT, and just checking in from Chi Town. I have been side lined by a death in the family. I cast my vote yesterday at our branch of the Chicago Public Library. I had to wait too!

We can all be sssooo excited as Chicago is transforming our Grant Park into what will be a sea of supporters for the Obama/Biden rally on November 4th. The secret service is in town laying out plans that will best guard Barack. The city’s plans for the scope of the event are unprecidented.

The local media is saying over 1 million supporters, in my lifetime experience here I think it will be closer to 2 million.

Obama camp said they will cover the expenses for the rally. So pay no attention to the McCain whiners…

http://www.chicagobreakingnews.com/2008/10/obama-rally-in-grant-park-who-pays.html

Miss everyone, be back later.

24 10 2008
Jamie, Floridian in France

I think that we all are so obsessed and spend so much time here feeding each others obsession, that we are going a little nuts! At least we can all laugh like this all the time and make fun of it all. Keeps the scaries and bad thoughts away. Thanks for all the info and all the laughs. I, too, hate to disconnect and head to bed at night.

24 10 2008
rf11 in FL

Bobg (10:46:15) :

I’ve got to stop watching this election; these people are trying to make me crazy. Joe the Plumber was on the Laura Ingraham show and he said that he’s going to make a run for Congress in 2010 against a long-time Democrat. It might not be too far-fetched though. If Caribou Barbi is qualified for VP than Joe the Plumber can surely be Congressman.

_____________________________________________________________________

UGH. Can we start a campaign against electing dimwitted politicians, using President Bush as our poster boy?

24 10 2008
LaNon

Shikago aka Chief Hussein Shikago (10:47:41) :

OT, and just checking in from Chi Town. I have been side lined by a death in the family. I cast my vote yesterday at our branch of the Chicago Public Library. I had to wait too!
————————————-

I know we are all so sorry for your loss.
But glad you voted and smiles will come again on election day.
Give my best to my fav town!
Love ChiTown, hope to be there on election day.

Peace and love.

24 10 2008
rf11 in FL

Jamie, I also have a 7 year old. 🙂

24 10 2008
Jamie, Floridian in France

@whichferret (10:46:54) :

re: the girls following in each others paths – like you said it happened to the mom – preggers when married, now Bristol. We all see so clearly how she is raising those kids (there was the Track stuff too, being shipped off to Michigan then the army after unruly violent teen behavior). It would surprise me if the second one followed in her sister’s footsteps seeing how much she seems to love all the attention she is getting on stage – she must be jealous of the attention her sister got, too.

24 10 2008
rf11 in FL

Just curious – was Track involved in the school bus vandalism incident?

24 10 2008
Blue Idaho

Interesting! We wouldn’t want to ruin our immage.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/10/23/sarah-palin-on-snl-costum_n_137248.html

24 10 2008
Regi

whichferret (10:46:54) :

Regi

That is good. I also know that in some families once a pattern has been started it is hard to stop it. And Bristol did not actually start this one completely. Sarah and Todd had a shotgun wedding first. They were older, but shotgun none the less. And if you see that someone else will take the responsibility for you, then maybe you will not be so careful.

Well when you see your big sis honored at the Republican convention and getting props from Jamie Lynn Spears I guess it makes teen pregnancy look damn desireable. Hell it is damn desireable if you don’t care for education and the tax payers buy your clothes. Interesting the majority of their voters likely hate welfare.

24 10 2008
knikgoose HUSSEIN!! justaskin

I thought Palin said the clothes weren’t WORTH $150K, not that she didn’t spend it.
Course they’re not worth it. She went to Stak’s and Needless-Markup. They aren’t WORTH $150K, but that’s what the tag said.

I surely hope if Obama’s gramma rallies he can spend $150K moving her to the WH with nursing care, so she can know she’s slept at the White House.

And there won’t be any rush of Repugs moving to Canada. No guns, pro-choice, gay marriage, bars close early, polar bears and wolves protected, …def not a repugs dream home.

24 10 2008
A Nana from Alaska

Forty Watt. Awesome story (in previous thread) about your Mom.

I think maybe it’s the judge in the Stevens case that could probably use the Pepto Bismol IV drip. He’s certainly kept his cool through some bizarre situations.

Palin’s makeover artist was paid how much in the last two weeks??? And who’s the elitist?? Perhaps it will help her hold onto the puck??

