Prosecution Wraps it Up in Senator Ted Stevens’ Trial

9 10 2008

The final witness for the prosecution took the stand this morning in the Ted Stevens corruption trial.  The judge allowed prosecutors to call David Anderson, welder, and nephew of former Veco CEO Bill Allen,  He supervised work on Stevens’ chalet.  Stevens is accused of accepting more than $200,000 in renovations on his Girdwood, Alaska residence from Allen, and failing to disclose it on his Senate Financial Disclosure forms.

Anderson detailed the work he and Williams did on the Stevens home, including jacking it up to add a bottom story.

“It took a couple of weeks,” Anderson said. “One of the problems with Girdwood is you got to buy your materials from Anchorage and bring your materials from anchorage. So it’s time consuming for sure.”

Anderson’s testimony delayed the defense case, meaning his lawyers won’t be able to call one of their star witnesses until Friday or later: former Secretary of State Colin Powell.

During this trial, it seems like the prosecution is doing everything possible to tick off the judge.  Sending witnesses home to Alaska without notice, withholding evidence favorable to the defense….  Alaskans have seen plenty of lawmakers get taken down by the FBI in the last two years, and we are used to  a swift kill from the feds. It’s usually clean, decisive and devastating.   We know they can do it…but this one feels different. 

A team of bloggers is there, with an interesting quirky take on all the stuff you won’t hear from the MSM, plus the ins and outs of the prosecutions’ “oops” moments throughout the trial.  Describing Allen’s welding nephew:

His Jack Nicholson baritone picked up noticeably when the prosecutor’s questions turned to the nitty gritty of construction. Everyone else in the room, on the other hand, was falling asleep, doing crossword puzzles, sneaking emails on their Blackberries.

He used terms like roust-a-bout, cribbing and skinning the walls. At one point he even told a joke, that no one else got: “We had a compactor rodeo!” he said, laughing uproariously. He’d been talking about compacting the dirt under the foundation of the garage.

Stevens’ support in Alaska is still huge, despite the first viable challenge to his seat from Democratic opponent Mark Begich.  The outcome of the election may very well hinge on the outcome of the trial.

The defense will start off with their first witness, long-time Stevens friend and supporter Senator Daniel Inouye (D) from Hawaii.

Interestingly, Cliff Groh’s blog “Alaska Political Corruption” which was also featuring blogging from the Stevens trial, and that I featured a few posts ago, has mysteriously vanished…

UPDATE: Looks like the link was bad or updated….HERE it is.  Good.


Actions

Information

99 responses

9 10 2008
upnorth minnesota aka hose Hussein hotrod

So that’s where Colin Powell is!

9 10 2008
Lulu

Off-Topic: http://www.nydailynews.com/gossip/2008/10/09/2008-10-09_sarah_palin_unappealin_to_jon_stewart.html

Jon Stewart on Sarah Palin: “[Sarah Palin] is like Jodie Foster in the movie ‘Nell,’ ” Stewart continued. “They just found her, and she was speaking her own special language…Have you noticed how [Palin’s] rallies have begun to take on the characteristics of the last days of the Weimar Republic? In Florida, she asked ‘Who is Barack Obama?’ Hey, lady, we just met YOU five f-ing weeks ago.”

9 10 2008
Lulu

Re: Cliff Groh’s blog and its disappearance: That worries me.

9 10 2008
Dust Palin

OK, no chance THIS blog will mysteriously ‘disappear’ is there?
Do you have it all backed up and ready to go from some other location? I am SURE, from all accounts, that the Palinistas are people who would dearly love to shut down dissenting voices- after all, the constitution is just in the way. They have a great example in the current republican power brokers.

Although I have not had time to reply lately I have been reading everything as fast as I can. I sense a coming thunderstorm.

9 10 2008
upnorth minnesota aka hose Hussein hotrod

Robert Kennedy, Jr. on Palin, AIP, and guilt by association.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/robert-f-kennedy-jr/alaskan-independence-part_b_133261.html

hose ‘that one’ Hussein hotrod

9 10 2008
Dust Chinstrap

Oh for pete’s sake, I misstyped my Palin name. Sorry.

9 10 2008
bPoint

In todays USAToday:

Texas roommates punished for Obama signs

AUSTIN, Texas (AP) — The University of Texas has barred two students from registering for spring classes after they refused to take down political signs from their dormitory window.
Connor Kincaid and his cousin and roommate, Blake Kincaid, said they were told by a UT staff member during an administrative hearing Wednesday to take down their signs supporting Democratic presidential candidate Barack Obama.

