Alaska Republicans vs. Gandhi

3 10 2008

“First they ignore you, then they mock you, then they fight you. Then you win.” So said, Mahatma Gandhi. How can it not make a person chuckle when the McCain-Palin crew makes you think of Gandhi?

There’s no doubt that the Alaska Republican Party is not amused by the massive anti-Palin rallies that have been taking place here in the great city of Anchorage. The “Hold Palin Accountable” rally, which drew a crowd of about 1800 was the largest in Alaska history. It broke the record set two weeks earlier by 1500 who assembled at the “Alaska Women Reject Palin” rally. What was the third biggest? No one even remembers.

And then there was the delivery of the petition to remove Attorney General Talis Colberg from office for telling state employees to ignore subpoenas, and furthering the stonewalling of the ethics investigation known as “Troopergate” which looks into Palin’s alleged abuse of power.

They ignored the first rally, but they couldn’t ignore the second one, or the petition, which garnered much more media attention.

The second rally was dismissed by McCain-Palin as being a “pro Obama rally and nothing more,” or so said Meg Stapleton. Stapleton, Palin’s mouthpiece, and member of the “Truth Squad” was the subject of several of the scathing signs present at last week’s rally. She is now reviled by many Alaskans for slandering respected public figures who have dared to speak truth to power regarding Palin’s ethics investigation.

So, (counting on fingers)…that’s ignoring, and then mocking….what’s next? Ah…now they fight you.

Well guess what landed in my inbox last night? A plea from the Alaska Republican party! Please enjoy the email in its entirety:

****************************************************************

Alaskans Call to Action

3 Ways to Show Your Support for Governor Palin!

Thank you for supporting the McCain-Palin ticket. Right now, we are calling upon all Alaskans to help in three simple ways.

  • 1. Sign our petition in support of Governor Palin. Barack Obama‘s operatives have attempted to smear and politically damage our Governor. Please print, sign and fax in the petition below to show your support. We need as many signatures as possible to put a stop to this politically motivated injustice.
  • 2. Join us for a McCain-Palin Victory 2008 vice presidential “debate watching” party at our Alaska Headquarters tonight, October 2nd, as Governor Palin and Senator Biden debate in St. Louis! The debate starts at 5:00 PM, so the party will start at 4:30 PM at our Anchorage Headquarters (307 East Northern Lights Blvd.). Don’t miss this important and historic opportunity to show your support for our Governor!
  • 3. Join us for a McCain-Palin Victory 2008 rally to “Support Governor Palin” this Saturday, October 4th! It will take place at the Anchorage Christian School Gymnasium (6401 E. Northern Lights Blvd, at the corner of Northern Lights and Baxter Rd) at 1:00 PM. All are encouraged to attend.

This is your call to action, and please forward it to friends. Please help us show Alaska’s support for Governor Palin to the nation and world. Thank you.

Petition in Support of Governor Palin:

Please print, sign, and fax to the Alaska Republican Party at (907)276-0425.

We the undersigned voters of Alaska, herby [sic] call for an immediate end to the Obama operative led inquiry in the Alaska Legislature, whose sole purpose has been to smear and politically damage Governor Sarah Palin. The Legislative Council’s Walt Monegan investigation has been hijacked by Obama supporters and as a result no longer has the support of its own committee. We urge our elected officials to stand up and put an immediate end to this political circus that is wasting countless taxpayer dollars and tarnishing the fair reputation of the great state of Alaska.

Print Name: ______________________

Signed:__________________________

No fax machine? You can also drop off your signed petition at one of the following places:

McCain-Palin/Victory 2008 Alaska Headquarters
307 East Northern Lights Blvd.
Anchorage, AK 99503

Alaska Republican Party Headquarters
1001 West Fireweed Lane
Anchorage, Alaska 99503

************************************************************************

I just can’t stop smiling. I’m not sure how many people will show up at the Anchorage Christian School Gymnasium for the Pro-Palin rally, or why they have scheduled it at exactly the same time and day as the Alaska statewide Obama rally, which may break a record again. I also don’t know where these petitions are going to end up, or what they are actuallly asking for. But I am proud of them for providing the high-tech “fax it in” option for those who can’t drive to the Republican Party headquarters to submit them in person. Soon they will have mastered the spell check on their email, and it surely can’t be much longer after that before they master the free online petition.

And as for “tarnishing the reputation of the great state of Alaska”? I think Alaska politicians are doing a fine job of that without the help of “Obama operatives”. I wonder what conservative Republican Wasilla resident and State Senate President Lyda Green will think when she finds out she is an Obama operative? How about right wing radio pundit and columnist Dan Fagan? I wouldn’t want to be in THAT room!

OK….(fingers again)….that’s ignore, mock, fight… There’s only one left.


Actions

Information

117 responses

3 10 2008
laura lee

Here’s some truth on the Wall Street Journal today about SP’s assets.

http://blogs.wsj.com/wallet/2008/10/03/sarah-palin-millionaire/

The sum of 1.2 million although they quote at the end of the article that she does have five children to feed. Uh, hellooooo! The State of Alaska feeds them off her per diem! I’d say my family assets are about 10% of hers….Average American my @ss!!!!!!!!!!

3 10 2008
disgustedfemale

I know which finger I would have left …

3 10 2008
laymond

I am so glad Alaska has Palin, maybe now people will get off our butt here in Texas for producing that thing in the white house now.

3 10 2008
JudiB AKA Stepper Choke

Me thinks they protest too much! How interesting and how many folks
turned up at the GOP Watch Party. Anyone know? The drama is wonderful.

BTW, did not get any reponses back from my emails. Maybe they all gave up or the inboxes are too full.

