A Photo Safari of Wasilla, Alaska – Home of Sarah Palin.

1 09 2008

 

Time for a caption contest!  Anyone?

I’m finally home with high speed internet, and able to post the photos from my little trek through Wasilla and the Mat-Su Valley this weekend.  First a big hat-tip to my spouse who chauffeured me around Wasilla for two hours this afternoon and obeying dutifully every time I yelled “STOP!!”  I tried to capture the spirit of what makes the Valley unique, so I didn’t photograph Home Depot, or Walmart, or Lowe’s. 

There were some interesting signs of Palin around.  And I ran into a friend who was sporting a McCain – Palin t-shirt.  I said, “So you’re a fan?” and she said, “I LOVE Sarah!  She’s my hero.  I just need to get some duct tape to stick over the McCain part.”  A new and interesting perspective.  There are lots of them.

I have good friends and family who live in Wasilla and other parts of the Valley.  The Valley is quirky, occasionally scary, often funny, and sometimes just downright unexplainable.  Anyone from the area will recognize many, if not all of the places I photographed.  All the Wasilla photos were taken on main roads.  Click on the photo to get a caption.

I hope you enjoy your virtual Alaskan safari through the Valley, where Sarah Palin has lived and was raised since infancy.  This is her world folks, and her executive experience before she became Governor in 2006.  Buckle up.

Use the photos as you will but please credit http://mudflats.wordpress.com if you do.  Thanks.

Enjoy!

 

And Wasilla City Hall as seen on CNN.  Hat tip to the Ragin’ Cajun and Mad Skillz.

Actions

Information

147 responses

1 09 2008
MSL

Where’s the city hall. We got to see that famous pic of her center of power again.

1 09 2008
Mad Skillz

Second!

1 09 2008
Mad Skillz

Please add this to your gallery – courtesy of The Ragin’ Cajun.

1 09 2008
1 09 2008
Ana Gama

WOW! Thanks! These are great!

(My favorite is the shot-up sign!)

1 09 2008
maryc

I will say this–that is some BEAUTIFUL country up there.

I’ve been reading and lurking here all weekend. Very interesting blog, and not just the Palin stuff….

But the Palin stuff has been LOVELY! A lovely lovely trainwreck. I love it.

And now, if I may blog whore a little bit, my DH and I were confused by McCain’s pick, but then we figured out how it happened:

http://world-o-crap.com/blog/?p=965

enjoy! (I hope!)

1 09 2008
Parker CA

So, is that seriously a $1500.00 Frisbee?? Someone has a case of the crazies!!

The mountains and scenery look incredible. I’d love to see it in winter with snow everywhere.

1 09 2008
dylanfan

Just found your website yesterday and waited all day for these pictures — I’m not disappointed. Wonderful captions. Thanks!

1 09 2008
Ana Gama

Your lead photo is a wonderful bit of irony:

Good Luck Palin
Death Race

LMAO

1 09 2008
Corinna Psomadakis

Oh my goodness – Good Luck Palin, Death Race. And no shooting 1/4 mile off road. These photos (and your blog) are fascinating!

1 09 2008
poppress

Being from Montana I recognize the country. From the looks of those signs there’s quite a little gun play up there. It could be Ronan or Arlee or any rural town in the west and I know the people. They would vote for Joe Stalin if he promised not to raise their taxes. They’re anti-establishment but a populist scares the hell out of them. They’re socially conservative and that usually means they don’t have affairs within the family but during the long winters, all bets are off. They like John Kennedy, they hate Ted Kennedy and they love Ronald Reagan having not been informed the he initiated the destruction of the middle class. The most run down shanties have a big screen tv and the local elite have moved to hi def. One guy patiently explained to me that if we hadn’t invaded iraq, we’d all be riding camels. These are the folks Karl Rove gets out of their recliners to vote on issues like gay adoption. A woman who’s good looking and bright can move up fast in these circles.

1 09 2008
connecticut man1

What can you Alaskans tell us about the Alaskan Independence Party that we don’t already know? Just curious what you locals all might know that we don’t. And I am also wondering what you may think about the possibility that someone else may have won the “Miss Congeniality” award in the Miss Alaska contest that Palin entered? Considering the news reports keep saying that Palin won that award.

1 09 2008
Hemming

Great pictures and blog. Thank you for sharing.

Question: Is Levi Johnston related to Cathy Baldwin-Johnson, the ob-gyn that delivered Trig?

1 09 2008
in a valley further south

It’s amazing that you were able to not capture a single human being in any of these photos. Was that by design or simply another statement about the difference between governing a town of 9000 and a country of 300 million?
Love the Moose Caution sign. You go Dude!

1 09 2008
joe

This VP selection is such a joke. I wouldn’t be surprised if she stepped down, citing family issues. She’s gonna raise an infant with special needs (along with the rest of her children), and be able to handle her (potential) duties as the second most important person in the world?

1 09 2008
tspey

Yup. Captured Wasilla in all its glory. Though I must admit Little Miller’s does serve a mean soft serve cone.

Ragin Cajun’s bit relating Wasilla’s City Hall to a bakery will go down as one of my favorite moments in political satire. Laughed until I hit the ground and came to the realization that I am an Alaskan too. Hat’s off to a job well done!

http://tspey.wordpress.com/

1 09 2008
eddycurrent

Not sure if this has been mentioned before, but I found this piece of news from the January 27th Anchorage News. It describes Palins less-than-appropriate and immature manner of dealing with a DJ who describes Palins opponent, Lyda Green, as a cancer and a bitch. The DJ also, indirectly, makes fun of Greens obesity. Palins response to all of this is to laugh like a schoolgirl. You can also youtube it and hear it for yourself.

http://www.adn.com/opinion/comment/story/295464.html

OK, so it’s no troopergate or bridge-to-nowhere, but I still did good, didn’t I?

1 09 2008
ellen

Beautiful country. Reminds me a bit of Siberia where I once visited.