“This is an important free speech issue,” said Connor Kincaid, a 20-year-old junior who claimed during the administrative hearing that he saw a sign supporting Republican candidate John McCain in the window of another dorm.

The university says the dispute has nothing to do with either candidate. UT has had a policy for more than 10 years forbidding the posting of signs in dorm windows in order to control the look of the campus and avoid the appearance that the university is supporting any candidate, said Jeff Graves, an associate vice president for UT legal affairs.

He said he wasn’t aware of a prior case of a student facing an administrative hearing on the issue.

9 10 2008
Bec Hussein in Illinois

I’ll have to read more about why Colin Powell is involved in this!

Now to a little evil pleasure — I totally agree with this just posted by Kos on Daily Kos.

See, here’s the deal — we’re going to win the White House, we’re going to win big in the Senate, and we’re going to rack up big gains in the House. Republicans know this and are preparing for the worst. Now think of 2004 — we really thought Kerry was going to pull it off. Remember that? And remember how utterly devastated we were when Bush pulled it off? The pain was so much worse because we expected to win.

So with conservatives bracing for the worse, they won’t experience the kind of pain we did. Not unless we deliver a defeat even worse than their worst nightmares. And I’ll be honest with you — I want them to hurt as much as we did. I want their spirits crushed, their backs broken.
http://www.dailykos.com/

Our work is definitely NOT finished in winning this thing. We do need a crushing blow.

9 10 2008
Amused and Bewildered

I was seriously stunned (and originally thought I may had misheard) Powell’s name during a brief CNN segment.

9 10 2008
Lulu

bPoint, that is a terrible story about the censorship of the student’s sign. I thought Austin was a blue oasis in a red state!

9 10 2008
Bec Hussein in Illinois

From Talking Points Memo:

General David Petraeus, who McCain recently named as one of the three living people he’d most like to dine with, didn’t return the favor in a speech at the Heritage Foundation yesterday, saying: “I do think you have to talk to enemies.”

http://tpmelectioncentral.talkingpointsmemo.com/2008/10/mccains_hero_petraeus_i_do_thi.php

9 10 2008
DemsAreNotAfraid

I don’t think a University should be sending that message in an election year – gosh! I hope the Civil Liberties Union gets involved in that.

I adore Robert Kennedy, Jr. for being the leader in bringing up the AIP! I bet you are thrilled with that, Muckraker! Huff Post has it right in the middle of the page spread over two columns with a picture of SP that is not flattering.

Yes, I am very thrilled! Robert F. Kennedy, Jr. is amazing, and I am so grateful he is talking about this. AKM

9 10 2008
Regi

upnorth minnesota aka hose Hussein hotrod (10:36:46) :

So that’s where Colin Powell is!

This is fun ! Let’s find Cheney next🙂

9 10 2008
bPoint

McCain and Palin at a Town Hall in WI. talking about Ayers.

UPDATE: The next question came from a black McCain supporter, who reminded McCain of the candidate’s plea at the convention for his supporters to do everything possible to ensure a victory. The supporter said: “I doubt that anyone has taken, pardon me, the ass-whoopin’ I have taken for doing that.” He then implored McCain to go after Barack Obama at the next debate and asked him to raise ACORN and Reverend Wright. “I am begging you, sir,” he said, as the crowd stood and applauded.
“Yes, I’ll do that,” McCain responded, before promising to offer “a positive plan for America’s economy.”

9 10 2008
Bec Hussein in Illinois

Another tidbit for the day. Wow – this is quite a compliation of McCain’s “World of Sleaze”

LOVE to top photo of Palin perched on his shoulder!

http://talkingpointsmemo.com/news/2008/10/body_of_lies.php

9 10 2008
Ennealogic aka PumpBustHussein

Does anyone know if we should still expect a decision from the AK Supreme Court today?

9 10 2008
InJuneau aka Wrangler Tractor That One Hussein

I’m pretty sure the AKSC agreed to release a decision today, since tomorrow is the report release date… I keep refreshing the ADN’s page to see if they’ve reported it, but no dice yet.

Yes, it should be released this afternoon. AKM

9 10 2008
plaidlemur

Palin was a director of one of this guy’s PACs. Makes you wonder how against corruption she really is. My guess? Not much.

9 10 2008
Miemaw from Texas

My question also Enn.

I know there is a big time difference – but is the Alaska Supreme Court going to hand down a decision today?

If they don’t want this stuff to “influence” an election, why do they stall, and stall, and stall, to keep it from coming to trial — until it is as close as this is to election day? Palin and Stevens. Geeshhh.

Worrisome about a “disappearing” blog.