This is usually how it goes…. 1. An item is on Mudflats 2. A day or two later it shows up on Huffingtonpost 3. Three or four days later it shows up on CNN home page and then in the NY Times.. Keep it up, Mudpuppies!

3 10 2008
obama4president-now

Here’s another way for all of you “Obama Operatives” to send a message… I posted earlier on the Forum under Action Alerts, hoping this might give the idea even more exposure…

Wish Barack and Michelle Obama “Happy Anniversery” with a $16 Donation

Today (10/03) is Barack and Michelle Obama’s 16th wedding anniversary! Last night Joe Biden gave the Obama’s the best anniversary gift he could by delivering the most eloquent, intelligent, straight forward VP debate in history. The rest of us can now offer the Obama’s an awesome anniversary gift, too. If everyone reading this will send a $16.00 donation to the Obama campaign, it will show our nation and the world how much we look up to this couple as a role model for what a great marriage can be. Please pass this message on to all of your friends and let’s strive to make today a record breaking day for contributions to the campaign, $16.00 at a time, in honor of Barack and Michelle!

3 10 2008
Proud Community OrganizerWA

I am just surprised they did not blame Senator Obama for Global Warming! Other than that, standard Repuglican practices.

Winning is not an option! Though I am sure we will here much more Whining.

3 10 2008
judi

I will be so glad when she is back in Alaska…I do feel sorry for you folks though. I would be surprised, however, if she remains governor–not with such a wonderful team lead by the great AKM. Imagine not having to hear that shrill, whiney voice screeching; “Joe 6 Pack”, “Hockey Mom”, “NucUlar” , “Bridge to Nowhere”, “Thanks, but No Thanks”, “Maverick” ..Imagine, just imagine!

3 10 2008
Proud Community OrganizerWA

Oh and I guess I must be an Obama operative. LOL Grabbing my trench coat and fedora to hit those mean streets of this campaign.

3 10 2008
Anonymous

CNN News just said Palin Last 2 yrs tax returns have been released

3 10 2008
Deuce2 aka: AXE DIESEL

http://jockoftherock.blogspot.com/2007_08_01_archive.html

I hope this posts. I have tried to post for the past two days and
for some reason I can’t. AKM, I saved this link the day I searched
for Palin and found your site. I just found it and wanted to share it
with you and all mudpuppies. It disappeared the day after I found it
and I hope you enjoy. Sorry I am off topic, but I wanted to share this
with you. I am certain that you Alaskans have seen it before. Take care.

3 10 2008
Regi

laymond (12:53:08) :

I am so glad Alaska has Palin, maybe now people will get off our butt here in Texas for producing that thing in the white house now.

You didn’t ! He’s North Eastern blueblood born, bred and educated ! I don’t get why Texans even relate to Bush so well other than his address.

3 10 2008
Regi

Anonymous (13:01:02) :

CNN News just said Palin Last 2 yrs tax returns have been released

Sure @@ now that she’ll never get near the press again. They’re so mean to po’ lil’ Sawah, won’t even let her just rant against Barak and expect her to show some intelligence.

3 10 2008
Ennealogic

Another brilliant post, Mudflats!

And I just watched the entire debate again (but not drinking as much as last night) and all I have to say is Ms. Palin is an empty shell, an empty suit, a pathetic excuse for a public servant… lots of words, no plans, lots of lies, no decency…

Joe Biden was super. I can’t come up with enough superlatives and I feel so very proud that he is the VP pick for Obama. I’m volunteering to help out at our local town’s Obama office from now til the election, in fact, as a result of the buoyancy I feel after seeing the debate last night.

As for the October 4 rally — will someone be able to report back and say how many showed up, without being mistakenly counted as a Palin supporter??? 🙂

3 10 2008
Earmark Ulu Palin

Cool, we’ve now been promoted to “Operatives.” I refuse to cease and desist until they recognize us as “Arctic Ninjas”!

3 10 2008
Cassie Jeep Pike Palin (Wish I were Trout)

AKM

In the tradition of the best of humankind, you Alaskans are indeed changing the world.

It is so compelling to read your observations, contribute to the effort a little here and there, and then just watch the pieces fall into their proper places.

I can’t wait to see what happens next…it’s like the dance of the seven veils! Which veil are we on now?

3 10 2008
Divatalk

Alright Alaska,
Looking forward to see the huge turnout. You know we will rest of us will be there in spirit.

3 10 2008
Democrat G (formerly "G")

All I can say is – DESPERATE! They lie about everything else and now want to have this to say SEE! DESPERATE!

Please, Alaska, organize MORE Hold Palin Accountable Rallies and Go Away Sarah Campaigns and A RECALL!!

3 10 2008
Karen

I’m sure I’m not the first to mention this but, obviously, Palin’s very audible opening request to call Senator Biden “Joe” was a setup for her predictable “Say it ain’t so Joe” quip.

3 10 2008
Anonymous

I have a fax machine & I’am thinking about faxing a Thank’s but No thank’s on that Palin 2008 LOSING party and petition, For I have plan to attend the OBAMA RALLY> What do you all think?

3 10 2008
Divatalk

I’ve been called a lot of things, but never an operative. Sounds kinda cool🙂

I don’t know if you guys have seen this, but you’ve got to check it out.
Sarah say Katie Couric annoyed her. Can you imagine Katie annoying!

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/10/03/palin-on-fox-news-couric_n_131655.html

3 10 2008
Irishgirl aka puck mule

the tradition of the best of humankind, you Alaskans are indeed changing the world.

It is so compelling to read your observations, contribute to the effort a little here and there, and then just watch the pieces fall into their proper places.

I can’t wait to see what happens next…it’s like the dance of the seven veils! Which veil are we on now?
yep, the alaskans are changing the world. I always thought this blog was going to have a profound influence. Now I’m sure.