1 09 2008
gr

About the AIP. Yeah, they’ve mostly been a bunch of wing nuts. But in 1990, Arlis Sturgulewski won the Republican gubernatorial primary. Wally Hickel thought she was too liberal so he switched to the AIP and their candidates stepped down and he and Jack Coghill took their place and won the election over Sturgulewski and Democrat Tony Knowles. He served one term and then re-registered as a Republican. It would not have been unusual for some other Republicans to have gotten involved with them at the time. It was more about Wally than about agreeing with the AIP. Since then the AIP has reverted to their old ways but I wouldn’t hold Sarah’s appearance there against her. It looks like she didn’t even go in person — just sent a video. Oh, and Wally Hickel supported her then in 2006 when she ran for governor, so the alliance was probably pretty important to her.

2 09 2008
tspey

Let’s see… ‘Good Luck Palin’. Haven’t heard of that one. Is it a comedy or one of those tragic dramas. Sounds like the latter.

Read NY Times link here:

http://tspey.wordpress.com/

Eddycurrent… I remember when they played the clip on the local radio making fun of Green with the VEEP’s giggling in the background. Clip says it all. No comment from this Alaskan.

2 09 2008
Mudflats « A Sentimental Journey

[…] I got an especially warm appreciation of Mudflats, a  blog from Alaska. See, for example, A Photo Safari of Wasilla, Alaska – Home of Sarah Palin. Some pictures look like coming from Twin […]

2 09 2008
Corie

I think this photo needs no caption – it says it all:

Good luck Palin (you’ll need it)
Death Race (it certainly is)
Mamma Mia (my sentiments exactly)
Babylon (city of corruption and decadence – hell, yeah)

2 09 2008
connecticut man1

No…

“Lynette Clark, the chairman of the AIP, tells ABC News that Palin and her husband Todd were members in 1994, even attending the 1994 statewide convention in Wasilla. Clark was AIP secretary at the time.”

She attended. Just not the more recent one. I have no doubt that she would cut off any actual meetings with the AIP once she had higher office aspirations outside of Alaska. Making a video address to their members might be OK for Alaskans of any political stripe (I lived in Vermont before where there are many secessionists as well) but it is not something that sells well with the flag waving faux patriotism brand that the GOP has tried to sell to the rest of the nation.

What I am wondering if all of the speculation about disappearing pictures on government websites, and all over the net, could have to do with any pins or other stuff that she might have regularly worn or been seen with in pictures that would tie her to the AIP?

Everyone was chasing rainbows and pots of golds over the missing pictures because they thought it related to Babygate OR were in search of Bikini pics or something. I think that there might be a bunch of deleted pictures that have more to do with the AIP connections.

It is something that the average Alaskan wouldn’t think twice about because there are many among you, just like in Vermont, Texas, Quebec, etc.. In Vermont being a secessionist is relatively pedestrian these days, but that person is NOT EVER going to run for president if they have a lick of sense.

2 09 2008
JJ

Nice pictures. I saw a link to your pictures on Democratic Underground and posted a couple on the Truthiness Encyclopedia (giving you credit like you asked).

If you want, you’re welcome to come over and post some information about Wasilla (http://www.wikiality.com/Wasilla%2C_Alaska).

My only request is if you can get a picture of that City Hall Carville is holding up, please? Maybe when you take it you can hold up a sign saying hello to Stephen Colbert and I’ll post that picture too!

No guarantees he’ll see it, but if you make it funny enough, maybe one of his staff will point it out to him!

Great pictures, thank you.

2 09 2008
Mad Skillz

@ tspey: Here’s that segment – he compared City Hall to a “bait shop in South Louisiana.” Ragin’ Cajun absolutely 0WNS Rep. Michelle Bachmann. However, when he goes FTW, fast-forward to the 5:55 mark.

Classic: “It looks like a bait shop in South La.”

2 09 2008
Tandy

Oh Mudflats – I laughed so hard I cried while checking out the pics and reading your captions. You drove right by my house while out and about – I can tell by the pics. I would have invited you over for coffee. Anyway. Thank you for making me feel like there are a few of us who call Alaska home who aren’t Kool Aid drinkers. We’re maybe few and far between – but I’m glad to know about you thru the Web. It makes me feel less lonely living here in Saradise and having to watch my every word.

2 09 2008
Chad

http://www.codewolf.com/story/article_1067073.html

Why don’t you add Bristol’s underage drinking pictures while you’re at it :)

2 09 2008
Nan

Great photos. Thanks.

2 09 2008
Mark

How close does this town resemble the town as described in “Northern Exposure?” If I recall correctly, everyone was a bit off on that show but off in a good way. Interesting blog BTW. I can’t wait for when Sarah gets control of the nuclear football every day. That’ll be a hoot for sure. I wonder if the Russians or Chinese have any targets in Alaska?

2 09 2008
Darren

I thought ‘death race’ was the caption.

2 09 2008
Harold Wilson

Dear Sue,

Thanks for the great sleuthing.. I love your posts.

What about the local hospital not listing Trig Palin in the birth records for the day he was supposedly born (nor the day before or after):

http://www.matsuregional.com/nursery/show_day.php?month=04&year=2008&day=18

Could you please follow up on this?

2 09 2008
misskae

McCain spokesperson Nicole Wallace is on the Today Show this morning, blaming all the blogosphere interest on Obama supporters. Followed by Mary Matalin. So the search for truth is now labeled as being vicious and hateful. Spin spin spin.
Thanks for the photos. And I’m so glad I found mudflats – I’ve been following it all weekend.

2 09 2008
K.R.

Three cheers for your site. I keep coming back for more.
Great pictures, great captions, great insight.

2 09 2008
Chuck

Lawd have mercy, I’m becoming addicted to this blog. At least Sarah Palin did something good, she helped us discover your blog.

2 09 2008
jennsch

I love the movie lineup. Hopefully the top item on the list will remain a fiction.

2 09 2008
White Agate

Who are Levi’s parents? Anything known about them? The ‘brother’ caption (and others) in the captured MySpace pages linked above needs to be figured out. Those MySpace pages have a whole lotta info that needs explaining.

Unfortunately, even if everything is figured out, don’t you think people who wanted to vote for McCain will anyway, truths or fictions will have no net effect here. People see what they want to see, McCain doesn’t need to spin, really. I’d still like to know what’s really going on, though.

2 09 2008
ED

As to that shot up sign (“1/4 Mile From Highway”) you know us men. Always thinkin’ things are longer then they really are.