I just returned from the book store, and I bought absolutely no — none — nada —- political books. Now, I know for sure, campaign fatigue is definitely setting in.

9 10 2008
Dave

You got the wrong (or outdated) url for Alaska Political Corruption. The correct URL is http://alaskacorruption.blogspot.com/

When you go there, you get a “someone has complained about this blog” page. If you click on the arrow, it takes you to the blog.

It’s not too hard to imagine the motivation for somebody complaining about this blog.

9 10 2008
mvngfwd

Two thoughts to share-

1. Any mudflat attorneys in Austin Texas in the mode for some pro bono work for those college students?

2. Driving into enemy territory (Palm Beach County) today I did a non-scientific poll of bumperstickers. I am very happy to report that Obama won by a 4-1 margin. Now maybe the McFailin crowd is not as “proud” as we are but it is very telling nonetheless. I have also started my own “reach out and touch someone” campaign. Every time I see an Obama sticker I honk and give an “O” and then a thumbs up to the driver. It has been so fun and I have been getting great response. People smile, wave back, honk etc. I think it is like being part of the “In” crowd, like we know something they don’t. Try it…just be careful and don’t get in an accident.

3. Okay I know I said two but…..I did get one little zinger in today. This woman came up to me and said something stupid about Obama (I was next to my Obama-stickered car). And I just looked at her and asked ” Did you vote for George Bush in 2000 and 2004?”. She said “Yes” to which I responded….”Then given the current state of our economy, why should I trust your judgement this time?” and I walked away. She just stood there with nothing to say.😉

9 10 2008
Teresa

OK, I have an OT question from people in the know from Alaska.
Is the downs baby REALLY Sarah’s?
I was told Sarah’s water broke in Tex and she got on a plan to fly back home and had a lay over in Seattle. and an Alaska Airline Hostess was to have said, she didn’t look PG on her flight… what gives, anyone REALLY know for sure? … every medical professional I know says, you CAN NOT get on a plane after your water breaks!

9 10 2008
Snoskred

Guys – With a blogspot blog, it is very simple to delete it by accident. There’s a button you can press and it appears in a place it should not.

I can tell it has been deleted (vs being removed by blogspot) because it says the name is available – when they remove one for cause they keep the name for 30 days or so in case of disputes..

Hopefully the blogger will re-register it.🙂

9 10 2008
ocliberal

akm: dailykos is blogging about Steven’s trial right now.
http://www.dailykos.com/story/2008/10/9/12427/5988/406/625051

There is much discussion as to whether or not the prosecution’s errors are intentional or not.

But this is what is very interesting.

So Judge Sullivan excluded the portion of Veco’s records that reference Anderson and Williams’ work on Stevens’ home, and he will instruct the jury that the government knowingly used false evidence in its case.

I thought they were throwing evidence out because it wasn’t presented properly in discovery to the defense. But now ou have the judge saying the government knowingly used ‘false evidence’.

What the heck is going on in this trial? Something stinks worse than a cannery in August.

But now I see why Palin hedged her bets on supporting Stevens. She can’t afford to piss the big guy off, especially if he returns to the Senate and she returns to Alaska to try and salavage a once promising political career.

If this is what is happening one a federal level in the Stevens trial I just don’t hold out much hope for justice being served in Troopergate. It sounds like Alaskan republicans take care of their own at every level.

Thoughts?

9 10 2008
PDX "That One" Hussein MB

@Bec Hussein in Illinois (11:03:04) :

See, here’s the deal — we’re going to win the White House, we’re going to win big in the Senate, and we’re going to rack up big gains in the House. Republicans know this and are preparing for the worst. Now think of 2004 — we really thought Kerry was going to pull it off. Remember that? And remember how utterly devastated we were when Bush pulled it off? The pain was so much worse because we expected to win.

So with conservatives bracing for the worse, they won’t experience the kind of pain we did. Not unless we deliver a defeat even worse than their worst nightmares. And I’ll be honest with you — I want them to hurt as much as we did. I want their spirits crushed, their backs broken.
*******************

Bec, I must respectfully disagree. As I cruise on the right side of the web (out of curiosity), I am struck by the viscious, nasty tone of their conversations. On the left, I feel that the conversation is more repectful, even compassionate. I believe those are hallmarks of the left and I believe that is why, ultimately, we will prevail. If we win (and I too hope it is a decisive a**-whoopin’) I hope we can all take a deep breath, say a collective “Om….” and be gracious victors. We gain everything by being good role models and nothing by stooping to their level. We need to unite and invite the entire country to move forward with us. IMHO.