How many winks will she use during the deposition?

24 10 2008
BigPete

@jamie, floridian in France

I think you are Too obsessed….if you already forgot you were supposed to ‘catch a train’……..GET A GRIP!…..C’mon!!!

24 10 2008
ds55

@ rf11 in FL (10:54:56) : //Just curious – was Track involved in the school bus vandalism incident?//

Word on the net is that Track was involved in the school bus vandalism incident, Wooten was the arresting officer thus the Palin family harassment of Wooten, and the judge gave Track a choice between jail or military.

http://whatdoino-steve.blogspot.com/2008/09/unraveling.html

24 10 2008
A Nana from Alaska

Eyes Wide Open, please keep us posted on Pittsburgh!!

24 10 2008
forest dweller

@Bob G
I heard Levi was given a job on the North Slope, as an electrician apprentice, I believe. Probably arranged by the First Dud(e).

But, for Levi’s sake, I’m glad it happened – he’ll need the $$.

24 10 2008
rf11 in FL

Thanks, ds55.

24 10 2008
Canadian Neighbour

Good Day Mudpuppies!!

Well, it even happened here. My Obama signs went AWOL.

My cousin brought rally signs back from her state side visit and left 2 in between my door as I was out shopping. I know this as she left a message on my machine as I would not have known otherwise as they have poofed away. How sad.

24 10 2008
antsy aka CommaLibertyP

Didn’t see this posted — I read somewhere that protesters will be outside the hockey game tonight handing out Neiman Marcus catalogs.

24 10 2008
clairly

fr11 in FL: Just curious – was Track involved in the school bus vandalism incident?
_______

yep

24 10 2008
Crust Scramble - SouthGA

Interview with Monegan on adn blog from the AFN convention

http://community.adn.com/adn/node/133224

24 10 2008
SoCal Gal

Off Topic…but a facinating read From HuffPo today:

Relationship Politics: Body Language Of The McCain Marriage
A Cautionary Tale For Conscious Couples, A Learning Opportunity For Us All

“Ever since we wrote our piece on the Obama marriage, people have been asking us to discuss the marriage of John and Cindy McCain. We found ourselves hesitating, because while their marriage has elements that could teach valuable lessons to us all, it is also a marriage between a recovering drug addict and a deeply traumatized veteran.”

Read rest of article:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/kathlyn-and-gay-hendricks/relationship-politics-bod_b_137042.html

24 10 2008
clairly

@ antsy:

Their famous over-the-top Christmas catalogs I hope.

24 10 2008
Crust Scramble - SouthGA

Just finished watching the Monegan interview – another classy guy!

24 10 2008
PMED8

Love the blog!

I have a friend who is supposed to video the dropping on the puck while hes at the game. If It turns out halfway decent I will post it up somewhere.

pmed8

24 10 2008
Trini

@Shikago. So sorry for your loss.

Does anyone know where I can get that donkey scarf? I really like it.

24 10 2008
Grammy aka Commando Coalfire Palin

New thread alert!

24 10 2008
SMR

Okay, before I get back to reading comments, let me comment on Out of the Closet. I like that store, shop there often-ish, about once a month. It is a pretty small store. Got some Rock & Republic jeans there last month — about $100, which is I guess about half of what they would really cost? I don’t generally shop for designer jeans (except for my daughter for her bday or other special occasion), so not sure. Anyway, if you buy something very nice there it is still expensive. They aren’t giving the stuff away! And because it is fairly small there is not a huge amount to choose from. Further, if you are trying to get duds to wear for your gov duties, you’d find it tough, lots of the stuff is pretty trendy, and of course the sizes are limited! You would have to haunt the place regularly to find great suits & business wear in your size… I’m not really sure why buying designer/trendy clothes at a consignment place instead of saying “I shop at GAP” (which is the cheaper option) is supposed to be a good thing…