2 09 2008
dmk_Wisconsin

I found your site while searching for information on Sarah Palin on Friday night. I am perpetual democratic campaign volunteer who will soon be going door-to-door for Obama/Biden. The ’04 election was very close in our state last time around, and will be again. The Palin choice is going to play very well in Wisconsin (everywhere except Madison and Milwaukee). The hunting/fishing beauty queen is going over big in our rural areas.

Each election I try hard to know and learn about the other ticket so that I can effectively respond to prospective voters. We work very hard to identify and contact the swing and uncommitted ones (any one who admits to being undecided and has a phone, gets hounded by both parties).

Since it was a holiday weekend, and with Gustav the only story the conventional news outlets were running, I had only the internet and the blogs to turn too. I read for hours on Saturday and Sunday trying to make sense of it all. (If I had a dollar for all the times I said to my self and out loud, “You’ve got to be kidding me,” I would be able to build my own bridge to nowhere.

Just when I think I am getting my head around her, and I think I have a strategy for explaining her to potential voters, there is more.

On Monday afternoon (yesterday), I attended our local LaborFest (our local celebration and gathering for unions and organized labor). Barak Obama was scheduled to appear and give a speech. It was a more subdued event, with each speaker acknowledging Gustav and making an appeal to help, including Obama. His speech was pretty short, 15 minutes or so, and stuck mainly to the importance of unions and their impact on the past and today. Most of the 20,000 people that attended, gathered two hours before he arrived, myself included. It was during this wait that I first heard about Palin’s daughter. When someone would start talking about it, anyone standing within earshot would turn toward the speaker, just like the old E.F. Hutton commercials. The rumor spread through the amphitheater like wildfire. I could not wait to get home and check this blog.

Tickets for this event were free, but we had to stand in line at the local campaign office to get them. I showed up almost two hours early to stand in line. By the time they started giving tickets away, the line was over 400 people deep. Many were turned away. In this line and at the event, there were many, many disaffected Hillary voters. They are easy to spot, and seem to like identifying themselves. This Palin pick is not playing well with them, AT ALL.

At this point, it seems to me that Sarah Palin is a younger, cuter, female version of Dick Cheney in a pant suit.

I will be checking back often, so keep the good stuff coming! Thank you from the bottom of my heart!

2 09 2008
bambambam

As I say, AKM, I don’t think your money will be any good to you at any bar whenever you travel the country from now on…Not if I’m in the bar, anyway.

Here’s a fun fact. Count the words in her very first address after McCain first introduced her, and she LIES just 637 words in. That’s when she made with the “Thanks but No Thanks” Bridge to nowhere bullshit.

She couldn’t get 650 words into her candidacy without LYING.

637. That’s a number I’ll remember as much as McCain’s 10 houses.

2 09 2008
HamletsMill

I am from the part of the country where DAY ONE: THE BIG DEBUT of this potential national train wreck started on Friday, August 29th, 2008.

The JOHN MCCAIN “VIETNAM VET” INTRO: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KYD0LeGFi0o

( I am a veteran of that era myself and I am sick of him pandering on that card.)

PALIN PART 1: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dzT6pzqYxJs

PALIN PART 2: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RPO8snlcR2U

KDKA TV COVERAGE 1: http://kdka.com/video/?id=45621

KDKA TV COVERAGE 2: http://kdka.com/video/?id=45625

I apologize for Lynn Swann but we still love him here and rightfully so despite his politics.

Not so for Melissa Hart.

Be afraid, be very, very afraid.

The “Talibangelical” Rovian automaton “values” wedge issue voter base is STILL out there that could ACTUALLY elect the ticket of John McCain AND Sarah Palin President and Vice President of the United States. With McCain’s age and health an issue, Sarah Palin could INDEED end up being President of the United States!

Meanwhile, I say this poster here on Huffington Post TOTALLY nailed it Sunday night:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/08/31/mccain-palin-is-a-soulmat_n_122849.html?show_comment_id=15168624#comment_15168624

AKM, congratulations for being the Worldwide Hero Blogger of the moment. Your writing and the diligent research of the posters on his site COMPLETELY TRUMPED THE MSM CORPORATE MEDIA.

It was amazing.

And as bambambam said, if you get to this part of the country your next meal is on me!

Good work all!

2 09 2008
whrab

1. Is the infamous “Sports Complex” in here anywhere?
2. This town has alot of open space. Why didn’t they just build the sports complex somewhere else? (instead of using eminent domain and getting burned in the resulting lawsuit)?

2 09 2008
scharp

Any way to tele-transport these onto that big screen at the RNC?

2 09 2008
Deb

To Chad-
Be careful what you taunt as being Bristol. My understanding is that many of the pictures on the site you posted is of Levi, and his twin sister. There IS one picture that looks like it may be Bristol holding a bottle of liquor, but most of them are of Levi and his sister.

2 09 2008
Obama and McCain Continued « Cleveland Mom’s Weblog

[…] An interesting blog that got me thinking about this. […]

2 09 2008
TheraP

Please do not send Palin children – to this therapist.

2 09 2008
Cheryl

Thanks again for a marvelous blog…I come here every day to see what else you have to offer…Sara Palin, such a rich source of incredible information.

2 09 2008
HamletsMill

Going to work now. I’ll check in later today. But one question. Last night a thought suddenly came to me. Does Palin have any siblings and where are her father and mother? I have seen nothing about the existence of any of them? What say you AFM? Does anyone up there know anything along these lines?

I see a poster coined “Saradise”. I love you people!

2 09 2008
Rumpled Foreskin

No offense meant, but I thought the town in Northern Exposure looked a lot better.

2 09 2008
jean beverly

Why would any man or woman accept a spot on the national ticket, knowing that his/her unmarried, teenage daughter is pregnant and would have all her personal information made public internationally? Where’s the sensitivity to her own child — or is her ambition always her first priority? This is not about her being a woman; it would be just as appalling if a man did this.

2 09 2008
RB-Chicago

Be afraid..be very, very afraid…

2 09 2008
Olive

Still thinking about the issue of Trig’s maternity. Sarah has mentioned that she found out about his trisomy during prenatal testing – usually done at four months. Was this ever made public?

2 09 2008
Judy in Chicago

Apparently an organization called the “Council for National Policy” had alot to do with her nomination. I’ve read a few things about them- rather scary.