3 10 2008
Catherine aka Bullpen Cola Palin

Here’s something I found from a link on another website:

The Sarah Palin Debate Flowchart! 😀

http://politicalwire.com/archives/2008/10/03/leaked_from_palins_debate_prep.html

I wish I would have moderated. I would have listened very politely to her ramblings, and then responded as many times as necessary, “I’m sorry, Governor Palin, but I’m afraid answering the question that was asked is not optional. This is a job interview with the American people, and they would like to know what you think, not whether or not you can read off your three-by-five cards as we all learned how to do in grade school. Please try again.”

That would be only if I could restrain myself from blurting, “WTF was all that noise? You make no sense and have the mental acuity of a soggy potato chip!”

3 10 2008
Anonymous

Let’s flood their fax machine with ALL REJECT PALINS PTEITION LETTERS. Can you see them getting a bunch of faxes non stop . I would love to be a fly on the wall and see there faces.

3 10 2008
witsendnj

I wish I could go to Alaska! I would make a big Caribou Barbie sign. No, I would dress up like Caribou Barbie and WINK at everyone!

3 10 2008
Divatalk

I forgot to ask. doesn anyone have the link to the Rollingstone article about McCain? I want to send to a friend how is a veteran.

3 10 2008
Ripley_6 AKA Copper Catfish P.

lol FLOOD their fax machines! They’ll run out of paper in the first hour! LOL It will cost them mucho dinero in paper! LOL Great idea! And about them mastering their spell check? OMG :))

And btw, AKM, brilliant, timely and informative posts. I stop in here several times a day whilst at work, just to see if I missed anything prudent. Thanks to you, I never do.

3 10 2008
Proud Community OrganizerWA
3 10 2008
Suchanut

AKM – great coverage as always!!!

That petition is a true masterpeice of self-deception. I wonder how many Red Bulls Meghan Stapleton had before she wrote it – she has to be the author🙂

3 10 2008
Cassie Jeep Pike Palin (Wish I were Trout)

…and Queen Latifa will appear as Gwen Ifill on SNL…can we say another Tina Fey moment?

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/10/03/queen-latifah-as-gwen-ifi_n_131725.html

3 10 2008
HamletsMill aka Rot Pipeline Palin

JudiB AKA Stepper Choke (12:53:18) :

This is usually how it goes…. 1. An item is on Mudflats 2. A day or two later it shows up on Huffingtonpost 3. Three or four days later it shows up on CNN home page and then in the NY Times.. Keep it up, Mudpuppies!
————————————————–
Yep. That’s pretty much how it has been for 34 straight days now since P-Day. Mac Daddy attacks the NYT, WaPo, and WSJ as Captain Frost Man and Mooselini attacks Couric and all the mean journalists (Boo-Hoo), when all those traditional media outlets are all a FULL FIVE DAYS LATE (yawn) on covering anything in all this. An item comes out here on the Mudflats and is discussed all around the entire world for almost a week until it appears in the slomo corporate MSM. The Blogosphere is the future people! The Alaskan Republican Party had better get e-mail, spell check, and on-line petitions going sometime in the next 500 years because everybody else is off to the races. Maybe get some white light boxes too to get the neuro-transmitters up in the Great White North. We wouldn’t want anyone to end up clinically depressed in those future very long winters dealing with the Spirit of the Wold Mother in giant karmic payback across the state.

But all you Alaskan Ninjas stay vigilant. Sarah Pie is truly a dangerous person and must be watched. With every seeming triumph her delusional personality will try to expand. Beware. Beware. Beware.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/10/03/palin-on-fox-news-couric_n_131655.html

She will feed on the psychic energy of others as she feels delusional “success”. Just watch.

You all must stay ahead of this. The human race has been here before. Every American must now become very, very familiar with each chapter in Robert G.L Waite’s famous book “The Psychopathic God”.

http://www.amazon.com/Psychopathic-God-Adolph-Hitler/dp/0306805146

I now fully believe MacPalina are going to thoroughly lose this election. But this is a very, very dangerous person. Foreknowledge is being forewarned.

3 10 2008
Mel

If you want to express your displeasure with these tactics but you don’t have a fax machine, you can use faxzero.com to send them a fax over the internet for free.

I just did.

3 10 2008
enjay AKA Turbine Yukon

After having our current “Aw Shucks” pres (with all his Bushisms) – posed with his bales of hay & sleeves rolled up in 2000 — (don’t forget he also thought ‘being a dictator’ would be easier than being president)

I want an intelligent president that doesn’t shoot from the hip or bully other countries. I want a prez. with a brain that will “THINK” and consider alternatives than just “STRIKE BACK” I want a president that believes in the constitution ~ and giving back the rights due to american citizens.

Like a kid at the candy store “I want… I want” I want my country back !!!

3 10 2008
Rake Trinket

Palin’s tax returns were just released showing a family income of 170K last year and less the year before… i was under the impression this would be higher, due to multiple income streams… any ideas? does this sound right? Thanks.

3 10 2008
PDX MB

Just faxed back my petition (I used the “Thanks, but no thanks”–great suggestion. Thank you, anon, for the suggestion). I feel like a true Obama operative because I blacked out the top and bottom of the sheet so they wouldn’t have my fax information. Tee hee hee! I feel a little giddy!

3 10 2008
Divatalk

Proud Community Organizer. Thanks, it’s on its way to my friend.

3 10 2008
Bellaboo Khaki Salmon/Log Justice Palin

I’ve been on local forums all day today, sparring with fans of Tinky Winky- it is unbelievable how folks still think she is more qualified than Barack Obama- always bring up the “elitist’ poop- why is it that Republicans are perhaps the only political party in the world that looks down on educated public servants- I’ve got heartburn and a headache so I am sure that my time reading mudpuppies’ posts will soon soothe both of those palin-induced maladies away. I really feel like filing suit against Sarah Palin for emotional distress.