24 10 2008
Bobg

I’ve been mulling oven in my mind what would happen if McAged wins the election (shudder, shudder.) first Dude will be made Secretary of Aviation since he is a pilot and knows all about aviation. He will convince Michelle Bachman, who is appointed Secretary of Defense after her disastrous defeat, to outfit a fighter jet with floats to allow him to land on the lake. The fighter jet would be outfitted with the latest weaponry to allow aerial hunting of wolves and moose and possibly polar bears. United States Attorney General Tolis Colberg will immediately bring charges against Les Gara for treason. Caribou Barbi will request that Gara be found guilty and hung by Jan. 31st. McAged will hire an official taster to taste all of his food before he eats it. McAged rearranges the furniture in the Oval Office so that Sarah can never stand behind him. McAged will insist that Caribou Barbi fly in Air Force One with him every time he flies. He will also insist that she sit next to him in the Presidential limo. On Jan. 21st a notice was posted on the door of the owners of the Mudflats website stating that they went on an extended vacation. Relatives have been unable to contact them and there are rumors that they have been taken to Egypt for questioning. On March 3rd McAged dies when he trips and falls down three steps in the White House. although Caribou Barbi was right behind him she swears that she didn’t push him. March 5th Caribou Barbi abolishes Congress and begins to Make Evangelical Christian beliefs the law of the land. On Marh 10th Caribou Barbi is overthrown in a military coup. The Military Hunta attempts to banish her to Alaska but the Alaskan governor calls up the Alaskan National Guard and sends them to the border in a tense standoff with US troops. The Governor refuses to allow Caribou Barbi back into Alaska.

24 10 2008
Vlad the I'm HUSSEIN Palin

I am sick to death of these despicable low-lifes. Jon Stewart said it best and it most accurately describes them – they are GRIFTERS. That is them to a “T”.

Definition according to the Merriam Webster Dictionary of the verb “to grift”:

Transitive verb
: to obtain (money) illicitly (as in a confidence game)

intransitive verb
: to acquire money or property illicitly

24 10 2008
HamletsMill aka Rot Pipeline Palin

Well, it is true that the Philadelphia fans are the absolutely toughest crowd out there in ANY professional sport! I once parked cars for Eagles home games and they were brutal. They would boo Jesus Christ in Person if the weather was bad!

I don’t know about St. Louis fans? Any here that can comment ? But I think they will be an easier crowd.

They will still boo her even with Baby Trig in her arms as the ONLY kid present. But it will be a bit softer boo level. That is my prediction.

But, wow, did I ever LOVE the Philadelphia Eagles movie “Invincible”!

Yes. The screenwriters pushed ever button! (Vince Papale had actually played 2 years in the defunct USFL and knew what he was doing on a football field!)

But, yeah, when he tears up that note from his ex-wife that said he would never make it any where doing anything in the locker room before taking the field, well, every guy got that emotional hit and was psyched! I’ll show that b***h!

It jacked the audience almost as good as Glenn Close killing the rabbit in “Fatal Attraction” (a movie us guys, well, uh. don’t like to discuss…)

Damn good screenwriting!

24 10 2008
Carol(IL)

SoCal Gal (10:22:04) :

Off Topic:
Carol(IL) (10:09:20) :
Totally off topic from the new post:
Has anyone else seen the segment of Obama on Ellen DeGeneres with him dancing? It’s so cute. I found it scanning through the Huffingtopn Post.

And more dancing / a cute video…Obama and McCain / Palin break dancing…very funny.

http://www.break.com/index/unbelievable-mccain-vs-obama-dance-off.html
_________________________________________

SoCal Gal:

Thanks-very funny. “I’d tap that”.

24 10 2008
Forty Watt Hussein

@ A Nana from Alaska (10:57:14) :

Forty Watt. Awesome story (in previous thread) about your Mom.

Actually Nana, it was someone else’s story. Maybe I didn’t make that clear enough. Sorry, can’t take the credit. I’m not even sure now where the link is.

24 10 2008
Carol(Chicago,IL)

Shikago-

Very sorry to hear your of your loss.
Are you in the city? I’m in Edgewater and my library polling place was hoppin’

24 10 2008
Forty Watt Hussein

Nana from Alaska:

Here is the link to the article about how to turn your red nana blue.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/ben-wyskida/red-grandma-blues-readers_b_137299.html

24 10 2008
Jamie, Floridian in France

@BigPete –

I must clarify. I didn’t have a train to catch and I didn’t forget – I had to pick my husband up at the station as he was bringing a 1940’s medical school life size torso mannequin home that he had bought in Paris. They were late arriving because the train in front of his hit something – they had to wait to see if the train had hit an animal or a person. They never said…

So NOT too obsessed!