/www.huffingtonpost.com/max-blumenthal/the-secretive-right-wing_b_122881.html

/en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Council_for_National_Policy

2 09 2008
bwilder

“Good Luck Palin Death Race”
Starring Mamma Mia!
Filmed on location in Babylon

rated “NC-17″ No Chance that your 17 year old had a Choice

rated: “R” for Ridiculous

rated: “PG-13″ for Preggers over age 13 is OK

rated: “PG” for Pregant Governors are Hot

rated: “G” for Go Get ‘em Governor Girl

2 09 2008
jennsch

Shot-up no-shooting
sign is my favorite (aside
from the flick listing).

My other fave in
the state — bear-bitten sign that
warns you about bears.

2 09 2008
September 2, 2008 « the haiku diaries

[…] jenna’s post | Tags: haiku, mudflats photos, signs of alaska, wasilla Shot-up no-shooting sign is my favorite (aside from the flick […]

2 09 2008
Very Concerned

This woman is a liar. Why is MSM so slow to pick up on this. They repeat everything she says as if it’s truth.

She did not have a baby when and where she say she did:

http://www.matsuregional.com/nursery/nursery_name.php?start=60&step=30&count=503

She ran a campaign supporting the “Bridge to Nowhere.”

Where are the family values in a woman with a special needs baby who also has a teenager in crisis seeking one of the most demanding jobs in the world? What about the too younger girls? Who’ll be there for them? The nanny or other boys?

My God, this is would be funny, if it was not so frightening.

2 09 2008
Judy in Chicago

“I hope you enjoy your virtual Alaskan safari through the Valley, where Sarah Palin has lived and was raised since infancy. This is her world folks, and her executive experience before she became Governor in 2006. ”

Not to judge Wallisa, but I’m realizing that the kind of executive experience the republicans are are cheering about and the actual scenario are very different.
Also, her viewpoint of life, comes from her experiences in this small, town. Has she traveled much???????

2 09 2008
Pork

Great Blog.

Did you happen to take any pictures of this $1 Mil transportation center, or the $4 Mil mental health facility that she got pork barrel funds for?

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/26504638/

I would love to see those.

2 09 2008
mde

I’m going to point out one more time that the statement released by the Palin family does not say she is marrying the father of her child. And now there is a comment on the page of pictures posted by Chad that says:

Someone Wrote the following on 09/02/2008 03:32 AM :
Bristol smoked a shitload of oxy while she was pregnant, too.

I was in Juneau when this was all happening, before the presidency nonsense.

I sold oxy to Dylan Kolvig. He’s the father of her baby. Most of these pictures were taken in Wasilla when she wasn’t pregnant.

She snorts diet pills, too.

2 09 2008
Loves Fishin'

OK. Great!!

Enjoyed the photo album!!!

Now for your next assignment.

Could you please give us some visual imagery to go with yesterday’s Wasington Post story about the $27 million in earmarks that Wasilla got during four years of Palin’s term as mayor. Here’s a discussion of that article:

http://www.americablog.com/2008/09/palin-aggressively-sought-federal.html

I think many of us in the lower 48 would like to see how our tax dollars have been spent.

BTW, how about a couple shots of Palin’s crib there in Wasilla? I assume that she, Todd and the kids lived there.

Oh, also, does Molly live in Wasilla, too.

I read that between Molly and her ex-husband’s girlfriend they have nine children. How many does Molly have?

2 09 2008
Kay

Carville was asking about that last night on a few of his appearances. SO far it seems that she had to get a passport when she visited Alaskan National Guard in Iraq and went to Germany during that same trip, I think. The Republican “stepford wife” spokesperson did not answer his question when he tried to find out if she had ever left the country previously…that is OK, though, because as Cindy McCain said to George Stephanopoulos (sp?) on “This Week”, Alaska is really close to Russia geographically so…If you did not see this you should see if it pulls up on the ABC website. It was SERIOUSLY one of her responses.

2 09 2008
DemsAreNotAfraid

These pics are exquisite – thank you, thank you! :)

2 09 2008
DownInMississippi

OMG! and they have a Target? Even Oxford, Mississippi (the site of the first Presidential debate) can’t get a Target.

This place looks scary, desolate, and backward….and I’m from Mississippi. The only place I can compare it to is the coast after Katrina.

No wonder she hates polar bears and wolves.

2 09 2008
Martha Davidson Vancouver B.C. Canada

Check out this utube video, with Pat Buccannan mocking Palin being chosen!
Didn’t Palin support him?

2 09 2008
Martha Davidson Vancouver B.C. Canada

Doesn’t McCain has more houses than Wasilla?

2 09 2008
mde

Here’s an amusing illustration of Sarah Palin’s decision making ability.

2 09 2008
mde

I’m going to point out one more time that the statement released by the Palin family does not say she is marrying the father of her child. And now there is a comment (of unknown credibility) on the page of pictures posted by Chad that says:

Someone Wrote the following on 09-02-2008 03:32 AM
Bristol smoked a sh–load of oxy while she was pregnant, too.

I was in Juneau when this was all happening, before the presidency nonsense.

I sold oxy to Dylan Kolvig. He’s the father of her baby. Most of these pictures were taken in Wasilla when she wasn’t pregnant.

She snorts diet pills, too.

2 09 2008
mde

I’m going to point out one more time that the statement released by the Palin family does not say she is marrying the father of her child. And now there is a comment (of unknown credibility) on the page of pictures posted by Chad that claims the father is someone else.

2 09 2008
cheese

McTut’s new bumper sticker
“my other house is a pyramid”

2 09 2008
DownInMississippi

In her defense, I can see how she would mistakenly believe that Thomas Jefferson and the founding fathers cranked out the pledge of allegiance–

it must have been terribly noisy in that porta-school when those monster trucks rolled by.

2 09 2008
cheese

Don’t worry about the kids ,, secret service will babysit them ..

2 09 2008
Plwalsh

Great photos. I’m glad they’re getting out to other blogs.

2 09 2008
mde

I am going to point out one more time that the statement released by the Palin family does not say she is marrying the father of her child. It says, more or less, that she is marrying Levi.

Now there is a comment (of unknown credibility) on the page of pictures posted by Chad that claims the father is not Levi.

2 09 2008
Plwalsh

Obama has crashed the 50% barrier in the latest set of polls.