3 10 2008
fawnskin chipdragon mudpuppy

did the tax returns list gifts…or does she even have to?
i am tax illiterate

3 10 2008
BigSlick

California is going bankrupt. If we subsidized Californians proportianally (per household) to how we subsidized Alaskans, just imagine the headlines!

3 10 2008
Judi B AKA Stepper Choke Palin

Well, off went the $16.00. What a great idea! I hope the have an evening together.

3 10 2008
NMJ

Anonymous (13:24:57) : Let’s flood their fax machine with ALL REJECT PALINS PTEITION LETTERS. Can you see them getting a bunch of faxes non stop . I would love to be a fly on the wall and see there faces.

Probably not a good idea. By law, all fax machines have to include their fax number on each fax page. If you haven’t noticed it, look at the very top or bottom of the page; it will be in tiny numbers. When you set up a fax machine on your own, instructions on formatting that info is always included in the setup instructions.

Besides, even if you could do this anonymously, I think it’s wasted effort – the sort of sabotage that the Repugs are getting famous for. I’d rather put my effort and time into something positive for Obama and Biden (who I am now in love with).

3 10 2008
Sue

Is it possible that Obama will take Alaska? That would be wonderful!

3 10 2008
jas

I didn’t know there was going to be an Alaska-wide Obama rally. Does anyone know if there will be one in Juneau and when/where?

3 10 2008
Cassie Jeep Pike Palin (Wish I were Trout)

I’ll meet all of you over at the Palin tax returns! (Bottom of page, links to 2207 and 2007)

http://www.johnmccain.com/palinfinancial/

3 10 2008
Neil

Love the Daily Map of Mudflatters Around the Globe thing. but it changes. would be great to get a view like for the past week, rather than just current.

3 10 2008
Sue

Wow! For all her talk of being a Christian, Sarah didn’t tithe; in fact, she didn’t give her church one dime. I guess she doesn’t put her money where her mouth is. : (

3 10 2008
Strike & Chop Palin aka sunny Florida

This thought came to me:

Exit Polls:
Question to the voter – “If you did not vote for McCain/Palin, can you state one reason why”?

Voter: Palin

Ahhhh….come on November 4th and let’s get this party started!

3 10 2008
Cassie Jeep Pike Palin (Wish I were Trout)

OK, now I can’t get into the actual tax returns—everyone else there?

3 10 2008
carolyn

Alaska: you ROCK! can we send the thanks-but-no-thanks even if we aren’t in Alaska?

one more thing – Palin is Georgette Bush through and through – she evens speaks like him (nukuler)

3 10 2008
Palmdale, CA

Hmmm, doesn’t their faith recommend tithing? Enquiring minds want to know.

3.3% and 1.5% respectively doesn’t approach tithing… especially when their daily expenses were being picked up by the taxpayers of Alaska. Haven’t had a chance to look further, but that one jumped right off the page at me.

3 10 2008
Divatalk

Bellaboo Khaki Salmon/Log Justice Palin (13:47:10)

I think that is why our education system is so bad and the Repubs don’t want to put any money into teachers. Being well educated and worldly is “elitist”.

Only simple-minded down home folk are qualified to be the leader of a great nation. Man, this is really backwards!:

3 10 2008
Crazy In Alaska

I love that the tax returns didn’t come out until after the debate. It would have been pretty difficult for her to say she could relate to the middle class if all this information had been released before the debate.

3 10 2008
NMJ

AKM, when will you get your new site back up? Since we came back to the original, comments and traffic seems to have fallen off significantly; just look at your map!

I used to have the map set to tally weekly traffic. Now it is set to track daily traffic. It resets itslef some time around 1:00 Alaska time. Traffic only fell off slightly, and is working its way back up. I was debating setting the map back to refresh weekly, but it gets really really full….haven’t decided yet. Monthly is out!
AKM

3 10 2008
BigSlick

Normal Assemblies of God titining is 10% to 15%

3 10 2008
BigSlick

Anonymous (13:24:57) :

Let’s flood their fax machine with ALL REJECT PALINS PTEITION LETTERS. Can you see them getting a bunch of faxes non stop . I would love to be a fly on the wall and see there faces.

Thats too easy from a computer and you know (with a name like yours!)

Why not hack the phone company and re-assign the fax number to a different location?

3 10 2008
Regi

Saw them, barely paid 15% in federal income taxes both years. I LOVE these people that want war, tax breaks for corporations, security from terrorists, healthy infrastructure, DRILL BABY DRILL, but they’ll be DAMNED if they have to pay taxes for it. Seems with all the pork she’s sucked up as governor she got off cheap.

3 10 2008
Proud Community OrganizerWA

Ok I looked at the tax returns and this makes no sense to me in 2006 the date by the preparers signature is 8-8-2007.

The date by the preparers signature in 2007 is 9-3-2008, however their is a personal check scanned for taxes paid in the amount of $2,000.00 and it is dated April 11, 2008.

I know I am not very good at reading these damn things but that seems really odd to me. Can someone decipher it?? Could it have been an extension? If so why the check in April?

3 10 2008
BigSlick

Obama will close loopholes.

That’s how Bubba Clinton filled the Treasury coffers.

3 10 2008
Proud Community OrganizerWA

their should have been there! Oops fingers moving faster than brain. LOL

3 10 2008
InJuneau aka Wrangler Tractor

@jas (13:52:06) :

Here is a bit of info on a Juneau event on Oct. 4 from the Alaskan Events link. See the rest of the post there. (There is also info at that link on the Anti-SWWNBN event on Oct. 11.)

