So, What the Hell is ‘Alaskan Bush Justice’?

22 08 2008

I’ve been listening to Vic Vickers’ radio ad for at least a week now – the one where he says Chief Justice George Boney became his mentor and taught him about “Alaska’s system of bush justice.” I’ve been trying to figure out what that actually means, and I finally asked several lifelong Alaskans if they have any clue what this “Alaskan bush justice” is?  They stared at me blankly.  One friend, born and raised in the bush asked, “Is that like ‘Frontier Justice’? I ask myself the same question. No one seems to know.

You stole my chain saw, so I’m gonna disappear your dog? That guy slept with your wife? We’ll take him on a hunting trip and he’ll meet with an unfortunate accident? What are we talking here??

Or maybe it’s Bush justice, (like the president)?  I’m going to make my croney the mayor who is going to declare you an enemy combatant and ship you to a secret CIA prison in Big Diomede?

Maybe it’s me. It must mean something…Maybe I’m just out of the loop. But I know it’s not just me.  Alaskans will just keep shaking their heads and chuckling as Vic keeps pouring money into the media so he can continue to not resonate with Alaskans.


Actions

Information

3 responses

24 08 2008
robbie850

Think about it. President Bush and his father own part of some of the oil companies. Daddy Bush sits on the board of the most powerful and corrupt investment group in the world and makes millions of dollars off of us. So Vickers is trying to stop the oil companies from taking our money you idiot!!!!!

24 08 2008
akmuckraker

Soooo….you’re saying THAT’s what Bush Justice is?
And please bring your inside manners to the discussion or me & the rest of the gang will have to shove you out on an ice floe y’hear? (spits tobacco juice)

8 10 2008
nearlynormalized

I like to be informed…Keep it going.