I’d say this ballgame is over.

2 09 2008
Germanicus

Any chance someone down at the ol’ Wasilla Savings and Loan and Jerky could find out if Mr. Johnston or any of his family has received a significant sum of money in the form of a wire transfer from… oh, I’m gonna take a shot in the dark here (might even hit one of those signs)… Arizona? Has our star hockey player bought himself a new snowmobile yet?

Just a hunch.

2 09 2008
Germanicus

And by the way — Love the site. Keep ‘em comin’

2 09 2008
delphia2000

I’ve posted the top pic and given your blog as a reference in my LiveJournal blog for my list to be able to watch the hijinks as you blog about them. I’ve also referred the politics thread at SciFi’s message bboard to check in here for information…not that I think the rabid Repubs there will do any more investigation than the McCain group did. :o) Thanks for sharing all this.

2 09 2008
Malissa

Have any of you folk heard this phone call? Also what is the chances that Palin wil be propperly investigated? Love your website!

2 09 2008
Palin secured earmarks for town - The Political Hotwire

[…] Re: Palin secured earmarks for town Looks like her home town could use some dough. Palin’s former office: And to give you some perspective on the scope of Palin’s domain, this blogger has compiled a helpful photo safari of Wasilla. A Photo Safari of Wasilla, Alaska – Home of Sarah Palin. Mudflats […]

2 09 2008
goldstone

would you please do some simple follow-up on this NYDailyNews story?

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/politics/republican_race/2008/09/01/2008-09-01_bristol_palins_pregnancy_was_an_open_sec.html

The assistant principal at Bristol’s high school says she enrolled last fall for her junior year, but transferred out “mid-year” — and he never found out why.

Hmmmmm…

The timing of such a move (“mid-year”) doesn’t make sense if she didn’t get pregnant until the spring.

You have to be suspicious of this. Unwed mothers usually transfer out of school AFTER they get pregnant.

Please look into this.

2 09 2008
gearhead

Sarah Palin: “Dick Cheney in a pantsuit.” I love it! Thanks, dmk_Wisconsin.

2 09 2008
tspey

Madskills, sorry for the late reply re: Ragin Cajun’s statement about Wasilla’s City Hall. Must have had the tv turned down too low. Thought he said Bake Shop rather than Bait Shop. Either way, the Q & A was hella funny and yes, RC does own Rep. Michelle Bachmann.

I think RC should host SNL or at least intro a bit on this whole VP shinanigan.

2 09 2008
Laura Jane

Thank you for the photos, we are all so interested in Wasilla now!

I would really love to know more about the people she fired when she first became Mayor. According to this article The Police Chief claims that “Palin terminated him in part at the behest of the National Rifle Association, because he had opposed a concealed-gun law the NRA supported.”

The librarian, Mary Ellen Barker nee Emmons was fired because Palin said Emmons did not “support” her, but then had a change of heart. Stein, Palin’s opponent in the mayoral race, claims it was because Sarah wanted to ban some books in the library. So did the books get banned?

This information about her actual experience in authority is the interesting stuff to me.

2 09 2008
PalinGate

ANCHORAGE DAILY NEWS CAUGHT RED HANDED ON PALIN FAMILY PHOTO

Here is the original link to the photo published March 9th:

http://www.adn.com/news/alaska/v-gallery/story/339587.html?/news/alaska/v-enlarge/story/339587-a339583-t3.htm

Here is the link re-edited to falsify the claim the photo was taken in 2006:

http://www.adn.com/photos/v-gallery/story/509850.html?/1521/gallery/509852-a509987-t3.html

I already took screenshots of both, in case something “mysteriously disappears” or ends up “re-edited” again.

For screenshots, email me at palingate@gmail.com. Sorry I don’t have my own blog to track this stuff, but I have two full time jobs. (trying to solve the Palin mystery might as well count as 3 full time jobs)

2 09 2008
lookingglass

Malissa- I just listened to the phone call. Wow. Wait for the NY Times to get a hold of it. How many news-cycles do you think it will take?

2 09 2008
Reality Check

Here are Sarah Palin’s qualifications for Vice President:

PTA, Hockey mom, can shoot a rifle, lies geographically near Russia (this is her foreign relations experience), mayor of a town of 5000, governor of a state which is constantly in turmoil and claims to be a reformer, while being investigated for abuse of power!, Miss Wasilla, shoots Moose and then barbeques mooseburgers (that there is an automatic qualifier!), does not want to teach sex education in school, wants to teach abstinence-only (that one turned out well), wants to teach creationism in school (wow, you would think a politician knew the constituional seperation of church and state)….yeah, she is qualified to deal with a war, with terrorism, with international policies. Bwaahahahaha!!!!!

2 09 2008
willpen

Fascinating stuff as usual. The Republicans are in an upward about the “liberal” blogs being out to expose Palin. They can sure dish it out but they can’t take it when it comes right back at em. Let’s call this payback. Instead of Swiftboating, let’s call in Palinboating.

2 09 2008
Plwalsh

I’ve seen posts from local Wasilla people that said Bristol was actually expelled from the local high school and has had trouble with the police. That might explain why she transferred out last year.

Apparently, Bristol travels in a pretty wild crowd. News stories about her boyfriend Levi Johnston (if that is who he is) say he has also had trouble with the police.

Sarah should never have put her family on stage if she didn’t want to expose them to this kind of media attention. McCain should have known better as well. In interviews, he has flat out refused to talk about his sons and you almost never see his children on the campaign trail even though most of them are adults (two are older than Palin).

The upshot of the pregnancy revelation is that McCain clearly lied when he said he knew about Bristol’s condition before he chose Palin. Even the MSM has picked up on this.

2 09 2008
cheese

Palin had a great family plan ,,the three monkey plan (eye’s ,ear’s and mouth covered) I took the time to teach my 17 year old daughter about abstinence and did the sex ed thing ( little uncomfortable as a dad) but guess what it worked .. She’s not pregnant!!!

2 09 2008
Reality Check

If the republicans didn’t spend any time or resources to vet their candidate, then others will do it for them, as we are seeing!

I really thnk the only reason he picked her is because she is pro-life and has two X chromosomes. Plus, I think he has the hots for her. Did you see him checking her out when he introduced her? He looked like a dirty old man. Gave me the creeps.