9 10 2008
Lighthouse

Mvngfrwd:

3. Okay I know I said two but…..I did get one little zinger in today. This woman came up to me and said something stupid about Obama (I was next to my Obama-stickered car). And I just looked at her and asked ” Did you vote for George Bush in 2000 and 2004?”. She said “Yes” to which I responded….”Then given the current state of our economy, why should I trust your judgement this time?” and I walked away. She just stood there with nothing to say.

Nice comeback! I know so many people who are willing to admit that George Bush needs to go, but are still supporting McCain. (what is up with that anyway?)

Have a great afternoon!

9 10 2008
disenchanted tore

mvngfwd (11:34:25) :

two thumbs up for your retort!

Teresa- heck, when you’re a maverick you can do any goshdarn thing you want😉

RE: decision I keep forgetting that there five hours separates me from AK time; I guess your afternoon will be my evening?

9 10 2008
PDX "That One" Hussein MB

@mvngfwd (11:34:25) :

” Did you vote for George Bush in 2000 and 2004?”. She said “Yes” to which I responded….”Then given the current state of our economy, why should I trust your judgement this time?” and I walked away. She just stood there with nothing to say.
*******************
Touche!

9 10 2008
disenchanted tore

Ahhh geez, make that MY time afternoon since it’s in DC! lol

Stepping away for some fresh air.

9 10 2008
InJuneau aka Wrangler Tractor That One Hussein

@disenchanted tore (11:45:47) :

Are you in the Atlantic Time Zone? If not, we’re actually prob. only 4 hours diff. from you (just saying…). Regardless, I suppose our afternoon will be your evening. The last couple of court decisions on Troopergate stuff came out after the usual end of the business day here though, so it may be well into your late evening.

9 10 2008
bPoint

An excerpt of Sarah Palin on Laura Ingrahams radio show:

“Barack Obama is so far out of mainstream America. And the policies I fear that he would support, that are so far left, that are maybe today in the campaign are packaged up to look real pretty and mainstream, they are not.”

http://www.politico.com/news/stories/1008/14429.html

No offense to Alaskans, but Sarah is really starting to piss me off. She must think Mainstream America, is a place where you go fishing.

9 10 2008
Brion in New Zealand

When i click on ‘Alaska Political Corruption’ it comes on screen with a message from Blogger indicating that ‘this blog is under investigation for terms of sevice abuse’ but it can still be accessed by using the ‘procced’ button on the right hand side of this ‘message’. The blog posts don’t appear to have been updated since Wednesday 8th October.

Fascinating reading from this part of the world!

Cheers, Brion.

9 10 2008
Crunk Petrol Palin

AKM:

I have a question. My recollection, which is often flawed, is that Branchflower was going to “present” the report to the legislature in a PUBLIC MEETING tomorrow (assuming the Court doesn’t stop the report).

Doesn’t this mean that aspects of the report will become public before the Committee votes to have the entire report released?

Are you planning on having one of your surrogates at that meeting?

9 10 2008
Divatalk Hussein

This is off topic, however I came across this ad from Obama
Who is Barack Obama?

http://link.brightcove.com/services/link/bcpid1274008686/bclid1842745270/bctid1844687171

9 10 2008
Regi

Lighthouse (11:43:56) :

Mvngfrwd:

3. Okay I know I said two but…..I did get one little zinger in today. This woman came up to me and said something stupid about Obama (I was next to my Obama-stickered car). And I just looked at her and asked ” Did you vote for George Bush in 2000 and 2004?”. She said “Yes” to which I responded….”Then given the current state of our economy, why should I trust your judgement this time?” and I walked away. She just stood there with nothing to say.

OMG ! I got an email with the sexual prowess of a Democrat male mocked as the punchline ! I sent back, Um, you want to compare Clinton and Obama to McCain and Bush???!!

9 10 2008
antsy aka CommaLibertyP

Speaking of the term Maverick. This article is pretty interesting.

http://www.nytimes.com/2008/10/05/weekinreview/05schwartz.html?ei=5070&emc=eta1

I wouldn’t think McSame/Palien would want to be associated with this family.

9 10 2008
Dust Chinstrap

Hope you are right, Snos! That would be a much better explanation.

It is sad that when something happens it is so easy to think it was yanked because of influence of a political group. Scary times.

Oh man. The Dow just closed lower than in many many years.
Nice legacy, Georgie.

9 10 2008
sosad

This is great ,, Everyone ask Mr. Kennedy to get on the news with his story .
Please Sir .. just walk in and get it on the news ..