OBAMA-RAMA!!—

I AM AN ALASKAN _________, AND I CHOOSE OBAMA-BIDEN.

The pro-Obama-Biden party is on this Saturday, October 4th, JAHC, with an exciting kick-off precisely at 3:20 pm (there are 20 swing states, you know). There are five goals for the event—

1. Let Juneau/the rest of the state/the nation/the world know that we choose Obama-Biden and are not choosing Palin…or McCain.
2. To create an image for the media world to reinforce that we as Alaskans choose Obama-Biden.
3. Promote future rallies/efforts to keep the energy rolling for Obama.
4. Promote letter-writing efforts, create postcards provided by Obama campaign.
5. Have fun, listen to some great local music, and bring people out of the Palin-cloud of depression.

3 10 2008
Palmdale, CA

another REALLY interesting detail… look at the date the 2007 return was signed — > 9/03/08. One month ago! So, does that mean they didn’t bother filing on time???? Or was this an amended return????? If so, it’s not stated as such. Seems they applied for an extension, but didn’t that require them to file by August of this year, not September???? Seems Todd’s USW W-2 never arrived. That’s the explanation for the delay in filing. But note that we’re talking about missing $50 in documented wages!!! Huhhhhhhh???

Weren’t they in the midst of the RNC on Sept. 3 of this year????

They did manage to file their 2006 tax return on time.

Anyone a tax expert out there? Anyone else scratching their head at this one?

3 10 2008
Barb Snow

Hi everyone!

Discredited Republican voter-suppression expert Ken Blackwell has gone on TV lately with some wild accusations against Barack about a non-existent connection with the Association of Community Organizations for Reform Now, also known as ACORN.

The accusations have no basis in fact.

The truth is that Barack was never a community organizer or trainer for ACORN, and he was never employed by ACORN in any other capacity. ACORN was not part of the historic voter registration drive that Barack led.

Get more information and help spread the truth about Barack Obama:

http://my.barackobama.com/acornrumor

Together we can make sure these deceitful and false attacks don’t affect this election.

Thanks for your help

3 10 2008
Erin

Here’s a link to the ADN article that includes both the Republican headquarters watch party and the party at the BearTooth. Looks to me like there were only about 50 people at the Repub party and I know for a fact that there were 350 tickets given out for the party at BearTooth.

http://www.ktuu.com/Global/story.asp?S=9117359

3 10 2008
Uncle Joe Mccarthy

with an extension, one can file up to october

3 10 2008
Frances Dale

love the remarks from
hamletsmillakarotpipelinepalin 13:42:17
thank you!
on the Obama’s next anniversary,they’ll be in the White House-Our House
ALSO(to quote SP)
Here’s a vision,the Obama family and the First Lady’s Mother having a group hug in the Lincoln Bedroom on Inauguration night

3 10 2008
enjay AKA Turbine Yukon

Democratic Underground has some cuties today

Especially like the Pic

“Wink’in ~ Drink’in ~ Nod”

3 10 2008
ColoradoGal

@ Proud Community OrganizerWA (14:16:28) :

Ok I looked at the tax returns and this makes no sense to me in 2006 the date by the preparers signature is 8-8-2007.

The date by the preparers signature in 2007 is 9-3-2008, however their is a personal check scanned for taxes paid in the amount of $2,000.00 and it is dated April 11, 2008.

I know I am not very good at reading these damn things but that seems really odd to me. Can someone decipher it?? Could it have been an extension? If so why the check in April?

It is possible to get an extension to FILE a return, but there is no extension for payment of taxes. If taxes will be due when the return is filed, those taxes are to be paid by April 15th.

3 10 2008
NY Dem

Mistakes in the tax returns might be because they were just fabricated in the last couple of weeks ?

Seems like some more Republican shenanigans to me – wouldn’t put it past them !

3 10 2008
MJC

For your enjoyment:

John McCain’s impersonation of Beavis and Butthead at today’s rally in Colorodo

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/10/03/mccain-how-about-sarah-pa_n_131717.html

3 10 2008
MJC
3 10 2008
Proud Community OrganizerWA

Thank you coloradoGal!

3 10 2008
witsendnj

Bears repeating, send a free fax via

faxzero.com

flood them!

3 10 2008
Anonymous

Iam sure the OBAMA Campaign will go thur theses tax returns with a fine tooth comb

3 10 2008
Augie

I’m certainly no expert, but I think if you are likely to owe tax and file an extension beyond April 15, you have to send in the amount you think you will owe in tax. You can also file an additional extension to take you, I believe, into November.

3 10 2008
Dee

I used to really just like Katie Couric, but after reading on Huff Po that she “annoyed” Ms. Palin, I LOVE Katie Couric!!!
I mean, what a dumb thing to say. She asked you simple questions you could not answer and that was annoying? What newspapers and magazines do you read to keep informed? That’s annoying? GADZOOKS!! As Buggs Bunny would say, “What a maroon!”

3 10 2008
Cassie Jeep Pike Palin (Wish I were Trout)

Proud Community OrganizerWA (14:16:28) :

Ok I looked at the tax returns and this makes no sense to me in 2006 the date by the preparers signature is 8-8-2007.
__________________________________________________________________________________

Still printing, so not sure if you got your answer, but–

IRS doesn’t really care if they get your return by April 15 (that’s why they have automatic extensions) but they do want your tax dollars by April 15. So, if you are going to be extended, you do a rough calculation by 4/15 and send in the money–then you get the paperwork done by the extension deadline.

But I did LOL that the Gov goes to H & R Block to get her taxes done!!!! 😉

3 10 2008
Memphis, NY a/k/a Churn Scorpion P.