Watch out Cindy, you may be on the way out!

2 09 2008
cheese

I agree with plwalsh
don’t drag them up on stage if you don’t want em dragged through the mud ..

2 09 2008
Malissa

Lookingglass…. My guess is it will take them weeks to air this phone call. It’s OK with me I want the RNC to nominate her first.

2 09 2008
ebdrummer

The pix actually FLATTER Wasilla. No box stores and fast foods? They tell her developement tale: “Build it and I will cum.”

And ya couldn’t pull over to pee w/o stumbling over a meth lab — those aren’t hobo camps in the woods. Mayor Sarah oversaw the busiest, per-capita, meth community in the nation …I wonder if she knows that?

(Kids gotta do something while abstaining, I guess.)

2 09 2008
KVW

I am unable to listen to the phone call that Malissa posted at the moment – can someone post a transcript or at least an overview of it?

Thanks!

2 09 2008
Selden

“No offense meant, but I thought the town in Northern Exposure looked a lot better.”

Supposedly Northern Exposure was based on Talkeetna, which is a bit up the road from Wasilla. Of the two, I liked Talkeetna a lot better.

It’s easy to make fun of people, but where I hope to retire in the North Georgia mountains doesn’t look much different. Of course, I would never expect the mayor of Dahlonega to be nominated for Vice President of the USA.

2 09 2008
halcrow

Time has taken off the velvet gloves. Wait until the National Enquirer turns over the rocks that Time wouldn’t touch.

http://www.time.com/time/politics/article/0,8599,1837918,00.html?imw=Y

Mayor Palin: A Rough Record
Tuesday, Sep. 02, 2008 By NATHAN THORNBURGH / WASILLA, ALASKA

2 09 2008
halcrow

KVW (09:13:39) :

I am unable to listen to the phone call that Malissa posted at the moment – can someone post a transcript or at least an overview of it?

Thanks!

Boring, droning…but a smoking gun, lolz. Didn’t these donkeys realize that police forces routinely tape all incoming phone calls?

“Tasered an 11-year-old kid, drove patrol car drunk, WCB claim falsification, lied on trooper application, Palins can’t figure out why nothing going on, , ex-brother-in-law, custody situation, etc, etc., etc.”

Gov. Sarah Palin’s director of boards and commissions, Frank Bailey, calls a trooper station to complain about Trooper Mike Wooten, Palin’s ex-brother-in-law.

2 09 2008
willpen

halcrow, thanks for the Time.com link. Very , very interesting article.

2 09 2008
halcrow

willpen (09:44:56) :

halcrow, thanks for the Time.com link. Very , very interesting article.

It is, and it will carry a lot of weight, especially for those who realize what must have been said but was not included in the article…yet.

Damned indeed with faint praise, and just wait for the second chapter.

Thank you, AK Muckraker. While the scales had to come off sometime, you certainly speeded up the process.

2 09 2008
The view from the Mudflats « Mercury Rising 鳯女

[…] Posted by Charles II on September 2, 2008 Mudflats has been doing yeoman’s work covering the Palin nomination. But AKMuckraker struck pure comedy gold here. […]

2 09 2008
hw40

From the other side of the Atlantic, this looks like a soap opera. If McCain becomes president, America will be the laughing stock of the world!

2 09 2008
Plwalsh

Well, it looks as though Obama is getting a bigger bounce out the Republican Convention than he did out of the Democratic.

The latest polls show Obama surging 7 to 9 points ahead and passing the 50% barrier while McCain falls into the lower 40s and even upper 30s.

The graph in Real Clear Politic’s poll average page tells the story.

2 09 2008
PalinGate

Have a feeling this is going to get a lot of press. Palin says the War in Iraq is a “Task from God”

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/09/02/palins-church-may-have-sh_n_123205.html#postComment

2 09 2008
PalinGate

Prediction markets are now betting on whether Palin will be withdrawn as Veep. 12% say yes. I’m sure that number will be rising…

http://www.forbes.com/reuters/feeds/reuters/2008/09/02/2008-09-02T163103Z_01_N02400466_RTRIDST_0_USA-POLITICS-PALIN-PREDICTION.html

2 09 2008
K.R.

“So what do you think of “our” Sarah?” my doctor asked as I entered the room for a scheduled appointment this morning. I kid you not. I almost fell over before I gave him and two nurses an earful. None of them believed half of what I said. They thought I was off MY rocker. They laughed too when I mentioned the name of your site (sorry).
“Our” Sarah! Good Gawd.
The point I’m making is that she is fooling a lot of people. The public is still thinking of her as a hometown type girl and since the story is so complex, whomever is conveying it must be the nut.
p.s. It was only my second visit to this particular doctor (might be my last).

2 09 2008
Sarah Palin. The gift that just keeps on giving… but to whom? And what’s this? Spirits of the Gulf Coast. « The Cedar Lounge Revolution

[…] into the selection, the mind of the selectee and indeed the selected, can I recommend Mudflat’s photo safari of Wasilla, Alaska, the town of which Palin was Mayor for most of the past twelve years… that’s […]

2 09 2008
PalinGate

Palin has cited her mayoral work as a central part of her qualification to serve as governor. But at the beginning of her term, asked by the local newspaper how she would run the city without experienced department heads, she made the job sound like no big deal: “It’s not rocket science. It’s $6 million and 53 employees.”

Source: http://dwb.adn.com/news/politics/story/8334949p-8231037c.html

2 09 2008
madhaus

Thank you so much for the photo tour! Yes, that first photo, the Palin Death Race, is a perfect description of the events since Friday. And fireworks galore! Not to mention the deer jerky.

2 09 2008
PalinGate

All,

I found a new home for my news article links. Out of respect for Obama’s wishes, I will not be posting “baby mama drama” a.k.a. “babygate”. There is a lot of other good stuff on there, though.

http://my.barackobama.com/page/community/blog/palingate

2 09 2008
rachelbirds

Nice tour of former
Mayor Palin’s town. Looks, um,
like poor prep for veep.

http://thehaikudiaries.wordpress.com/2008/09/02/september-2-2008-10/

2 09 2008
Chris

In the Republican Death Race, Palin has a tough challenger in John McCain. He may be older and more cancer-ridden, but she has the support of the folks in Wasilla.