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/robert-f-kennedy-jr/alaskan-independence-part_b_133261.html

9 10 2008
Augie

This would be a lot funnier if it wasn’t so accurate!

http://www.truthdig.com/cartoon/item/20081009_kill_the_media/

9 10 2008
Let'sGetReal for "That One"

I’m changing the end name again. I didn’t like my “Palin” name…it made me feel like a Harlot!

9 10 2008
rpahk

PDX @11:43:48
I have also visited the hard right side of the internet on occasion by inadvertently clicking on links to right wing publications. Why we see there is frightening and nothing less than a resurrection of the KKK and McCarthyism. Palin in and of herself is nothing but the crackpots she is inspiring to come out from the shadows are truly scary. There is a hard right underground (the vast conspiracy Hillary referred to?) and they will be ruthless in getting Palin in the VP slot. They don’t care about McC as he has 1 foot in the grave; they want Palin as POTUS to pick the next 3-4 SCOTUS justices to set the country on the road to a christian theocracy.

There was a good video of HuffPo a few days ago about “the Palin Nation” depicting a Palin rally I think after the VP debate. The crowd was fired up and would have attacked Obama physically I’m sure if he had walked into the arena.

With Repub party hacks installed at all levels of the Fed govt including the DOJ, Obama may be the last chance we have to clean the place up. Another 4 years of Repubs with Palin as POTUS will be a terrible outcome. I’m 56 YO and would not live long enough to see a liberal and compasionate country again and I feel terrible about the country our 15 YO son will inherit.

9 10 2008
DemsAreNotAfraid

Joe Biden is giving an awesome speech right now in Liberty, Missouri.

He just quoted Bob Casey (also from hardscrabble Scranton, Penn) who said:

“You can’t be a maverick if all you are is a sidekick.”

Thunderous Applause for that one!🙂

And about SP’s view of Global Warming, he just quoted his 10-year-old granddaughter who said “Whoa, Pop.”

*lol*

Now he’s saying that John McCain hasn’t “seen the light,” but he sees the Presidency receding from his grasp.

9 10 2008
"That One!" aka Dal

To: mvngfwd

I love your line….asked ” Did you vote for George Bush in 2000 and 2004?”. She said “Yes” to which I responded….”Then given the current state of our economy, why should I trust your judgement this time?” and I walked away.

I am touched!

You need to see this:

9 10 2008
Marty Hussein That One Voter Idiot Hater

Lulu.. I think you pointed out a very good question.

Why isn’t anyone asking Sarah Palin to tell us who SHE is..?? We clearly know nothing about her, although we know enough to already not like, trust or believe her.

1.. Wolf Killer (public knowledge)
2.. $25k Gift Taker (washington post story)
3.. Pipeline Liar (she claims credit for an 30 year project that’s not even started)
4.. Potential Adulterer
5.. AIP member
6.. Wasilla budget killer (arrived to a balanced budget, left to one in terrible shape) (she spent $50,000 on her Wasilla office… HOW?)
7.. Witchcraft believer
8.. Hypocrite.
9.. Horrible mother
10.. Racist

There are lots more.. Add to my list!

But until the end of August, Palin was stashed away in Alaska, and only because of all the work Mudflats does, would probably be getting away with it..

9 10 2008
Cassie Jeep Pike Palin (Wish I were Trout)

Just read on DRUDGE ( as close as I’ll ever go to the far right)…..

Obama just bought 30 min on CBS and is negotiating with other networks!

Keep you posted😉

9 10 2008
Hope

We’re always hearing during the debates that “this is one place where we really do see things differently.” I am finally seeing people in the media pointing out the biggest difference between the two sets of candidates. Whereas Mc is always talking about “reaching across the isle,” (presumably to grab somebody and try to pull them across to the “good” side?) Obama’s main thing from as far back in his life as we can reach is to reach out to ALL Americans and non-Americans and get everyone working together, supporting each other, respecting each other, and working together to make things work for everyone!

And he continues that in the teeth of Mc’s campaign to actively pound burning wedges of hatred, anger and fear into ANY and ALL gaps they can find between groups of Americans to separate us and widen those gaps. Gee! I hope he doesn’t “reach across the isle” and pull ME over there! HELP!

HOPE! That One Hussein GOBAMA!

9 10 2008
"That One!" aka Dal

Cassie Jeep Pike Palin (Wish I were Trout), do you anybody watching Fox for us, I can’t stand them we need someone watching them for us…yo must know what your enrmies are saying about you!

9 10 2008
Marty Hussein That One Voter Idiot Hater

yikes..

9 10 2008
ocliberal

bPoint (11:53:19) :

An excerpt of Sarah Palin on Laura Ingrahams radio show:

“Barack Obama is so far out of mainstream America. And the policies I fear that he would support, that are so far left, that are maybe today in the campaign are packaged up to look real pretty and mainstream, they are not.”
—————————————————
Gee Willikers: Barack Obama is not radical left at all! If anything he errs on the right side of moderate liberal with his conservative fiscal policies and his strong defense positions.