Aign the Thanks but no thanks with your palin baby name LOL

3 10 2008
Memphis, NY a/k/a Churn Scorpion P.

Tax fraud? IRS investigation?
where’s the per dium

3 10 2008
Palmdale, CA

Ok, if you can delay filing until October (assuming you’ve actually paid your tax obligation on time), does the date they signed it strike anyone else as odd? And, given that she’s running for VP that either they (or the campaign) would have made sure there was a top-notch CPA doing their taxes since they did them AFTER she got the nod?

I’m not accusing them of anything shady. There are just these “huh???” moments in looking the returns over. I’m not sure that per diem is considered taxable income. At least not when it’s legitimate per diem. But I’m not convinced that claiming per diem to stay in your own home is legitimate. Unless there’s a huge stink that ends up with it being disallowed, she’s probably not doing anything illegal so far as the IRS is concerned. If she has to give it back, it can’t be considered income. And if she keeps it AND it’s deemed reportable income, she can always file an amended return and pay the tax owed.

Since it seems that the actual filing was help up due to the $50 in undocumented income, and Todd never did get a W-2, I would have thought they could have gone ahead and filed using the same documentation they ultimately did. After all, the bottom line difference in the amount owed would have been microscopic. It just seems odd to me to hold off filing based on $50.

3 10 2008
NMJ

Earmark Ulu Palin (13:07:51) : Cool, we’ve now been promoted to “Operatives.” I refuse to cease and desist until they recognize us as “Arctic Ninjas”!

How about “Arctic Knights”?

3 10 2008
Terpsichore

PCA in WA wrote:

“OK I looked at the tax returns and this makes no sense to me in 2006 the date by the preparers signature is 8-8-2007.

The date by the preparers signature in 2007 is 9-3-2008, however there is a personal check scanned for taxes paid in the amount of $2,000.00 and it is dated April 11, 2008.

I know I am not very good at reading these damn things but that seems really odd to me. Can someone decipher it?? Could it have been an extension? If so why the check in April?”

This is where the fun begins.

First, maybe I missed it, but has anyone posted where we can see these documents for ourselves? Without that, it’d hard to speculate …

However, the dates, as given above if correct, are interesting. As a person who has used the extension many times, I can tell you that to file by 8/8/07 for your 2006 taxes is not out of the ordinary.

As for waiting until 9/3/08 to file 2007 returns, I believe that was allowed after Hurricane Katrina (so many people left without access to any records). The Fed. government extended the time of the automatic extension from three months (aug.) to six months (oct.) and they just sort of applied to everyone because, well, quite frankly, it was easier, would cost less to oversee, and wouldn’t really make a difference in the American economy.

But a check written in April 2008? That would at least beg some explanation. And there can be many reasonable explanations for such. Would be nice if she or Todd would simply answer them, I hope they do.

But if reporter’s questions about the released tax information all get directed to the McCain spokespeople, rather than Sarah herself (or Todd, after all, as spouse, he is – assuming they filed a joint return – equally responsible for what’s on there) – – – –

good Lord, how many flairs have to be sent up before people realize this boat is in serious trouble?

3 10 2008
Moons in Leo

Please keep us posted on the turnout for the rally.

Proud to be an Obama Operative!

3 10 2008
nunya

🙂

3 10 2008
Sue

re: sending a fax I just did. If you do so, be sure to check your email. You must confirm your fax via email or it will not be sent.

3 10 2008
SMR

Since hubby & I have been oil co employees in AK for a very long time, I can tell you that Operators on the North Slope make at least 120,000. 1st Dud would be making a lot more than that because he’s been doing it for a very long time. Apparently he took a leave of absence when scarah was elected gov, but they couldn’t make ends meet so he went back to work. I suspect if they are reporting only $170,000 in income that is for the year that he WAS NOT working.

3 10 2008
Memphis, NY a/k/a Churn Scorpion P.

I believe you have to proportion the mortgage interest and taxes you can’t take them in full on your Schedule A and on business use of home

3 10 2008
Proud Community OrganizerWA

Terpsichore link for tax returns on huffpo:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/10/03/palin-tax-records-read-fu_n_131749.html

Cassie Jeep Pike and others that responded to my questions. Thank you for your timely answers!

3 10 2008
NoCalGal

Andrew Sullivan posted the following:

“Just compare this recording of Palin in Alaska in 2006 to what you heard last night. Ask yourself where the folksiness is. See how many times she says “doggone” in 2006. Or “betcha”. Or “Joe Six-Pack”. Make up your own mind. In my judgment she is the biggest fraud we have seen in national politics in generations. She makes the Clintons look honest, and Nixon look as if he has nothing to hide.”

http://andrewsullivan.theatlantic.com/the_daily_dish/2008/10/
palin-on-benefi.html about 2 minutes in.

What say you Alaskans.. did she talk with all this folksy cuteness while Mayor or governor? Does this sound like acting to you?

I am really curious…

3 10 2008
Proud Community OrganizerWA

Terpischore: here is link to huffpo on tax returns:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/10/03/palin-tax-records-read-fu_n_131749.html

Cassie Jeep Pike and others thank you for you quick responses to my questions!

3 10 2008
enjay AKA Turbine Yukon

Anyone in PA ~~ send on to anyone you know in the area

Posted again

“Vote-scam fliers target black neighborhoods
By CATHERINE LUCEY
Philadelphia Daily News

luceyc@phillynews.com 215-854-4172

With just weeks to go before the presidential election, voter intimidation has reared its ugly head.
An anonymous flier circulating in African-American neighborhoods in North and West Philadelphia states that voters who are facing outstanding arrest warrants or who have unpaid traffic tickets may be arrested at the polls on Election Day.