2 09 2008
The Phoenix

[…] into the truth, a mirror of the zeitgeist? The titles, anyway. A tip of the hat to the people at Mudflats.com, a site dedicated to “tiptoeing through the muck of Alaskan politics,” for this update on […]

2 09 2008
kimosabe

Does anyone have a picture of the actual Palin home in Wasilla ?

2 09 2008
Libby

Well add me to your fan list. I’ve been linking to you nearly continously on my many blogs since this weekend. If you keep posting like this, maybe I should just put a permalink at the bottom of all my posts to save time.

BTW, you have fans in Detroit now. One of my readers thanked me for flagging this blog and I’m betting my critics aren’t as grateful but are reading you anyway.

Thanks so much for this gallery. I couldn’t find much on the intertubes and the city site was no help. Great to see what the buzzing metropolis of Wasilla really looks like. Keep up the great work.

2 09 2008
akmuckraker

I’m not Sue. Sue was a previous poster on another thread with great insight and a flair for writing. We miss her. I fear that small town politics has reared its ugly head, and she may have gotten some grief for posting using her real name. If she’s reading now, I encourage a name change! Your insights and your take on the situation were really enjoyable.

AKMuckraker

2 09 2008
Wasillans for Palin — I think we're all bozos on this bus

[…] from Mudflats, who has the whole photo tour posted. View this Post […]

2 09 2008
ED

Reality Check — How insulting. You left out half of Sarah Palin’s experience in dealing with foreign countries. Alaska has a HUGE border with Canada.

2 09 2008
ED

However in fairness to you, Cindy McCain forgot that, too.

2 09 2008
YellowDogJen

Thanks for the blog and the photo safari and all the insight; I’ve been reading here all weekend!

And kudos to Sue, too. Hope you’re alright.

I have a question, though. Are there any ‘real’ buildings in this town? They all look strangely…prefabricated. They don’t look like the durable structures I would expect to see in such a harsh climate at all. Surely Alaska has plenty of wood and stone? Instead, you just see that crappy siding. What’s it called? C111?

Really depressing looking town. No charm at all. Blech.

The scenery’s pretty, though, for sure. Human beings haven’t been exactly an asset to the area, if your photos tell the real tale.

2 09 2008
Maysman

Hay… Looks like I have stumbled onto a Dem – Liberal website.

I think your comments are well thought out and reasonable for the most part. Well done commentators…

It is nice to find some Dems who are not kooky as for instance the Kos Kids.

Mud… Great photos… Saves me & Fuanglada a trip up there from Ninilchik … I intend to steal a few [with credit to you of course] at my Pro Sarah… Pro McCain… website… http://fuanglada.wordpress.com/ … I just started blogging and am up to 668 views today Sept 2… so am counting on all your left wing loonies to come on over and beef up my count up as I carefully and logically explain how our Sarah has the Moose vote locked up. [It’s a joke, son… sigh… Do I have to explain everything?] I have a great Sarah joke which I half made up… + check page two [today Sep 2] calling for “Feminists and clinton women… This is your new job” I think you can have a fine time tearing apart that one.

GL & Semper Fi from a 1960’s Marine… as we in Ninilchik single handedly disprove global warming this summer. I think Mud and I can agree on THAT this year… Semper Fi and

btw2… IF Barack gets elected, THIS conservative Republican will be rooting for him to be the best President ever in a very dangerous world. I expect no less from you Dems if McCain is elected.

2 09 2008
AnnaNC

The 26 million in earmark spending must be concentrated on the other side of town.

2 09 2008
Abby

Mudflats: Many, many thanks. I am sharing your beautiful pictures and comments with as many people as possible. You are portraying Wasilla as a Very conservative “place.” Are their other folks, (I hope for your sake) Like yourself around there? Beautiful but scarry!
A New Yorker

2 09 2008
Abby

What were the books she was attempting to ban?

2 09 2008
Sarah Palin’s old work « break the terror

[…] (h/t Mudflats) […]

2 09 2008
connecticut man1

Maysman,

Kossacks are hardball players for the sole reason that they play against freepers that play hardball as well. The difference between the left and right communities when they go too far? When Kossacks go too far republicans get all defensive and act offended and Kossacks occasionally find themselves having to retract or amend diaries… When freepers go too far they start stalking people in real life a la Michelle Malkin or sending off envelopes of white powder in acts of homegrown terrorism.

For every one really bad diary at dKos there are easily a 1000 really good ones. Labeling them as kooks is something people would expect to hear from FOX noise. And considering the average age of users there is something like 40 to 45, I would hardly call them kids.

I may not share their ideology of “electing more and better Dems” since I am just an unaffiliated liberal that likes to kick corruption on both sides. But I do occasionally partake in the fun of shooting down another corrupt republican over there.

Without some of the efforts of the better part of dKos, which far outweighs the bad, we would all likely still be trapped in a thoroughly corrupt and leaderless GOP abyss.

Good Bloggers – left, right and center – are doing the heavy lifting that journalists and the media used to do as an essential part of a thriving Democracy. The few bad apple Bloggers, mixed in with many a misrepresented quote in the traditional and failed media, are giving good Bloggers a bad name.

You should thank your lucky stars that they paintakingly attempt to be thorough in investigating every aspect of any story they start poking around in. Even if, occasionally, they make mistakes. There is no such thing as a stupid or bad question. Something can always be learned from it, even if you only learn that you asked the wrong question.

Some of the best diaries at Blogs start off looking at an issue from all of the wrong angles. But with decent research efforts and fact checking they turn into an epic diary on something completely different.

That is the true nature of Blogging.

2 09 2008
Is McCain Palin’s bitch? « Anarchy In The AK

[…] A Photo Safari of Wasilla, the Governor/VPs hometown by fellow AK blogger Mudflats. Perhaps those of you from elsewhere should know that a common derogatory term in AK for some certain kinds of folk from Wasilla and surrounding areas is “Valley Trash”. Also, the snow machine riding version of the lower-48’s “redneck” is sometimes referred to as “sledneck”. Just a little FYI and additional insight into Wasilla, no offense to anyone there! […]

3 09 2008
Wasilla Ramblings « Not Very Bright

[…] can being mayor of Wasilla be? She must have had other work. And it’s a tiny (and yes, really ugly) place, so there can’t be many job opportunities.  She might have been that woman that kept […]

3 09 2008
Jimmy Porter

Hey, these were nice pictures. It makes this woman more than real to think you would find her up there in nowhere land. I thought we might take that honor, but no more. Thank you again to taking me to a new place that expanded my knowledge.