And apparently he is must appear ‘mainstream’ to someone out there because 52% say they are going to vote for him. That sounds pretty mainstream to me.

The problem is, Sarah Palin, is so far right, that she can’t even relate to the moderate conservatives of her OWN party.

But what I find most disingenuous about her statement is the fact, that I would bet Sarah Palin couldn’t tell you ONE position that Barack Obama holds on anything! In fact I will amend my statement to say I bet Sarah Palin couldn’t tell you ONE position that John McCain holds on anything! (Unless she is reading it off a teleprompter of course)

9 10 2008
scaredinfairbanks

You can still et to Cliff Groh’s blog, Alaska Political Corruption here http://alaskacorruption.blogspot.com/
Just click on Proceed

9 10 2008
scaredinfairbanks

I posted this earlier but my post seemed to get lost. You can still get to Cliff Groh’s blog, Alaska Political Corruption buy going to [http://alaskacorruption.blogspot.com/] then click on Proceed

9 10 2008
Lulu

Hi, Marty.

To add to your list:

11) Hypocritical “Christian.”

9 10 2008
Dust Chinstrap

Why is there a “possible violation of terms of service” notice on Cliff’s blog? If anybody complains about a blog is this what happens until Blogspot looks into it? I mean, if I was a person who wanted to harass a blog could I just complain about it to Blogspot and they would put up that sign until they looked into it?

I am all confused now.

9 10 2008
mvngfwd

@Regi- Exactly!!! I will take Clinton and Obama (drooling now) any day over THOSE TWO. I actually mentioned to my hubby that I thought Cindy was jealous and had a private thing for Obama. I mean, who wouldn’t?

9 10 2008
Let'sGetReal for "That One"

GREAT INFORMATION: If anyone wants to volunteer as a poll worker, you can go to this website and sign up. It will also take you to the county’s election official’s website of your choice, where you can apply to work on election day as well.

http://act.credoaction.com/pollworkers/index.html?rc=lc

This is another way we can make sure this election is not stolen.

9 10 2008
Quarter Granite Palin

My comments never get posted here, no matter how many times I hit the submit comment button. It’s frustrating, but like the Little Engine That Thought He Could I keep trying. I keep trying.

Here’s piece by Garrison Keillor that caught my eye. Enjoy.

http://theragblog.blogspot.com/2008/10/garrison-keillor-juicing-up-ticket-with.html

9 10 2008
reveur1147 "That One" aka Crop Schooner Hussein Palin

Off Topic: Found a great blog that my fellow Mudpuppies surely will like checking out ! Sorry, AK, I do not know how to post a link here. The site address is http://thebellman.blogspot.com/ There is a great post there about “that one” and other Palinism and Mcshame-isms. Enjoy !

9 10 2008
Let'sGetReal for "That One"

mvngfwd (12:42:20) :

@Regi- Exactly!!! I will take Clinton and Obama (drooling now) any day over THOSE TWO. I actually mentioned to my hubby that I thought Cindy was jealous and had a private thing for Obama. I mean, who wouldn’t?

LMAO! My family and boyfriend often teese me, about having a thing for Obama! Everything just stop when he is on TV, and everyone has to be quiet and not talk to me.

I like Michelle Obama as well, so my thoughts are nice ones!

9 10 2008
Regi

mvngfwd (12:42:20) :

@Regi- Exactly!!! I will take Clinton and Obama (drooling now) any day over THOSE TWO. I actually mentioned to my hubby that I thought Cindy was jealous and had a private thing for Obama. I mean, who wouldn’t?

My husband is a saint. I drool over any cerebral nerd with a cute bod. I may need to swap out my Jon Stewart poster for Obama soon though. I’m so glad we get Stewart, Colbert, Maher, Obama, need I go on? And my hubby is a cute, funny, Democrat too, life is good:)

9 10 2008
JJB

Supreme Court refuses to block Troopergate inquiry🙂🙂

9 10 2008
Regi

Did I find this here? This is unbelievable !

9 10 2008
Cassie Jeep Pike Palin (Wish I were Trout)

“That One!” aka Dal (12:19:15) :

Cassie Jeep Pike Palin (Wish I were Trout), do you anybody watching Fox
*******************************************************************************

Sorry for the delay–I go to check on my 86 year old neighbor every day around this time!