Deputy Mayor for Public Safety Everett Gillison, who learned of the flier last week, said that the message is completely false.”

Read More @
http://www.philly.com/philly/hp/news_update/20081002_Vote-scam_fliers_target_black_neighborhoods.html

3 10 2008
Cassie Jeep Pike Palin (Wish I were Trout)

Palmdale, CA (14:48:06) :

Both tax returns were prepared by H & R Block.

I see no accounting for per diem, but have only started on second return.

Mudpuppies from AK—I need to know what the APF payments were for 2007 and 2006–or whatever that dividend is called!! 😉

3 10 2008
Cassie Jeep Pike Palin (Wish I were Trout)

Terpsichore (14:54:59) :

Tax returns are at
Cassie Jeep Pike Palin (Wish I were Trout) (13:53:19) :

I’ll meet all of you over at the Palin tax returns! (Bottom of page, links to 2207 and 2007)

http://www.johnmccain.com/palinfinancial/

3 10 2008
Crazy In Alaska

@NoCalGal
I don’t recall ever hearing her say things like “Joe Six Pack” or “Say it ain’t so, Joe” or winking at the camera when she was being interviewed. Actually I thought she acted kind of professional compared to some of the other stuff I had seen in Alaska. I thought she always appeared to have the upper hand when she was talking to the media. She seemed kind of short and bossy, but yet friendly.

That is just my take on it. I agree with you I think she is a fake!

3 10 2008
ForeverWild

They are increasingly desparate –

http://www.adn.com/palin/story/545140.html

“Lawyers seeking to shut down the Legislature’s investigation of Gov. Sarah Palin this afternoon filed an emergency appeal with the Alaska Supreme Court.

They’re asking the state’s high court to decide by the close of business today whether it will hear their appeal.”

3 10 2008
DeMo

Childish though it may be, I would absolutely sign that petition with my Palin baby name. And if you’re worried about your home fax revealing who you are, bring it to a public library or Kinko’s and send it from there.

Loin Falcon Palin
(Too bad they don’t aske for an address. I’d love to write Governor’s Mansion.)

3 10 2008
BigSlick

My brother in Oregon says that a group called Right Change is running slanderous TV ads and directing people to a website called RightChange.com
so if anybody has the time please send e-mail to the Obama campaign about this. The biggest claim is that Obama recieved payouts from Fannie Mae/Freddie Mac, when we all HERE know Rick Davis and John McCain have REAL crooked dealings with Fannie Mae/Freddie Mac

3 10 2008
eajphd Molten Contra Palin

Has anyone seen the itemized version of the Palin tax return. If so, does it include the $16,000 in per diem income paid for living in Wasilla?

3 10 2008
BigSlick

They are increasingly desparate –

http://www.adn.com/palin/story/545140.html

“Lawyers seeking to shut down the Legislature’s investigation of Gov. Sarah Palin this afternoon filed an emergency appeal with the Alaska Supreme Court.

They’re asking the state’s high court to decide by the close of business today whether it will hear their appeal.”

>>>>>>>>>>>

I love October…..

3 10 2008
DeMo

Re: per diems:
Under IRC sections 62(a)(2) and 62(c), reimbursements for travel (including amounts allowable under established per diem rates) that meet established tests for an accountable plan, are not subject to employment taxes (federal income tax withholding, social security and Medicare).
Source: http://www.irs.gov/govt/fslg/article/0,,id=164471,00.html

Of course, I still don’t understand how living in her Wasilla home when there’s a Governor’s Mansion in which her family could live, though they choose not to, entitles her to a per diem.

3 10 2008
Cassie Jeep Pike Palin (Wish I were Trout)

Palins and the per diem…

per diems are NOT, repeat, Not reflected on the tax returns.

K.I.S.S.(keeping in simple, stupid) Both tax returns claim their “tax home” as Wasilla. Therefore, it is hard to argue any per diem for when she was at her tax home. When she’s in Juneau–away from her tax home—her housing and meals are provided by the State of AK, no per diem due.

The larger (reported) per diem was for family members’ travel. It’s just like winning a prize—all expense paid trip to Kansas bow to Coghill, here😉 —and it’s taxable. Even if the State of Alaska failed to report it properly, it is incumbent on the taxpayer to claim the income.

I am guessing that APF were 1107 for 2006 and 1654 for 2007—is that right, Alaskans?

3 10 2008
InJuneau aka Wrangler Tractor

@Cassie Jeep Pike Palin (Wish I were Trout) (15:39:44) :

Those PFD amounts look just about right from 2006 and 2007. I could go look at the Dept. of Revenue’s webpage to confirm (they actually have a page on there that shows all the years’ amounts), but that looks close to what I remember.

3 10 2008
mhrt

in the san francisco gate today………Palin and the witch hunter

3 10 2008
marksmyword

Thanks enjay AKA Turbine Yukon for the link.

I knew this would be coming. I’ll look out for it on the other side of the state.

3 10 2008
Cassie Jeep Pike Palin (Wish I were Trout)

Alert–

Looking at the public Financing report–there may be a discrepancy on the Wages for Sarah. There are two asterisks on the disclosure form indicated that wages reported by the State of Alaska are $196,531.50.

This is Not what the State of Alaska reported for 2007—her W-2 states $107,987.

The difference is $88,544.50.

Does this mean that the McC pencil guys repoted the per diem for the disclosure, but the Palins failed to report it to IRS?

I would guess there is an amended return in the works!

3 10 2008
Cassie Jeep Pike Palin (Wish I were Trout)

Thanks Injuneau !

3 10 2008
Lulu

OFF TOPIC: But I just have to say that Palin’s being annoyed by Katie Couric is like a child being annoyed by the Tooth Fairy.

Is Palin crazy?