24 10 2008
WV Democrat

@ Eyes Wide Open in Pittsburgh (10:15:01) :

You said: “My wife and I just got to shake hands with Hillary Clinton in Pittsburgh. Huge indoor croud at Pittsburgh’s new convention center. standing room only. Barack Obama is conig to Pittsburgh Monday. Palin was also here early this morning. Politicians everywhere.”

________________________________________________________________________________

If you went to the one at Consol Energy Park, I was there protesting. Yep, that was me in the Obama shirt carrying a sign…🙂

24 10 2008
knikgoose HUSSEIN!! justaskin

Jamie, Floridian in France :
Well, he can pick on me,..I AM obsessed (bcuz I have been having nightmares ever since she was picked!) and a Socialist!

SMR:
Isn’t there a Value Village in Anch anymore. I bought an Eddie Bauer down vest for $3 and some steel toed boots for $4 last time I was there,..LOL

24 10 2008
Denise ThatOneFromMSgaAZca

Hardball advertising Palin segment today. Anticipation. OOOooo maybe Chris will go off on Sarah-Lou today.

Andy Griffitth and the Fonz to come, maybe just on the “sideshow” segment.

24 10 2008
NoCalGal

@ Forty Watt Hussein (10:17:04) :

I voted for children present and audible booing, but I hope beyond hope she won’t put Piper through this again, just as I hope that IF (not holding my breath) she donates the losing VP wardrobe to charity Piper gets to keep her new dresses.

After all that child has been put through, the Piper should be paid.
*******
well… she DID get that Louis Vuitton purse…
😉

24 10 2008
gary aka khaki salmon palin

“McCain from the Drain” some new stanzas

And then he dived down
And, with news that’s called FOX
McCain from the drain
Pulled a big dripping box.
A big moldy box.
It was shut with a hook.
“Now look at this trick,”
Said McCain
“Take a look!”

Then he got up on top
With a tip of his hat.
“I call this game LIES-IN-A-BOX,”
Said McCain.
“In this box are two thugs
I will show to you now.
You can smell these two thugs,”
Said McCain with a bow.

“I will pick up the hook.
You will see something new.
Two thugs And I call them
Thug One and Thug Two.
These Thugs may just bite you.
They want to have fun.”
Then, out of the box
Came Thug Two and Thug One!
And they ran to us fast.
They said, “What will you do?
You had better shake hands
With Thug One and Thug Two!”

And Sally and I
Did not know what to do.
So we had to shake hands
With Thug One and Thug Two.
One Thug was Rush Limbaugh
Who ranted and raved.
Next came the Lieberman
Grasping power he’d craved.

They reared their two heads,
Just like Putin up north,
And we stood there aghast
As the slime tumbled forth.
We hoped they’d leave soon
Or crawl back down the drain
‘Cause they stank and they dripped
Worse than old John McCain!

24 10 2008
Denise ThatOneFromMSgaAZca

Observation on McCain

It’s hard to be Team Leader when you’ve never been a Team Member.

24 10 2008
NoCalGal

Shikago aka Chief Hussein Shikago sorry for your loss. Condolences to you and your family.

24 10 2008
NoCalGal

OMG @ antsy aka CommaLibertyP (11:02:23) :

Didn’t see this posted — I read somewhere that protesters will be outside the hockey game tonight handing out Neiman Marcus catalogs.
***
Some ppl are so darned clever!! That is funny!!

24 10 2008
Denise ThatOneFromMSgaAZca

trig (10:18:37) :

Maybe even worse than the $150k worth of clothes is the $36,000 paid so far to her makeup person with TAXPAYER money. That’s right, the makeup person is the highest paid staff member on McCain’s publicly funded campaign.
http://thecaucus.blogs.nytimes.com/2008/10/24/pains-makeup-stylist-fetches-highest-salary-in-2-week-period/
+++++++++++++++++++

LOL. Why don’t they just go ahead and shoot the porno flick and spare us the next 11 days?

Wonder what the other staffers—oh say strategists, policy advisors—think about Makeup being the highest priority? McPalin is all about the APPEARANCE rather than substance.

24 10 2008
Denise ThatOneFromMSgaAZca

Shikago aka Chief Hussein Shikago (10:47:41) :

Sorry for the loss.