Jimmy

3 09 2008
» Captions, Please! » The Adventures of Accordion Guy in the 21st Century : Joey deVilla’s Personal Blog

[…] Found at the Alaskan politics blog Mudflats. […]

3 09 2008
smalltown

Only a ‘Lib-Tard’ Elitist from a Huge Metropolitan area would scrape so low as to harass a person from a small town, with actual executive experience, about their home-town.

News flash: Chicago was an unincorporated establishment of families in the beginning, too.

New York, the same deal. Yes, even Philadelphia, Atlanta, Saint Louis & Washington District of Columbia.

But Lib-Tards don’t know that. They only take what they can see “today”, “here”, and “now”.

Completely forgetting history & obliterating the future because it doesn’t suit the needs of “today”, “here”, and “now”.

3 09 2008
akmuckraker

The Anchorage Daily News linked to this post today, and I wondered if there might be more locals today. To answer a couple questions, I didn’t think it would do much good to include photos of the WalMart, the Home Depot, etc. Just looks like everywhere else.

I’m debating whether to take another trip up there to get some shots of the ‘earmark’ buildings. Anyone in Wasilla want to save me a trip?

3 09 2008
Barry from Alaska

What, no picture of the Wal-Mart?

3 09 2008
JollyRoger

Well that settles it. If Sarah Palin can run a megametropolis like Wasilla, how could she NOT be ready for the Presidency?

Vote Here, Vote Now, Vote OFTEN!

4 09 2008
connecticut man1

“Only a ‘Lib-Tard’ Elitist”

Only the far right wing would come to what appears to be a left leaning Blog and think that statements like that are going to help win them any votes. They talk about maverICKY stuff on the republican side of the aisle and now are desperately trying to run on a campaign of “change” to distance themselves from bush but any statements from them on reaching across the aisle and any real change is all myth.

I never tossed in a caption for that photo:
“These truths we hold self-evident”

4 09 2008
Yellowhill

There is something wrong with the American people, if we do allow and vote in Mcsameness and this bood sucking hungry attention getting flip flop soccer mom from Alaska, I was in Alaska in the 70’s working the fishing camps. While coming home I came through Wasilla. Pretty country, but so is Peshastin Wa, and guess what? we don’t have those little blood sucking insects and war wound that for six months. I have a dear friend that i work with, Bush, Rush, McCain, Wasilla, he thinks its great. I found your Blog via Jon Talpin Blog. Take care keep out soccer mom’s gun sights. Yellowhill

4 09 2008
Streetsblog » Palin to RNC: It’s Drill or “Do Nothing at All”

[…] In a collection of local news headlines tracking Palin’s career, Politico lists a story citing her support for a Wasilla bill to outlaw non-motorized vehicles — "skateboards, in-line skates, bicycles, scooters" — on public or private property where signage prohibited their use, under penalty of fines and/or confiscation. Photo from Wasilla, AK via Mudflats […]

4 09 2008
sanjuro

She should stay in Alaska, it looks more peaceful than Washington.

4 09 2008
McCain’s VP pick a book-banner? | Library Tech Confidential

[…] credit: AKMuckraker via […]

4 09 2008
omg

Amazing how people can’t tell the difference between a state – town or a mayer – governor. hard to admit a vice running mate has more experience then someone running for president .

6 09 2008
Kevin

Isn’t it nice to have someone running for high office for a change who is real? The Palin’s aren’t rich, they are blue collar, raise their kids without nannys, they didn’t go to Harvard or Yale and they haven’t been in Washington for 30 years. Sure, I worry a little about Palin one heartbeat away from the presidency, but our government is stable enough to endure if that were to happen. Do you really trust the “community organizer” from the corrupt southside of Chicago, Harvard Grad, lawyer, schooled in Islamic Indonesia, friend to admirer of Louis Farrakahn, friend to Pastor Jeremiah Wright and terrorist Bill Ayers……….Should this man be your president? Wake up America!

6 09 2008
JMo

I say keep trashing the small town folk. Keep putting pictures of small towns like Sarah’s and making stupid remarks. It will help McCain get elected. Thanks! Keep insulting small towns and hicks etc… help the GOP gain more Red states. The more you insult small town, the more elitist you sound, and the more you attach the elitist Harvard Grad who became the community organizer just to get votes, like most Democrats do. Keep it up… keep putting pictures of Moose, small businesses in small towns, etc… Just don’t bitch about it when the election does not go your way. I say to people like Oprah and all the media idiots who do nothing but try to prove how smart they are and how dumb we are… keep it up. Pay back is a bitch.

12 09 2008
From The Notebook | Politics - Sharpy News

[…] on Alaskans. And, wait – you mean she wasn’t Miss Congeniality? But Paglia loves her. And a Photo Safari of Wasilla, Alaska from Mudflats, via Mercury Rising, where I also learned of Alberto […]

14 09 2008
Tour Wasilla at Onions to Lilies

[…] even of “small-town America” in what are usually referred to as the lower 48 states. Take the tour here; Mudflats says that “[A]ll the Wasilla photos were taken on main roads”. You’ll […]

15 09 2008
zoka

nice photos

15 09 2008
gingerfires

GOD!!! I LOVE YOU FOR THIS!!!! LOL

20 09 2008
Sara E. in Wasilla

I’m not knocking your pictures… they are nice ;0)

I do find it fascinating though how you managed to make Wasilla seem even smaller than it is.

Where is the 2 mile long traffic stopped at lights? (the endless rush of cars, commuters and shoppers?) Where’s the hustle and the bustle… your pictures lack the real activity of the valley…

Packed parking lots even though they built bigger stores… more people just showed up.

To truly see what Wasilla is like I think you should have included photos of the real activity. (I know you experienced some of it from where you stood to take those pics ;0)

25 09 2008
Cain

Troll watch….Kevin

Don’t give IT oxygen, dont’t feed it!




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 199 other followers

