Ron Paul Endorses…Don Young?

22 08 2008

In an attempt to wrap my brain around this headline in the Daily News Miner, I thought at first – Ahhhh, the head fake.  He’s endorsing Don Young because he is so reviled by his overinflated ego, corrupt soul, and dim witted bombasity, that he wants him to win the primary only to see him go down in flames against the Democrat in the general election.  But then I thought…. why didn’t he just endorse Parnell?  THEN I thought – Ahhhh, he is so reviled by Parnell’s empty-headed empty suit-ness that he actually might want the Democrat to win?   Hmmm… probably not likely.

Before I go on, I have to confess that  part of me really likes Ron Paul.  He has ideals which actually mean something to him.  He appeals to thinking people.  Certain aspects of his Libertarianism I like, especially when it involves not starting unneccessary wars.  He actually stands for something and stands up for it, politics be damned.  He has chutzpah.  He has integrity.   I may not agree with him, but in a goofy way, he’s just likeable….like Dennis Kucinich, only without the compassion.

So, while trying to figure out this strange Republican/Libertarian triple head fake, I read the article.  It  was the last thing I ever would have imagined.  He is actually really really endorsing Don Young.  Really.  His reason?  Don Young is a “friend” of his, and besides, he really sticks it to those environmentalists. 

Huh? (chin hitting desk)

It’s not often you’re let down and disillusioned by a politician that you fundamentally disagree with.  But it can be done.


Actions

Information

2 responses

23 08 2008
Peter

I think Ron Paul just lost the support of several hundred Alaskan teenagers. At least. I personally can speak for at least a dozen.

29 08 2008
NAU

I am myself and if I have to hit my head against a brick wall to remain true to myself, I will do it.MarlonBrandoMarlon Brando