3 10 2008
Palmdale, CA

@ Cassie…
Yeah, I caught that. Not sure they fall into the top notch CPA category… I keep thinking of them as a subsidiary of Sears with their strip mall outlets. At least that’s what they are around here.

3 10 2008
Steve

“We the undersigned voters of Alaska, herby [sic] call for an immediate end to the Obama operative led inquiry in the Alaska Legislature, whose sole purpose has been to smear and politically damage Governor Sarah Palin.”

It’s more than fighting back, more than fear – it’s paranoiac and hysterical. They’re drowning. Gandhi wins.

3 10 2008
Edie

Mel (13:42:51) :
If you want to express your displeasure with these tactics but you don’t have a fax machine, you can use faxzero.com to send them a fax over the internet for free
———————————————————
Thanks Mel!!! I just sent this fax over to them in c/o Meg Stapleton

Petition to Impeach Governor Palin:

Please print, sign, and fax to the Alaska Republican Party at(907)276-0425.
I, the undersigned, duly cast my vote to impeach immediately, Governor Sarah Palin.

I urge our elected officials to stand up and put an immediate end to this political circus that is wasting countless taxpayer dollars and tarnishing the fair reputation of the great state of Alaska.

Print Name: ______________________
Signed:__________________________

3 10 2008
Sparky

Wow…I’m an Alaskan Operative (very 007-ish) from California. I’m (sniff) so proud.

After last night’s “debate” I donated to “Defenders” and “Obama/Biden” campaign, then donated another $50 to Obama/Biden because Joe was just a class act. (And cute to boot.)

AKM, you are very powerful in what you do and how you do it. I work around and understand the power behind grassroots action, and you’ve really got it goin’ on.

Until you get the new site up again, can we get a picture of Brian on this one? Sure miss the big guy (if it’s already here, and I’m too dense to find it, my apologies.)

3 10 2008
Ginger

Let us know how many people attended these events for Palin if you can find out. I am curious!

3 10 2008
Earmark Ulu Palin

In the spirit of Halloween, we Barack Obama Operatives will now go by the acronym of BOOs.

The Alaska Republican Party, being the Barack Obama Operative Bemoaners, will henceforth be referred to as BOOBs.

3 10 2008
rileys red

The McCain-Palin Victory 2008 rally is being held at Anchorage Christian School Gymnasium, which is connected to The Anchorage Baptist Temple. Does the IRS know about this political activity being sponsored by Mr Prevo?

3 10 2008
sauerkraut aka Road Apple Palin

“did the tax returns list gifts…or does she even have to?”

If I understand IRS rules correctly, non-family gifts over a certain amount must be reported. There are also rules re gift-giving disclosures/reporting requirements for elected officials.

The per diems Palin received do not fall under the normal IRS rules for non-disclosure because the reimbursed amounts were not for actual travel and costs. This was a problem for a few PA legislators a few years ago with the pay-raise issue when it was disclosed that some put in for per diems when no actual costs were incurred. Under IRS rules and enforcements practices, costs must be incurred to be considered reimbursements, otherwise, they must be declared as regular income subject to taxation at the appropriate tax rate.

I, too, was wondering how their combined income was only what is shown on the return. If he worked on the North Slope, there should be an entry there for his income. In addition, what were his actual prize earnings for his snomobile races and sponsorships?

Something about these returns just doesn’t smell right. And when we smell a skunk, chances are that a skunk is afoot. Perhaps an Alaskan-based mudpuppy could like make her day (i.e., drop a dime on her!). We all have heard the stories about how the IRS likes to catch the cheats.

I’m thinking of doing some creative editing of AKM’s post to better reflect what the situation really is… or, perhaps that could be AKM’s next post (hint, hint).

3 10 2008
idaB

This comment is pending approval and won’t be displayed until it is approved.

Sarah Palin’s half million dollar house was built with contractor friends. Could these possibly be the same type of contractors who did home renovations for Sen. Ted. Stevens. This seems rather fishy. The house is one of the newer homes in Wasilla, and was possibly built after she was elected governor. Is it not possible that contractors were doing her favors in return for help from the governor’s office. Is anyone investigating this?

According to the Bennington Banner, ”

“The Palins’ four-bedroom, four-bath house, nearly 3,500 square feet, sits on just over two acres behind a tall wood-plank privacy fence that runs along one side of the property. It’s one of the newest homes in the Snider subdivision lining Lake Lucille and is assessed at $552,000 ” more than twice the value of a neighboring two-acre lot with a much smaller, older wood-frame home.

Todd Palin built the house with friends who were contractors, he said in a recent television interview.”

4 10 2008
Laura Lee

DeMo (15:22:50) :

Childish though it may be, I would absolutely sign that petition with my Palin baby name. And if you’re worried about your home fax revealing who you are, bring it to a public library or Kinko’s and send it from there.

Loin Falcon Palin
(Too bad they don’t aske for an address. I’d love to write Governor’s Mansion.)

Send it to the P.O. Box listed on the tax return!!!!!!!!!!!!

4 10 2008
Laura Lee

Divatalk
Only simple-minded down home folk are qualified to be the leader of a great nation. Man, this is really backwards!:
————————————–

I have a really smart friend – black, male, two masters degrees, early 40s and I asked him how he felt about Obama. He said he didn’t like either candidate and that Obama was an elitist! It makes me wonder though if he would have said that if Obama were white with the same credentials?? Gosh darn it, folks, don’t ya want the SMARTEST candidate with a real vision? Maybe that’s just too hippie-ish for folks to understand. On November 4th I sure hope enough of them DO get it:)

5 10 2008
Tom Davis gives on the GOP and Congress Corruption | Life Goes by Fast

[…] Alaska Republicans vs. Gandhi […]