24 10 2008
HamletsMill aka Rot Pipeline Palin

NoCalGal (13:10:27) :

@ Forty Watt Hussein (10:17:04) :

I voted for children present and audible booing, but I hope beyond hope she won’t put Piper through this again, just as I hope that IF (not holding my breath) she donates the losing VP wardrobe to charity Piper gets to keep her new dresses.

After all that child has been put through, the Piper should be paid.
*******
well… she DID get that Louis Vuitton purse…
😉
——————————————-
Well, OK. Piper can get to keep her dresses. I’m OK with it! And she won’t have to go out on the ice floe with Mommy after November 4th either. zShe can get her own cabin in the Alaskan woods.

As I just posted in the forum, it is perhaps going to go from “Caribou Barbie” to “Ice Floe Barbie” very fast now. (Help us God!)

The script goes like this:

She scurries and stumbles into a slush engorged crevasse.

CLOSE ON her Walmart mittened fingers grasping in the snow.

CAMERA PULLS BACK revealing the ICE ISLAND as it bobs into the current in an endless ice sea at the top of the world.

A CANOPY OF STARS shine hanging in the eternal pristine endless night.

SOUND of wolf howling

FREEZE FRAME

FADE TO BLACK

24 10 2008
thelogicalsmoker

Check out this story on the CRAZYYYY McCain supporter who made up a robbery incident to the cops…

This entire campaign…down to the supporters…is like a bad train wreck…

http://andthisismyamerica.com/2008/10/24/joe-the-plumbermeet-ashley-the-liar/

24 10 2008
HamletsMill aka Rot Pipeline Palin

WV Democrat (12:22:13) :

@ Eyes Wide Open in Pittsburgh (10:15:01) :

You said: “My wife and I just got to shake hands with Hillary Clinton in Pittsburgh. Huge indoor croud at Pittsburgh’s new convention center. standing room only. Barack Obama is conig to Pittsburgh Monday. Palin was also here early this morning. Politicians everywhere.”

________________________________________________________________________________

If you went to the one at Consol Energy Park, I was there protesting. Yep, that was me in the Obama shirt carrying a sign…🙂
——————————————-

Are you in any of this footage?

See my post on Sunday August 31st (ages ago it seems now!) here on the Mudflats in the archives on my observations from the Bob Dylan Concert at Falconi Field (now Console Energy Park) in August 2006 and the psychologically revealing footage on the sudden, crushing eruption of P-Day.

24 10 2008
SMR

Yeah, there are a couple Value Villages, but the designer duds just aren’t there! Out of the Closet has the real deal on occasion… Like Manolo Blahnik heels & stuff… The people who work there are great. It’s right next door to Nordstrom, so I seriously doubt that Bible Spice spends more there than at Nordy’s. There is no way.

24 10 2008
testerm

There was a McCain campaign spokesman on MSNBC this morning who said that there is proof that the people in Alaska think that “troopergate” is a non-story. I hope Alaskans can set the record straight and contact news outlets (MSNBC in particular) to let them know the truth.

24 10 2008
Phnxrising Hussein

testerm (14:25:31) :

There was a McCain campaign spokesman on MSNBC this morning who said that there is proof that the people in Alaska think that “troopergate” is a non-story. I hope Alaskans can set the record straight and contact news outlets (MSNBC in particular) to let them know the truth.

________________________________________________________________________

Great observation! How dare the McCain campaign claim to speak for the people of Alaska who as we all know by now are perfectly capable of speaking for themselves are most certainly know that this is an important story!

Alaskans, please write and let the MSM know how you feel!!!

24 10 2008
A Nana from Alaska

Trini, Ask SP for the scarf. She probably won’t be needing it anymore.

24 10 2008
testerm
24 10 2008
testerm

Lets vote for our right to keep the internet open. The Repugs would have things another way.
http://www.linktv.org/programs/special_moyers

24 10 2008
empish

Thanks to Mudflats and the handy dandy email list I saved a while back, it took no time at all to email about a hundred members of the MSM with my thoughts regarding the interference from the McCain Camp in both our state government and, THANKS, BUT NO THANKS, We can speak for ourselves.

24 10 2008
empish

I sure do miss that edit feature, sigh.

24 10 2008
Clare

I love reading mudflats. I’m so glad I found it. Makes me want to visit Alaska.
I really can’t understand how Palin got elected governor. She’s really whacked.

