John Edwards Falls from Ivory Tower.

8 08 2008

 

John and Elizabeth Edwards

John and Elizabeth Edwards

I’ve been hoping for the best for the last couple weeks about the then alleged extramarital affair between John Edwards, and filmmaker Rielle Hunter.  A little part of me knew that it could be true, but the bitterness of swallowing that pill was too much to deal with until I knew for sure.

Today he came right out and admitted it, calling the affair “a serious error in judgement”  and I’ve had a burning, sick feeling in the pit of my stomach all day.  I supported Edwards from the very beginning.  I watched him debate Cheney in 2004 and thought, “That guy should be running for president.” I was on his mailing list.  I gave him money more than once.  I honestly believed in not only what he had to say, but in his integrity as a human being.  Sure, we didn’t see eye to eye on everything, but he was my guy…the closest to my core values.  And despite the fact that I recognized the awesome historical impact of electing a woman, or an African-American to the presidency, I backed yet another southern white male because I really resonated with his message and his integrity.

This evening he came out and said, “If you want to beat me up, feel free.”  Well, I’m feeling free.

First of all, the fact that he made the choice to have this little affair AFTER he had decided to run for president is just mind-boggling.  Was he asleep during the Clinton years?  Did he learn nothing from the blue dress?  Did he not see how the media, the public, and the Republicans flayed him not only for the gross error in judgement, but for the slimy lying cover-up?  No one can say he didn’t know what would happen.

What did he have to say about Clinton?  “I think this president has shown a remarkable disrespect for his office, for the moral dimensions of leadership, for his friends, for his wife, for his precious daughter.”  So add two more kids and a wife with cancer.  Nice.

And, just for a second imagine if I and many others like me had gotten our wish.  Imagine if after his strong showing in the Iowa caucuses, Edwards had started to gain, taken Super Tuesday, and became the Democratic nominee.  He not only would have blown his own integrity and career,  his family’s mental well-being, the trust of his entire campaign and supporters, but he entered the presidential race knowing that if he won the nomination, this ticking time bomb could go off at any moment and blow up the chances for a Democratic White House in 2008.  Take this to the Nth degree, what does that say about the potential lives lost in another Republican administration hungry for war?  What does it do to all the issues that progressives hold dear? 

How was he willing to risk all this for a hop in the sack?  My brains are bleeding.

So much for my imagined consolation prize of John Edwards, Attorney General or even John Edwards running mate. 

Six months ago Edwards was one of 10 potential Democratic candidates asked to give their opinion on marital fidelity.  His response:  “It’s fundamental to how you judge people.”   That may be the only true thing about this issue that’s come out of his mouth.

Most Despised “Democrat” Tries to Buy Friends.

8 08 2008

That’s right…I speak of none other than Joe Lieberman. I know of no other politician that can cause such an immediate escalation of blood pressure among Democrats than the Connecticut Senator. The fact that he is going to be in office until 2012 is almost unbearable to most Dems. The fact that he has been throwing his weight around reminding everyone of the fact that it is HE that preserves the razor thin Democratic Senate majority is even worse.

All Democrats have at this point is watching the clock tick, and counting the days until November when, if they read the signs correctly, the majority cushion will become much more comfortable and Lieberman will be instantly and gratifyingly marginalized.

But wait…. What’s this? Lieberman has just made a donation – a big FAT donation – to the DSCC to the tune of $100,000. This contribution comes on top of last year’s donation of the same amount. Apparently Joe thinks that’s what the going rate is to buy friends. Behold the grown-up political version of   “If I give you my lunch money can I sit with you?”

Insiders are saying that he’s scrambling to keep his Chairmanship of the Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee, which several Democrats are chomping at the bit to pull from him after the November election.

On top of this year’s $100,000, his PAC has donated an additional $30,000 since last year. Will this be enough to change the opinion of those who regard Lieberman as the Benedict-Arnold-turncoat-McCain-hugging-Judas-Escariot-war-monger of the Senate? Is $130,000 the cost of a chairmanship, or will the Democrats ‘pull the Chair out from under him’? Stay tuned.