I simply can’t watch FOX NEWS–I rely on Newshounds to pre-digest it for me.

http://www.newshounds.us/

9 10 2008
Michele

Is there an ETA on the Supreme Court decision?

9 10 2008
Cassie Jeep Pike Palin (Wish I were Trout)

JB (12:53:48) :

Supreme Court refuses to block Troopergate inquiry🙂🙂
******************************************************************

Yeah! Hope there’s something to it, now! …and the wheels on the bus go round and round…..

9 10 2008
phoebe

I live in California & just got my official ballot today. I’ve voted all my life, but this ballot’s different……it looks like my ticket to freedom. Robert Kennedy picking up the AIP story today & every on Huffington about McCain & Palin is negative. Could there be light at the end of the tunnel? Even the vets don’t support him.

9 10 2008
kruseski

Alaska Supreme Court dismisses GOP bid to kill Trooper-Gate investigation.
YEA!!!

Palin will be skinned alive and/or field dressed for the entire country to see.

9 10 2008
PJ

Yay for the Supreme Court!!!!

9 10 2008
Cassie Jeep Pike Palin (Wish I were Trout)

Where is the AK Supreme Court ruling being reported?

9 10 2008
UK lady turning turtle Palinps

I am all agog! dying for all the details to come out that McPalin were so desperate to avoid.

9 10 2008
MJC
9 10 2008
Cassie Jeep Pike Palin (Wish I were Trout)

….nevermind—got it ADN.

9 10 2008
"That One!" aka Dal

Cassie Jeep Pike Palin (Wish I were Trout), that you for making my day!

“Supreme Court refuses to block Troopergate inquiry “–> these words are like music in my ears!

9 10 2008
Crust Scramble - SouthGA
9 10 2008
Cassie Jeep Pike Palin (Wish I were Trout)

Sounds like Todd is going on CNN right now—may be an older interview.

9 10 2008
UK lady turning turtle Palinps

I can’t have been the only one multi-tasking when the debate was on (2am my time, I’m obsessed), my stomach churned when McCain pointed and said ‘that one’ at the same time as my brain said ‘YAY he’s just torpedoed his stupid self!

9 10 2008
Crust Scramble - SouthGA

Wow, and all those fax numbers. So, is Scott Hoyt in Texas part of the James Dobson group?

9 10 2008
Halcrow

Hiram S Sutco iii, of Liberty Legal institute.

Anyone want to sing a few bars of Mack the Knife?

“Oh, the shark has pretty teeth dear
And he shows em, pearly white
Just a jack knife has macheath dear
And he keeps it way out of sight”

http://www.skillsforlifevmc.com/vector-hiram-sasser.htm
Vector Marketing Success Story:
Hiram Sasser
No matter what field you wind up in, the skills you gain selling CUTCO will be an asset. In fact, attorney Hiram Sasser, Director of Litigation for Liberty Legal Institute, found that he has directly applied his Vector experience to his legal work today.

“Looking back I see how universal the principles I learned with Vector are. They teach you law in law school, not how to be a lawyer. I learned to be a lawyer selling CUTCO,” Hiram said

Hiram said being a lawyer requires the communication skills he learned with Vector Marketing during his college years in the mid 1990s. In fact, he compared the courtroom to selling CUTCO in the home.

First a lawyer presents a case much like a rep presents CUTCO knives. Then a lawyer must quickly answer questions from experts as a rep similarly handles objections. Finally, a lawyer convinces judges and juries to rule in favor of their client which is not unlike a rep closing a sale.

What’s more, Hiram is comfortable and can make his point talking to anyone, from a potential client to a government official. He learned this skill selling CUTCO to people he’d never met before.

Hiram believes the communication skills he learned selling CUTCO can help in any career and plans to have his son work for Vector regardless of career choice. “The skills you learn with Vector are portable for whatever area you go into.”

9 10 2008
Halcrow

Ooops Hiram S Sasser III, of Liberty Legal institute.

9 10 2008
MJC

O.K., So my guess is we should expect more Neurotic and Erratic behavior, and full force attacks on Obama coming out of the McCain camp by tomorrow to try and DEFLECT the results of the Troopergate Investigation.

9 10 2008
Ennealogic aka PumpBustHussein

It looks like the link to Groh’s blog in the blogroll list is different from the link that sorta works after you click Continue.

One is alaskapoliticalcorruption.blogspot, and the other is alaskacorruption.blogspot.

9 10 2008
Cassie Jeep Pike Palin (Wish I were Trout)

Halcrow (13:11:29) : That is waaaaaay too funny!

9 10 2008
UK lady turning turtle Palinps

They won’t be able to deflect – too juicy for MSM to ignore.