24 10 2008
derDunkelRover

Clare
I really can’t understand how Palin got elected governor. She’s really whacked.

Boy George got elected governor of my great state….you can fool some of the people all of the time, all of the people some of the time and dim-witted, Reaganite conservatives at any time.

24 10 2008
derDunkelRover

Here is a bald-faced promotion for my take on “Shoppin’-gate”
What’s driving you crazy?

Darn that ol’ “gotcha” media. What’s Sarah Saks Pack to do? She’s got to manage all this “to do” over $150,000 in clothing and accessories for her and her family at posh stores such as Nieman-Marcus and Saks Fifth Avenue, plus trips to that bargain store Macy’s. there’s more

24 10 2008
Bev

Once this election is over, the work begins. Too many problems out there – time for community organizers to get in gear, with everyone pitching in. The tsunami recession will be slamming onshore, folks will need their communities more than ever – food banks, clothing banks, even pet food banks. Health care, education, infrastructure, housing, everything will need our attention and our assistance – be it financial or “sweat equity”. And more than anything, we will need to work together and very hard to repair the psychological damage of the last 8 years – to reverse the idea that America stands only for the Christian Wealthy. . .to perhaps finally have a true national discourse on what the United States brings to the global table in the 21st century.

24 10 2008
MonaLisa(inCT)

@Bobg:

GO ON!!! It’s just gettin’ GOOD!😉

24 10 2008
katydid aka Rake Trinket Palin

Hi, Mudflats! AKM – Has anyone checked with this “Out of the Closet” to see if SP really shops there?

Agree with Bev, winning the election is the first step in a long recovery process.

Blues are losin’ 4-0 in the third period.

kd, checking in from STL

24 10 2008
SMR

Where’s the list of MSM contacts? I’d like to send off an email telling them that is definitely NOT a non-issue in my household and those of my relatives!!!!

24 10 2008
BayBprincez

Hi mudpuppies! Great way to end the day, reading the latest. As somone residing in the Mpls/St. Paul area and marched on RNC, am still stunned by the lack of national media coverage the 10,000+ protesters got at the RNC. Interesting too, that it looks like the hotels and probably Nieman Marcus profitted the most from the convention. the old “bring jobs in” (let’s see, pcking up trash, cleaning hotel rooms…) anyway, turns out that many many downtown employers had their employees stay home just to avoid the mess, alot of local restaurants etc. didn’t see any increase in proft, in fact lost because their regulars stayed away… so seeing that at least one local store–NM benefitted!
Well enough rant. If the highest paid person on the MC staff was Sarah’s make-up artist (!!!) doesn’t that just say it all? they couldn’t even teach her a few tips? “firs’ thing ah did was get rid of that make-up artist! just like the chef in Alaska. very mavericky and thrifty of me” also disagree about letting the kid keep the clothes–what kind of family values would that be????

24 10 2008
testerm

SMR, here is the media list…

http://www.fair.org/index.php?page=111

24 10 2008
LaNon

Bev (18:17:02) :

Once this election is over, the work begins.

————-
Hear, Hear. Plenty to do. Times will be tough and we may need to REMIND
the new president about what’s up, like for example: war, health, peace, food, jobs, schools and the list goes on. Like for him, the work goes on.

24 10 2008
braveny

@Tessa
for me, it will be time to sleep, clean house, get the garden ready for winter and then come back to support the new president Obama, and support the AKM and Friends who are impeaching their Gov!

25 10 2008
dsr

isn’t it getting old with mccain using “joe the plumber”. this is a guy making $40,000 a year and not a “real plumber” even though he said he’s been doing his job for 15 years. why not??? also if he runs for any politcal office i hope knows that his life will be checked out alot more than it has been now. does he really want to do that??
socialism??? ” spreading the wealth” why does everyone want help from the government when things go wrong, but not before? we just want our tax money used wisely. obama wants to take the tax break from the rich that bush gave them. so that’s “raising” taxes??? it’s not raising taxes on the middle class. a class that mccain knows nothing about. go obama!!!!

25 10 2008
Road Runner

GUYS & GALS!!!

Didn’t go through all the posts.
Now Caribou Barbie has changed the name to tasergate. Did you see the interview with Brian Williams? She changed the name. She is a fast learner, now that she is in the BIGS.
Alaskans, beware, when she returns a failure.