9 10 2008
MJC

Keating to McCain in 1986: ‘I’m yours til death do us part.’»

http://thinkprogress.org/2008/10/09/mccain-keating-letter/

** This looks mighty interesting!

9 10 2008
Ennealogic aka PumpBustHussein

Yay for the AK Supreme Court!

9 10 2008
raingods

I’m glad to see the AK SUpreme Court is above politics. Now let’s get that report out!

9 10 2008
UK lady turning turtle Palinps

MJC (13:19:14) :

Keating to McCain in 1986: ‘I’m yours til death do us part.’»

HHHHhhhhhhhmmmmmmm??!!

9 10 2008
MJC

Petraeus: “I Do Think You Have To Talk To Enemies” (VIDEO)

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/10/09/petraeus-i-do-think-you-h_n_133372.html

9 10 2008
Halcrow

Cassie Jeep Pike Palin (Wish I were Trout) (13:17:48) :

Halcrow (13:11:29) : That is waaaaaay too funny!

When the gloves come off, and McCain & Palin face off and each tries to apportion the blame on the other, and then their staffs get involved and start knifing each other in the back, I’ll just bet that Hiram wishes that he still had the commissioned distributorship for CUTCO knives.

9 10 2008
Chin Trout Hussein (NJ)

OT but I have to vent. I’m so frustrated– called my mother in Fl today– I know better than to bring the election up– but she did– said she doesn’t know who to vote for– doesn’t like Obama, doesn’t like Palin. Said she’s afraid if Obama gets in he’ll “bring in the terrorists”!!! I started to talk and she cut me off and said she knows I don’t agree so we should change the subject! UGH!!!

On a lighter note, my 12 yr old participated in a mock election today and voted Obama– curious as to her thoughts, I asked what she didn’t like about McCain- she said he can’t use a computer and everyone learns that in elem school. I reminded her that there were no computers back then for him to learn on and she said well, Grandma took the time to learn!

Thanks for listening. And thanks for giving us a place to chat, AKM.

Oboma/Biden ’08

9 10 2008
disenchanted tore

InJuneau- oops, wrong again . Make that a 4 hour difference (I’m in Eastern daylight time).

But I gotta tell ya, When I’m waiting for mudflats to roll outta bed in his/her AM, it seems like a 10 hour difference! lol😉

And the AK Supreme Court got it right. Ummm, does Branchflower have protection?

9 10 2008
Bec Hussein in Illinois

So great to see those Texas legal asses kicked-to the curb by the Supreme Court! Bye Bye

9 10 2008
Halcrow

Hiran Sasser, in 2004

http://www.dailykos.com/story/2004/11/18/19929/639

‘Cross-Dressing’ Out, Camouflage In

…”The cross-dressing tradition began some years back as a kind of Sadie Hawkins Day where girls ask boys to go out on dates.

TWIRP stands for “The Woman Is Requested To Pay.”…

…””It is outrageous that a school in a small town in east Texas would encourage their 4-year-olds to be cross-dressers,” institute litigation director Hiram Sasser said…”

9 10 2008
Bob AKA Tristan57 on DKos

how do ya get in touch with those in power here??? I guess ya gotta shout it out!

Would someone in their everluvin mind pleeeze frikkin puleeeeze investigate Howdy Investments and Construction?!?!?!? Apparently this is the consortium of “friends” that helped Todd build that damn house on that dead frikken lake. Who woulda ever thunk there was a dead lake in Alaska???

But anyfrikkenhow, back to the topic, WHO BUILT THAT DAMN HOUSE?

9 10 2008
TheraP

See link below for my post on the comparison between Palin’s “obsession” in Troopergate and her current “obsession” with Obama:

http://tpmcafe.talkingpointsmemo.com/talk/2008/10/youd-call-that-an-obsession.php

9 10 2008
Khaki Salmon
9 10 2008
dee
9 10 2008
RoboXpress.com | PTCL introducing new IT software to facilitate customers

[…] Prosecution Wraps it Up in Senator Ted Stevens’ Trial […]

9 10 2008
Jingo Killah

Vote for Mudflats! The Blogger’s Choice Awards is gathering votes for, amongst other things, Best Political Blog. Mudflats is nominated, but needs your support – if you have a moment, go sign up, and find this page and give Mudflats your vote!

10 10 2008
SC Strike Chipper Hussein

Chin Trout, tell your daughter she’s right. My dad is 86 and he is quite good with the computer; he availed himself of the local community college to learn what he needed to, some years ago. He emails, plays games, can even do some programming. He is also a wartime Navy veteran, but didn’t have the benefit of a college education. Just an actual interest in learning…




